46

4.4 based on 46 customer reviews

34
3
4
2
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Superb lens.Exceeds all expectations.

SEL200600G 23 October 2019 by eddiejpeg (United Kingdom)

Exceeds all expectations.I have been using the lens with the latest Sony A7RIV and the resulting are simply stunning.The photos that i have included are all very highly cropped j pegs fine.The details are simply remarkeable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great build and features. Soft copy.

SEL200600G 05 September 2019 by SkySpades (USA)

I love the feel and ease of use of the 200-600, it can't be beat in that regard. Unfortunately I received a soft copy. I also own a Nikon 200-500 and my copy of the 200-600 is noticeably softer in all situations; good light, bad light, near and far. I really had high expectations for this lens. I've read about others who have received soft copies as well as many who have received exceptional copies that are sharp even with the 1.4x. Hopefully Sony gets the quality control in order, but maybe that's why it's a G and not a GM lens.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

5

46 Customer Reviews

0

Still exploiting its capabilities

SEL200600G 27 February 2020 by subs57 (United Kingdom)

This is my 1st large lens, and I am still getting used to handing this physically large item, and while the hand held shots are good, they can be a lot better. I will improve with experience of course, but my opinion is that to get the maximum results out of this lens, a sturdy tripod and mount is required to fully exploit its capabilities. (Hence 4 *)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing performance telephoto

SEL200600G 27 February 2020 by Engineria (United Kingdom)

Acquired this last month, and the performance is great, the lens is very compact for 600mm and measures less than 330mm with the lens caps on, so fits in my lowepro flipside 200 bag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent build quality

SEL200600G 25 February 2020 by Johnwildlife (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens because I heard that it was good build quality and excellent for wildlife photography. I have changed my whole system to Sony after being a Nikon photographer for 35 years. I believe you are more advanced in you Mirrorless system and the sharpness of your lenses is excellent. I am waiting for the 600mm to arrive in the next week or so.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best budget option for wildlife!

SEL200600G 25 February 2020 by MEARNGCSM (USA)

Excellent sharpness and ease of use! I paired this lens with the A7RIV and have been very pleased with the results. Not the best for low light but overall I love this lens!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Really Like the Lens

SEL200600G 12 February 2020 by rvsparky47 (USA)

Bought this mainly for taking Bird In Flight photos where I could hand hold the camera & lens combo. This has worked out better than my expectations since I have a hand tremor to compensate for as well. I'm getting probably a 85-90% in focus shots. The other 10-15% is mostly the guy behind the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Incredible with the a6400 for BIF and Wildlife

SEL200600G 08 February 2020 by Ramjet31 (USA)

What a fantastic lens. I have only owned it for a couple of weeks and have already taken some of the best images I've ever captured. I moved to Sony from Canon (5Ds) and will never go back. The autofocus and image quality are both exceptional. I will be buying a Sony full frame body to accompany the excellent a6400 very soon!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sony 200-600mm

SEL200600G 06 February 2020 by Wingnut photos (United Kingdom)

Great lens Sony! Portable and light weight for size! Zoom action superb!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

If it were only perfect!

SEL200600G 01 February 2020 by Nancy 474 (USA)

I bought my lens in November, but couldn't find an a9II camera to buy until a month later. So it took a while for me to get to use the lens. At first I used the camera and lens hand held and was pretty happy. But when I tried to attach it to my tripod, it seemed I couldn't tighten things up enough to hold it perfectly steady. It wasn't until I got a Really Right Stuff (RRS) lens foot (LCF-102) to attach lens to the tripod that I realized it was the lens attachment apparatus' problem, not my tightening. The attachment for the the Sony foot to the lens collar didn't fit well. And it didn't fit well with the RRS foot either. We attached both my Sony foot and my RRS foot to my husband's new Sony 200-600mm lens. Each one worked perfectly. No play or wiggle. It was then that I realized this wasn't about my not being able to tighten things down enough, the problem lay with the Sony part of the lens collar that attaches to the lens foot. The Sony person I spoke to said they will send me a shipping label to send the lens to a repair facility in CT. I am not happy! These are expensive items, and now I have to go without my lens for at least two weeks and maybe longer, and see whether their "repair" (replacement of a basic part) works satisfactorily. I might add that I was looking for the emailed shipping label when I got this questionnaire. I don't understand why it has taken more than 24 hours for them to email it to me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Reach But Poorly Constructed Hood

SEL200600G/CSYX 23 January 2020 by steventheadventurous (Singapore)

I bought this lense some months after its release date after I had the opportunity to read more reviews. I was previously using the 100-400GM with both TCs to good effect. However, the opportunity to gain some extra light (2/3 f stop cf to the 100-400mm GM with 1.4TC) and extra reach (additional 40mm cf to the 100-400mm GM with 1.4TC) was something that attracted me to this lense. The trade-off being the extra weight - 2,115gm without hood and tripod collar cf to the 100-400mm with 1.4TC (1,562gm) making it about 1/3 heavier. It does get tiring carrying this compared to the 100-400mm GM lense with TC. The compromise is that I have to use higher shutter speeds most of the time to get sharp images which then increases the ISO. Compared to the 100-400mm with TCs, the image quality is quite similar. On its own, the image quality of the 100-400mm beats the 200-600mm which is expected of a GM lense. If you want to use this on long treks or for travel, I think the 100-400mm with TCs might be a better option. Will try this lense on a long trip so that I can get a better feel of taking this on the road. Using the 200-600mm with the 1.4TC makes this a difficult combo to shoot handheld. It would need a tripod or some other bracing support as it is unwieldy to handhold. The image quality is quite good with the 1.4TC compared with the 100-400mm GM paired with the 2.0TC (840mm vs 800mm) - see the last pic shot with the 1.4TC. With the 2.0TC, it is difficult to get crisp images. I found most of the time, the images were soft - See my second pic shot with the 2.0TC. A tripod then becomes mandatory unless you have some other support. The one thing wrong with this lense is the lense hood. The lense hood doesn't seem to lock properly and can quickly become undone. I lost mine on my first outing which is disappointing. Spoke with the Sony Ambassador and was told Sony knows there is a design flaw. When I contacted Sony, they didn't offer me a free replacement but only 20% off. Why would I want to buy a flawed hood? Sony should have offered to replace my lost hood for free after they have completed their re-design. Anyway I bought a third party rubber hood which is lighter and retractable - its screw on so it won't drop off easily.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

OOS doesn't work properly in video mode

SEL200600G 21 January 2020 by Matej 1 (USA)

Hello, weeks ago I bought new sony FE 200-600mm lens but I think the OSS doesn't work properly on my sony A7R IV photo camera in video mode. If I start shaking camera on tripod OSS start working properly after 3 or 4 seconds and hold image very well but not for long time, maybay only 10 seconds. After that is image again shaky. I try everything and the problem is still here. I went to my friend and test his new lens FE 200-600mm on my A7R4 camera but the same problem even with his lens and on his camera A7R IV. In photo mode (M, S, A and P) both lenses start working immediately if I press shooting button and OSS stabilize image excellent. Only in video mode it's not working immediately. I think this is not mechanical problem but software problem, because both lenses behave the same in video mode. This problem happening to other Sony video cameras like A7S, FS7 and FX9 I tested. Big downsize for such a good lens. I had to sale my lens to photo user. I hope Sony will soon release new firmware for this lens and solved the problem. Regards, Matej

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

sharp!

SEL200600G/CSYX 18 January 2020  (Singapore)

so far so good! happy with the lens except the weight

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent fast focusing lens

SEL200600G 18 January 2020 by Jumbo 57 (United Kingdom)

Great coverage for nature and sports photography. Internal focusing is great to have. Works brilliantly with my Sony a9.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The most versatile Sony lens (Sports/Wildlife)

SEL200600G/CSYX 18 January 2020 by TargetEFX (Singapore)

The 200-600mm is an amazing lens that this very sharp. If it had better edge-to-edge sharpness I would truely beleive it was a GM lens. Yet, it's still very sharp throughout the entire zoom. Of course, it would be great if it was faster, but I think it would have been too big and heavy. This is a great lens that is really light for a reach of 600mm. The best aspect of the lens is the throw of the zoom. It's very easy to go from 200mm to 600mm with just a 1/4 turn. Also, there is no extension when you zoom. The length of the lens doesn't move, so it's all internal. Better weather seal, better balance, and it fits in a normal camera bag. The only negative for me is the lens foot. I wish they would make the foot arca swiss compatible. I hate having to screw on another tripod plate. I just replaced mine with a RRS foot for this lens, and it works amazingly well. I would have also loved a better locking lens hood with felt lining on the inside. The hood is okay, but it's not the same quality as the GM lens hoods. However, these are small issues for a great lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect sports lens

SEL200600G 17 January 2020 by Sharpysurf (United Kingdom)

I shoot surfing for a living so when Sony announced this I ordered one straight away. I loved the 100-400 but for surfing this lens is hard to beat. The non-extending design is a real help as I often shoot in terrible weather. AF is incredible and for stills and video this is my go to action lens. It’s also good for lifestyle, assuming you can shout directions at your subjects. Super impressed so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Design n Super Portability

SEL200600G/CSYX 14 January 2020  (Singapore)

Being a new wildlife photographer (only had a Sony RX10M4 before), I bought this lens with the Sony A9ii as the best in class combination after careful review, discussions and advise by friends. No regrets after using for about 2 months.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent results

SEL200600G 11 January 2020 by Mr P H (USA)

I've only been using this for a couple weeks with the A7III and I have been very impressed with the photos that I've been able to take of distant wildlife. The autofocus works great, the build quality feels solid and I'm getting the photos that I wanted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL200600G/CSYX 09 January 2020 by Tan PS (Singapore)

Got this for about 2 months and paired with the A6400. Previous lens was a SAL70-400 with the LA-EA2. Huge advantage that the auto focus and tracking of the A6400 now works flawlessly. The compact size and internal zoom design helps in the handling. The short zoom throw is helpful for a heavy lens where you cannot release your zoom hand to reposition. Overall, very happy that Sony filled this focal length gap for enthusiasts.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb Quality Lens that Never Fail you !

SEL200600G/CSYX 08 January 2020 by EJ SG (Singapore)

Glad to own this superb lens that give Splendid and Sharp shots. All shots are hand held and the autofocus is very fast. Just love this lens and you will never regret to own it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Need times to practise

SEL200600G/CSYX 08 January 2020 by VO12345 (Singapore)

Don’t really know how to use this lens, perhaps need more practise, so far I only can a7iii auto mode to shoot it. Manually not in good shape. Till now only bring out twice for photography.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

600mm with internal zooming, grate image quality

SEL200600G/CSYX 08 January 2020 by kassa (Singapore)

I really like the size of this leanse and internal zooming feature. Image quality at 600mm is very good and this lense is Best value for money. I was able to capture handheld moon shots with grater image details.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Lens! Shockingly Good!

SEL200600G 31 December 2019 by PV23 (USA)

I went back and forth about buying this lens- I already I own the 100-400GM, 70-200GM as well as the 1.4X and 2X teleconverters. However, on a recent trip to Sri Lanka it quickly became my go to lens for wildlife and birding. Even with the 1.4X converter under heavy canopy it still performed incredibly well. While the speed of the 600mm F4 GM would have been nice, flexibility as animals moved closer would have been comprised. I found the build quality to be great and the lens itself light compared to other lenses I've owned. Bokeh is great! Autofocus with the A7Riv was unbelivelably fast and devivered razor sharp images- even shooting handlheld at 600mm!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL200600G 24 December 2019  (United Kingdom)

If you need 600mm and can't justify the prime, this lens is excellent. Importantly, it's very strong at the long end between 400-600mm, with excellent sharpness at f6.3 and superb sharpness when stopped down to f8. The internal zoom is a nice feature of the 200-600; the lens doesn't extend. Build quality feels just okay, with the general body not feeling particularly solid, but for a G series lens rather than GM this is fine by me. The zoom and focus rings feel great; smooth and no significant play. I own a 600mm f4 from another manufacturer and the sharpness of this 200-600 zoom at 600mm is amazingly close given that it's not really intended to be in the same 'class'. Overall, I'm very happy with it (I primarily use it for birding and moonscapes).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

200-600 with A7r4 is made for birders.

SEL200600G 22 November 2019 by Ebird (USA)

I bought an A7r4 and this lens a month ago, waited until yesterday for the lens, as it is quite popular. and there is a waiting list. This is my first Sony full frame, and I have spent the interval learning the system and setting the camera up. (I also got a Zeiss Batis 18mm, amazing lens) First impressions: I would not classify this kit as lightweight, but it is substantially lighter than anything else similar capability. Image quality is simply awesome, in FF or crop mode. I suspect most birders will use the crop mode more than the FF mode, particularly for small and/or distant birds.The lens becomes a 300-900 in APS-C mode (Called super 35mm here). First order of business is to assign this to a custom button. Cropability of the images is also eye-popping. Resolution is reach, and this oozes resolution. Image stabilization is amazing, I can't hold this rig all that steady, and yet it is tack sharp at relatively low shutter speeds. I haven't started playing with the three modes on the lens yet. So far I am using silent shooting for everything but BIF. Works great, but there is a risk of shutter roll with the tracking focus, hence regular shuttering for BIF. I am using hi-speed shooting mode (10fps, but am thinking about slowing it down except for BIF.) Auto Focus is also highly capable. As a start, I am using DMF with center mode for perched birds, or birds in clutter (often the same). Also have a set up with C-AF and Expand Flex spot. For BIF I am using C-AF with wide focus area, so far in limited action grabs right onto the bird Rear focus button is your friend; use it, and disable the shutter release focus. I also have an Olympus ee-1 red-dot sight for BIF, where has this been all my life?? Makes tracking BIF so much easier. (Note to Sony, build something like this into the view screen, make it assignable to a custom button, or just make it standard above 200-300 mm or so.) As for the infamous menu system, it is really a reflection of the extremely customizable nature of the camera. You aren't really going to use most of it, but you need to know what it all does. It is fairly easy to assign the settings you actually need in the field to the custom buttons, dials, fn menu and the "my menu" slot in the top menu row. I also recommend backing settings up to both the in-camera card(s) and to another (old) card that you carry in your bag. And copy them to your computer as well. And as you set the camera up, keep a chart on what you did, and keep that on your phone. (Note to Sony: you should have an option in the camera to offload something like this as a PDF) (Additional note to Sony: you should provide an option to make ANY setting a favorite from the setting itself. The process of going to the "my menu" section and using an add function is not only cumbersome, but impeded by the fact that the add function uses a different numbering system than the actual menu tree). Couple of random notes about the lens: The tripod foot is not Arca-compatible, you might want to get a third-party one. Look for one that will allow it to mount to the tripod without removing any carrying strap attachment. (Note to Sony: ????!!?). I got a set of camo lens-coats, the lens is pretty white to point at birds. Also, you should buy some lens caps with built in leashes. You can attach the leash to the tag on the lens coat section that covers the hood, using a couple of small cable ties. (be sure that said tag points toward the ground with when locked into place). The leash will reach the lens with the hood in either position, and keeps the cap always at hand. Couple of random notes about the camera. The FF files are very large, a reason to use the crop mode if you are going to crop the photos at least the much anyway. I am recording compressed RAW plus JPEG, given the size of the RAW files, having the JPEGS speeds up workflow considerably. Best advice seems to be that unimpressed RAW is only better for night shooting and astrophotography. Setting can be put into one of the easy to reach places if you want to switch it, for birding it seems superfluous. High capacity UHS-2 cards are NOT an option, unless you like watching your buffer write. The ergonomics of the camera are really excellent (I am average size, wear a mens large glove). It feels great in the hand, and the buttons are well-placed and easy to ID by touch. So, basically happy with it so far, will post some more when I have used it awhile.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

Focus issues

SEL200600G 04 November 2019 by Imastarkidder (USA)

I was so excited to finally receive this lens after waiting a month. Unfortunately, the lens I received hunts focus and when it does focus, as soon as I press the shutter to snap the photo, the lens loses focus and the image comes out blurry. At some focal lengths it doesn't do this but the longer lengths it does it most of the time. I found myself either having to use the focus hold button on every shot or just using manual focus. The images that are in focus are very good, but I think I got a defective lens and am returning it to the seller. Very disappointing. I researched and can't find any other related issues on the internet. All reviews rave about how fast and accurate the lens focuses. I will try again after they have been in production longer and hopefully any problems have been resolved. Love my other Sony lenses and AR7IV!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

8

0

Superb lens.Exceeds all expectations.

SEL200600G 23 October 2019 by eddiejpeg (United Kingdom)

Exceeds all expectations.I have been using the lens with the latest Sony A7RIV and the resulting are simply stunning.The photos that i have included are all very highly cropped j pegs fine.The details are simply remarkeable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Remarkably good lens.

SEL200600G 19 October 2019 by JAWJR (USA)

Sony sent me several lenses to test, along with the A7RIII and A9 bodies. The 200-600 was/is the make-or-break lens in my decision to switch from Canon to Sony (which I am doing based on these tests). I currently shoot the Canon 5Dsr and 5DmkIV, and my go-to long lens is the 500 f4 L v1. So the bar was set pretty high for the Sony 200-600. It cleared it nicely. Throughout its zoom range, the 200-600 is critically sharp, even wide open, delivering images that scream, "Great glass!" at 1:1 on my monitor. Some of that may be due to the excellent sensor in the A7RIII, but that doesn't matter to me because I use a system, not single components. The internal zooming is extremely smooth and makes for a consistently well-balanced kit. The AF and IS are both great, yielding fast, accurate focusing and steady, shake-free images. And, it's light, about 5lbs lighter than my Canon 500mm. This means I'll carry the Sony to more, and more remote, places where I'll get that 600mm reach. This is the lens I've been dreaming about for years, and Sony has really delivered.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Appreciable lens for appreciable price

SEL200600G 17 October 2019 by ArielP (USA)

I was looking for the 400mm 2.8 or the 600mm f4 but found out that it is a pre ordered thing. Bought this lens in Singapore instead 4 days ago but was hesitant that it will satisfy me...and it did after taking some photos to a nearby bird park.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

1

0

Well balanced, short throw zooming beauty!

SEL200600G 12 October 2019 by Kwitty (USA)

I recently switched Canon to Sony and was attracted to the 200-600 zoom that Sony offered and I primarily shoot wildlife, small birds and birds in flight. This lens compared to other brands of zooms I have owned is a superior in sharpness wide open and fast to focus and does not vary in length when zoomed. Zoom ring is a short throw design and can easily be thumb rotated. Stabilization is impressive too! All good on this one with color and sharpness and pinpoint focus accuracy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

most value for money lens

SEL200600G/CSYX 10 October 2019 by Joseph Lim (Singapore)

Excellent IQ for this price bracket. Recommendations: Sony should make affordable prime lens ($US 5000 approx) to allow the common people to purchase .

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

incredible hand held performance for a super tele

SEL200600G 09 October 2019 by mackle (USA)

have shot this for a little over a month. using with a7r4 and a9. everything that is advertised and more. couldn't be happier.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Versatile and Great Design, but Poor QC

SEL200600G 01 October 2019 by MightyDog (USA)

I had many telephoto lenses from Nikon and Canon, and now Sony. I just got rid of a 100-400mm in order to get this 200-600mm. This is what I was looking for so long because I take aviation pictures. I love its speed, picture quality, and mostly all, coverage. However, when I pulled it out of a box a few days ago, the lens (it was wrapped) was covered with dirt/particles and a couple of big particles were in the lens. One of particle is stuck to inside of the front of the lens and won't move. I'm extremely disappointed by Sony's quality control since the particle is very visible; Sony should review its manufacturing environment.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

7

0

Excellent Sports and Birding lens!

SEL200600G/CSYX 23 September 2019 by Seet (Singapore)

Bought this for sports and birding and it works perfect. Initial few sessions produced fantastic pics and I cannot wait to shoot more action pics on this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Impressive lens

SEL200600G 22 September 2019 by santa claus (United Kingdom)

Haven't used seriously yet but my initial test are very encouraging. Focussing is so much quicker than my previous lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

6

0

Excellent Lens

SEL200600G 12 September 2019 by Low country Frank (USA)

Bought it a month ago and very happy with the lenses performance. Great pictures and the lens features are outstanding. It’s a little heavier than I’m used to but I am very happy with the overall package.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

0

Great build and features. Soft copy.

SEL200600G 05 September 2019 by SkySpades (USA)

I love the feel and ease of use of the 200-600, it can't be beat in that regard. Unfortunately I received a soft copy. I also own a Nikon 200-500 and my copy of the 200-600 is noticeably softer in all situations; good light, bad light, near and far. I really had high expectations for this lens. I've read about others who have received soft copies as well as many who have received exceptional copies that are sharp even with the 1.4x. Hopefully Sony gets the quality control in order, but maybe that's why it's a G and not a GM lens.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

5

0

Follow up review

SEL200600G 29 August 2019 by Mxer1255kxx (USA)

The only option Sony would give me is to send the lens in for repair. I also found a second particle on the inside body of then lens. Barely a week old when the issue happened and just over 2 weeks since I got it. This is not how you handle customer service. Furthermore I will not send this lens in repair because the facility they want me to use severely damaged a 24-70 F2.8 GM lens of mine a few months ago. I love every other product including this lens until all these particles started showing up inside the lens. I will be returning this lens today and waiting who knows how long to find another when they become available. Big let down Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

15

0

Great at first, not so much now.

SEL200600G 25 August 2019 by Mxer1255kx (USA)

I had this lens about 1 week and was loving it. Then a giant spec of something appeared inside the lens on the front element. $2090 for a sealed lens that doesn’t extend and STILL gets a large piece of something inside the lens after less than a week. Very disappointed in the quality. None of my 4 other GM lenses or Zeiss lenses have anything inside and they were all used.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

13

12

0

Sony hit a home run with this lens.

SEL200600G 22 August 2019 by Ross G (USA)

Every since I changed over from my a-mount cameras to e-mount this is the lens that I have been waiting for. It has very fast AF and great sharpness. I am a wildlife photographer and this lens fits right in with my FE 100-400GM. I am using the 200-600G on my A9 and this is a killer combination. I will highly recommend this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

1

0

Requires high ISO shooting, even in good light...

SEL200600G 19 August 2019 by johp (USA)

I appreciate many Sony's lenses, especially the GM lenses (of which I own all except the 100mm f/2.8 STF GM). I particularly love the 70-200 GM and the 100-400 GM lenses, so I was very excited to hear of the new 200-600 G lens that was getting so many positive reviews from Sony representatives... Unfortunately, my experience with the lens has been mixed. The slower aperture glass requires higher ISO shooting, so that, for example, even in full sun the A7R3 often requires ISO 1000+ when shooting wide open at 600mm at 1/500- 1/800 shutter speeds. I compared this result with my Nikon d850 using the 200-500 5.6 VR lens. I set the aperture of the Nikkor to 6.3 to match the Sony lens and set the focal length to 500mm and was able to shoot 1/500 at ISO 320 with no problems. The image stabilization of the 200-500 is actually far better than the OIS of the Sony lens, too, so I could actually bring the ISO down to 100 and handhold the lens at 1/100 (and even lower!) with no image quality loss. With the Sony lens, on the other hand, the shutter speed must be quite high to compensate for lens shake at longer focal lengths (even when using IBIS and with the lens' Optical Steady Shot set to on). The upshot here is that the Sony lens requires higher ISO shooting, resulting in noisier images that will require post-processing to clean up. It's too bad Sony didn't take a page from Nikon on this lens. I would have preferred a constant aperture f5.6 lens even at the expense of the extra 100mm on the long end instead of a lens that stops down to f6.3 at 300mm or greater... I realize there are design and engineering trade-offs, of course, and that Sony made some compromises to keep costs down. Unfortunately for me, and probably for other photographers, the slower glass combined with higher ISO requirements will present challenges in all but the most well lit situations. On the positive side, however, the lens is well balanced and when you nail focus and don't have any lens shake, the image quality is excellent.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

17

25

0

Ease of operation!

SEL200600G 17 August 2019 by Spontin (USA)

I replaced my GM 100-400 with this lens. Might be a lesser quality image, but it is so much more fun to use this lens. Smooth, modern zooming process (internal lens zooming), sharp and just a pleasure to use!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

2

0

Sharp Lens

SEL200600G/CSYX 17 August 2019 by jaweeb (Singapore)

Bought this Sony FE 200-600mm G OSS a month ago. Had opportunities to shoot some birds and i tried it with 1.4tc and 2xtc and without tc. Proud to say Sony has done a good job with this lens. It is sharp and certainly the range that i need for my hobby.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent sharpness and reach!

SEL200600G/CSYX 17 August 2019 by tchuanye (Singapore)

Been waiting for this native FE wildlife lens for a long time! Very sharp and love the reach of 600mm! It takes very sharp image and is able to handhold.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Finally a long zoom for Sony!

SEL200600G 16 August 2019 by BillyS (USA)

This lens just came out, and I have just had it a few days, but I am so excited to review it! I am coming from the Sigma 150-600c with the MC-11 converter, which worked well, but was very slow to focus, and missed focus much of the time. As a wildlife shooter this meant many lost moments. I love Sony cameras, but was jealous of friends that had fast focusing lenses at over 400mm. I am using the 200-600 on my a6500, and it is night and day! The autofocus speed feels just as fast as my Sony 24-240 lens, which is to say, really fast. It is also silent, I can't believe it can move that much glass so fast without making a noise! I didn't know what to expect out of the all internal zoom, but it improves balance over the Sigma noticeably. The lens also feels lighter than the Sigma, even though it is spec'd a bit heavier. I was pleased with the Sigma's image quality, but this is another level. Sony hit it out of the park with this one! I've been wanting a Sony native extreme tele zoom for years, and couldn't be happier!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

23

4

0

Disappointed

SEL200600G 12 August 2019  (USA)

Pre ordered this lens without reservation as all my previous Sony lens are great products and far exceed third party lenses. This lens "hunts" to focus and even in bright daylight requires a very high ISO. Even higher the my 100-400 with 1.4 extender. Would not recommend to anyone.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

11

41

0

Excellent tele-photo lens!

SEL200600G/CSYX 03 August 2019 by vwworld_of_photography (Singapore)

Brought Sony FE 200-600mm F5.6-6.3 G OSS tele-photo lens just after launched in Singapore, and has been testing lens for wildlife photography almost a week. This ultra-telephoto zoom lens is super fast on AF and also high-resolution quality throughout the 200-600mm zoom range. Sony FE 200-600mm F5.6-6.3 G OSS is an affordable well performing lens for wildlife photography. Especially for moving subjects such as birds and wild animals. The AF is is very impressive as it is fast, precise and quite. The built and weight is very good, compared other lenses in similar Zoom range & specs. Image quality is also excellent and undoubtedly value for money. All built-in features are excellent compared to other lenses that I have used before. In-overall this is an excellent choice and great lens for action photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The Missing Link

SEL200600G/CSYX 31 July 2019 by Trenyan again (Singapore)

Forced to use alternative solutions, the wait is over for us with this 200-600 lens. It is a fantastic lens, sharp, light (compared to aftermarket alternatives) and completes the photographers bag nicely. I have the GM trinity plus primes and this compliments the 70-200 GM (or G) nicely if you are using for sports or nature. Thank you Sony the wait has been worth it. FYI I use this on the a9 and the 6400 for added distance up to 900mm... perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0