149

4.0 based on 149 customer reviews

75
39
14
8
13
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Works great

BDPS1500 13 August 2015 by Murquhart (USA)

Plays blue ray and DVDs well. Remote is easy to lose but works well. It's a good Netflix and Hulu player as well. It would be great if there were more apps. Hoping for HBO Now.

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great Playback, What Apps? Appalling Instructions

BDP-S1500 02 November 2015 by Save Me (United Kingdom)

Can't fault the playback on DVD or Blu-ray. No relevant instructions in hard copy or on-line form for this model. This makes the set-up to access You Tube, Netflix, etc. impossible. I have 2/3's of a player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

149 Customer Reviews

0

Great Pictures

BDP-S1500/BMSP6 17 July 2019 by 13Icon (Singapore)

It is easy to set up if you follow the instructions to connect to the internet. But it did not come with the 5v USB power adaptor.If the player has RC analogue audio output would be much better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Functional player (but not DVD-region-free)

BDP-S1500/BMSP6 20 May 2019 by slightlytDisappointed (Singapore)

Bought it as it was on sale, but didn't clarify if it was DVD region-free. So now I can't watch some of the Region 1 DVDs we have. Otherwise a reasonable, functional Blu-ray/DVD player.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Function of player

BDP-S1500/BMSP6 27 March 2019 by Aleng75 (Singapore)

Am disappointed that the player does not auto play when disc is inserted. Also din noe that there is no display screen in the player.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Works great is a sony

BDPS1500 07 January 2019 by Svinkter9000 (USA)

Great picture and sound wish it could get me a beer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

6

0

User friendly

BDP-S1500/BMSP6 21 October 2018 by JESK (Singapore)

This Blu Ray player is value for money and easy to operate. Good resolution. It’s very sleek too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I was misled

BDP-S1500/BMSP6 08 September 2018 by No more (Singapore)

I bought this blu-ray player hoping to watch my DVDS, but was totally, utterly disappointed to find out that it is not multi-region. I couldn't play DVDs from England. I searched the Internet looking for a code to make the player multi-region, but there was none. I felt very cheated. I would not buy any Sony player any more

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

Horrible software updates

BDPS1500 21 July 2018 by Sparkie791 (USA)

I've had this model for a few years now. when it works it's fine. but every time there's a software update I have to log back into all my streaming services... which would be fine if say that happened a couple time a year... but I've had 3 updates this week alone. and no warning... I sit down to watch something on Netflix or VUDU and before I can even select an app that darn screen comes up telling me to accept an update. Then it either goes thru the update and I have to log back in to all my apps or it just freezes and I have to unplug for 10 minutes and hope that it's unfrozen when it boots up. not always the case. this is my 2nd Sony Blue Ray. I've never had an issue with my Samsung... I don't think I'll be getting Sony anymore.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

6

0

Software Update

BDP-S1500 28 June 2018 by Embea44 (USA)

This player worked find until it needed a system update. Can't update via USB or internet. No help from Sony Contact.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

6

0

Not wronging not plug and play

BDPS1500 01 June 2018 by kmbjoh (USA)

It no Sorry to the point. Nothing more to sad . The one I have now the same problem

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

9

0

Great features and performance

BDPS1500 22 May 2018 by Tostin (USA)

I have bought my BDP S1500 over three months ago and never disappointed me.I'm proud of it,and Sony electronics product has always been my best choice of electronics. Weldone and thanks to Sony Cooperation

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

7

0

Lasted as long as the warranty

BDPS1500 18 March 2018 by Doc1310 (USA)

A month after the warranty ran out, so did the DVD player. I had to take it apart to get the dvd out. However, up to that point it ran well all the time. I like that it carried the apps that I use the most like YouTube and Netflix. Since it ran well and the price was right, I bought a new one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Not happy right now

BDP-S1500 10 March 2018 by Myia1 (USA)

Hello I have 2 of these blu-ray dvd players and they have been great and very well taken care of. But all of the sudden one started to mess up and then 2 weeks later the other one started messing up also. Another huge problem for me is that I have different internet/cable now and there is no router or anything else to hook up the Ethernet cord to in either of the rooms that the boxes are in so now there is no way to stream on the dvd players. These were for my 2 daughters in there rooms and now they can't watch movies or steam anything from Netflix and I am extremely upset about this and can not afford to buy new ones because they are messing up let alone afford to buy new ones with built in wifi that cost more. I love Sony but this is horrible.

1

2

0

Horrible

BDP-S1500 10 March 2018 by angrycustomer2 (USA)

I bought this less than six months ago. Last night it was working fine, now it’s frozen and I cant get the Redbox dvd out of it. I’ve tried everything to try to reset it and nothing. We have many Sony products and they’re usually fine and last for years. Unfortunately not the case with this one.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

Lousy

BDP-S1500 20 November 2017 by Mama is mad (USA)

This thing works well for awhile and then just freezes up. Sometimes it takes an eternity for it to respond to commands from the remote (no, it's not the batteries). Sometimes it freezes for so long that I have to turn it off at the power strip and restart it. I use to be a Sony fan. Not so much anymore! I am very disappointed in Sony!

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Great buy!

BDP-S1500/BMSP6 05 November 2017  (Singapore)

It's compact, easy to use, fast start-up & nice picture!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Became a piece of junk after forced upgrade

BDP-S1500 31 October 2017 by Bruce unhappy (USA)

Worked until I was forced to perform a software upgrade. Since then it does not work most of the time. Information from Sony did not resolve the problems.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

short life

BDPS1500 14 September 2017 by LO1AB (USA)

Yes, it's been over a year since I bought it but it hasn't had many miles put on it. Now it has problems and won't play right.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Does what it says on the can

BDP-S1500 19 August 2017 by PPLb (United Kingdom)

High quality HD from DVDs. Have found extremely good in upgrading my home DVDs that were copied from 20yr old VHS tapes from an old analogue camera to end up almost like true HD. Have not tried the BlueRay yet.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Slow. Too few apps. Can't skip publicty on discs.

BDP-S1500 13 August 2017 by Urubu (USA)

I really wanted this system because it looks great and it's super compact. However, I had to return the unit. I am super disapointed by the lack of apps, and by the overall sluggish response when navigating menus. I bought this unit to replace an AppleTV and get out of that ecosystem, but the difference in responsiveness is huge. Also, not Vevo, no Ted TV. I guess they compete with Sony's own services, so that's a big nono. But the worst is the DVD: when you load a disk, you have to watch the commercial. Every time. Can't skip them: "operation not allowed". Sony, I bought the disc player, and I bought the DVD disk: why do you force me to watch the advertisement? Is this my disc player or yours? I guess it's yours, so I am returning it. Forcing us to watch your pub is treating us like stupid people.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

Great value for money

BDP-S1500 13 June 2017 by Dazjez76 (United Kingdom)

The only down side to this product not enough apps other than that absolutely brilliant

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Sony blu ray player

BDP-S1500/BMSP6 11 June 2017 by Jtan (Singapore)

Simple to​ connect and easy to use. Don't even need to refer to instructions book.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small and great

BDP-S1500 08 March 2017 by jmw140 (United Kingdom)

I love this. I am a bit late to Blu Ray but this replacement for my Panasonic DVD player really hits the spot. I am impressed with ability to access the internet and various apps, still discovering the apps that I can get. Love it that I can get You tube on my Samsung.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Only Code 3 DVD.

BDP-S1500/BMSP6 18 February 2017  (Singapore)

It will be good if its multi region since nowadays purchasing DVDs are made easy. I have mainly collections of code 1,2 and 3 DVDs but with such restriction, I can't enjoy all the movies.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Great

BDPS1500 29 January 2017 by Peter1971 (USA)

I bought this 2 years ago and love it. The quality is second to none

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

very good product.

BDPS1500 28 January 2017 by MARYKAY77 (USA)

I bought this three months ago and it has worked great so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Happy with features

BDP-S1500/BMSP6 15 January 2017 by Jesan (Singapore)

The features are wonderful. Happy with easy set up and warranty registration. Played CD VCD and DVD. Yet to test Blu-ray

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Compact

BDPS1500 11 January 2017 by Art3 (USA)

Ease of installation and love the size. Fits well into my small place.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Compatability problem?

BDP-S1500/BMSP6 03 January 2017 by YK Wee (Singapore)

When connected to my Samsung TV by HDMI, it seems to have some compatability problem. I was not able to power off & on on a consistent basis. Whether by remote control or by using the button on the player. I have to pull off & replug the HDMI cable to switch on the blu ray player. Can you offer some feedback?

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Does exactly waht it says it will

BDP-S1500 17 December 2016 by Viridian (United Kingdom)

Only minor problem is the remote which is poorly designed and non-intuitive

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Simple and easy to operate.

BDP-S1500/BMSP6 05 December 2016 by Obi1 (Singapore)

Surprisingly small (23 x 19 x 3.5 cm) and light weight and toy-like. Smooth ejection and ease of use. No premium feel here.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

easy to install

BDPS1500 29 November 2016  (USA)

bought a couple of days ago and it works great with all the other wireless items I have.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Sony Blu Ray BDP-S1500

BDP-S1500/BMSP6 14 November 2016 by Phonzy (Singapore)

This little device has met my requirements at a cost which I feel quite comfortable with. I believe most old folks will find it easy to use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great value

BDP-S1500 02 October 2016  (United Kingdom)

I bought it to replace my game console for the time being and I'm loving it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Solid performer

BDP-S1500 22 September 2016 by Gilh (United Kingdom)

Although one of the lower end Sony Blu-ray players, it's a reliable performer with no weaknesses and gives a great picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

No Good

BDPS1500 20 September 2016 by Carolena (USA)

Seven months old and will NOT power on! Never buy again!

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

nice and small perfect for bedroom

BDP-S1500 14 August 2016 by soxs1710 (United Kingdom)

Bought for my sons bedroom - great size and simple to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Updated my DVD player

BDP-S1500 28 May 2016 by Batchy (United Kingdom)

Bought this as my present Sony DVD player was not Blu-Ray

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great picture quality

BDP-S1500 25 May 2016  (United Kingdom)

it is light and very easy to understand the instructions

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Compact Blu-Ray player with YouTube App

BDP-S1500/BMSP6 21 May 2016 by SG Sony Blu Ray YouTube (Singapore)

Large video files on YouTube may cause the app to restart

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1