60

4.8 based on 60 customer reviews

49
9
1
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

60 Customer Reviews

0

Superb lens

SEL35F28Z 03 June 2019 by Rich58 (United Kingdom)

I am particularly fond of 35mm lenses, they just suit what I do. A 35 and 85 are pretty much all I need. This lens is really good, sharp all the way through, although I don't tend to use it below 5.6. Light weight, easy to carry. When I'm feeling lazy and I just want a light, fast, simple set up for street type use, this lens on my A7iii is all I need, or want! As to whether the peculiar lens hood supplied with the lens does any good is debatable. I use it because it came with the lens, it hasn't caused me any problems and at least provides an unobtrusive solution. Good lens, highly recommended for anyone into street work. Price, a little bit heavy, but...........

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent quality in a tiny package.

SEL35F28Z AE 10 May 2019 by gohrhyyan (Singapore)

Small and discrete, with stunning sharpness and exceptionally punchy colour. This lens is fantastic for travel. Without the hood attached it's not much thicker than the grip of my A7ii. It's great lens to slap on for street photography for the standard focal length and low profile or when you're going out and don't want a bigger, heavier lens getting in the way. Autofocus is also really snappy- in good light, subjects come into focus nearly instantly.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Somnath T FE 35mm F2.8ZA

SEL35F28Z 18 March 2019 by Helen2963 (United Kingdom)

One of the first prime lens I purchased this so far I have been super impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb Lens

SEL35F28Z 01 March 2019 by Guttersnapper (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens for street work mainly but it hardly leaves the camera as I like to use it for portraits as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

What a Banger!

SEL35F28Z 28 February 2019 by MidweSteve (USA)

What a banger! I wish all primes were this good and this small. It's 35mm, so I don't care if it doesn't open up to 1.4 and neither should you, unless your goal is to impress people on Y**Tube. 2.8 is thin enough for most things that it's worth the tradeoff not to have a family-size can of soup sticking off the front of your camera. The *retail* price is a little high, but within the field of 35mm prime options, I think it was worth it. I just wish every lens came with a programmable focus hold button on the side. I know it's too much to ask, but seriously.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good in parts

SEL35F28Z 16 February 2019 by Darkwright (United Kingdom)

A reasonable 35mm lens - but f2.8 is a little slow for a fixed focal length 35mm. Performance is reasonable but not outstanding. The external finish is fragile and scuffs easily. For the price this is slightly disappointing. I bought this for the compact size - which is the best feature of this lens.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Perfect - Great Street Photography and Much More

SEL35F28Z 06 January 2019 by JRHJohn47 (USA)

Equipped with my A7R III, I simply do not need an F-Stop lower unless I need more bokeh that a smaller aperture would offer for portrait photography with a 35mm lens. The bokeh on this lens is great for portraits. My typical day time street photography is usually done at a range of 4.0 to 8.0 and this lens is a beast such that a 2.8 F-Stop is just fine. An aperture of 1.4 or 1.8 on the 35 mm prime lens is much larger and would not accommodate my particular needs for size. The low light performance on my A7R III is spectacular as well as my older A7 using this 35 mm lens. I can toss this into my backpack being my go to lens for landscape and casual portrait photography. I use a 50mm or 85mm at 1.8 F-stop for posed portraits but usually I do more street photography, landscapes, and family candid shots such that the 35mm 2.8 works better for my needs with great resolution detail. A great overall lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Must have for Sony FF mirrorless camera owners

SEL35F28Z 03 January 2019 by lawphotog (United Kingdom)

I bought this days after I got my A73. this is my first lens for this body apart from the kit lens. I now own a few other Sony lenses for different purpose but this lens always stay on the camera. Good for travel and street photography. I have done landscapes and portraits too. As Martin Parr said, if i need to live with one lens for the rest of my life, it would be 35mm. The optics quality of Zeiss glasses needless to say, it's outstanding.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice all around lens

SEL35F28Z 09 November 2018 by Stugotz (USA)

Lightweight, fast autofocus, an ideal travel lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice and small

SEL35F28Z AE 01 November 2018 by kctsang2 (Singapore)

Have not got to use it yet as I am busy using my other sony lens ...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great len

SEL35F28Z AE 24 October 2018 by Limliewlim (Singapore)

Use for a month and found good images and ease of use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact and very sharp

SEL35F28Z 20 October 2018 by Dylthedog (United Kingdom)

I bought into Sony full-frame for something smaller than DSLRs deliver, and if you did the same, this lens is a gem. It's very sharp wide-open, and while f2.8 isn't a huge max aperture, you'll love the size and build quality. When fitted on my A7R3, it makes it a neat, compact package that is easy to take out on a social event when you want the best quality. It also makes a perfect travel companion to the FE 24-105 G OSS for when you don't want the weight. The lens hood seems odd to start with, but it works very well indeed, and it's easy to remove to get the true pancake size. I'm a little disappointed it didn't come with a lens bag, but this is by no means a deal-breaker (just a bit mean IMHO). I've been amazed at the colour rendition and sharpness, and while you can't quite get the separation that f1.8 or 2.0 would deliver, the size more than makes up for that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Compact, sharp at corners

SEL35F28Z AE 13 October 2018 by AbrasiveWaif (Singapore)

Wanted something lightweight and easy to carry around for the Sony A7 system. This lens is sharp at corners and performs better when the aperture smaller. If you want something that is light and sharp, go for this lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfection

SEL35F28Z 13 July 2018 by WattyG (United Kingdom)

The quality of this lens is exceptional. Crazy sharp, compact, light and looks great on the Sony A7ii

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Small and might (sharp)!

SEL35F28Z 01 June 2018 by Canadapt (USA)

This has become my favourite Sony full-frame lens ... 35mm is a sweet spot for many genres of photography and this is a great 35mm among many others that are available.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small, light and sharp.

SEL35F28Z 30 May 2018 by New Wave (United Kingdom)

This lens brings the compact A9 alive making a discete light combo but with ecellent IQ and resolution.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good budget lens for everyday use

SEL35F28Z AE 27 November 2017 by PaulQ (Singapore)

This is a good value for money lens. It is not overly expensive and makes a great entry lens for the Sony A series. It is very compact and lightweight great for street photography and does not attract attention. Image quality is decent for what you pay and build quality obviously being lightweight uses more plastic. Overall a good lens to have for those on the go.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great clarity for the money

SEL35F28Z 23 October 2017 by RedPea (USA)

Not the fastest but still very sharp. Made for a very compact high grade camera to take on vacation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens for the A6500.

SEL35F28Z 07 September 2017 by Sowellraider (USA)

Bought this lens when I purchased my A6000. Works great on the crop sensor. Almost I repeat almost a 50mm lens with the crop. But it's not. But almost. Looks great is very small. Great travel lens. Now I've upgraded to the A6500 and wow even better photos. Love this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good optic and compact. Poor built

SEL35F28Z AE 05 June 2017 by iLiL (Singapore)

The optical performance is great. Has some distortion. Compact and convenient. But the built quality is such a let down.: - it's very very hard to screw and attach to my A7M2 body. I almost thought I were to break it half. - the focus ring is very stiff too, and the resistance isn't consistant. Half a circle was specially hard. - the lens body makes some troubling noise when I press certain part. As if the construction integrity isn't there. For a "Made in Japan" Zeiss lens this is quite a let down, especially when you compares it to the Thailand made 55mm f1.8.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great prime lens very sharp

SEL35F28Z 18 April 2017 by Cast a giant shadow (United Kingdom)

I've had this lens only for 2 weeks but I was immediately impressed by the quality of images it produces - it's very satisfying to use. In addition, it is a small lens so, when mounted on my Sony A7r, it's no bigger than a lot of micro four thirds kit but with full frame and high resolution.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Always wanted this lens

SEL35F28Z 07 April 2017 by MarkyM38 (United Kingdom)

As I am sure many owners know,when I purchased my A7R 3 years ago, this and the 55mm were the initial 2 lens releases. I got the 55mm first and it was/is a fantastic gem of a lens.Was not really impressed with the 2.8 aperture on this 35mm and thought I would hold out for a f2 or 1.4. These have come out but are HUGE (especially the latter one of course). And I kept seeing plenty of happy reviews about this lens so after 3 years decided to bit the bullet. Should not have worried. It is a beautifully small lens that fits the ethos of the compact A7R perfectly. It focuses silently and quickly but does not always lock on as quickly as my other lenses (hence the missing star). Surprisingly sharp also, and bokeh is ok at 2.8. It is so light and small you can carry the A7R and lens in a not very large coat pocket!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Great in low light

SEL35F28Z 06 April 2017 by MPount (United Kingdom)

Been using this lens a few weeks now, and attached to my A7Rii is super fast in AF, and superb in low light conditions in an auditorium where I can't use flash, this lens gives me pin sharp images that I need.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Superb walkabout 35mm lens.

SEL35F28Z AE 14 March 2017 by Sony convert (Singapore)

Great compact built quality. Sharp and detailed images. Signature Zeiss color rendition. A must buy for street photographers owning Sony a7 cameras. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best walkaround lens

SEL35F28Z AE 26 December 2016 by Ahbock (Singapore)

90% will be attached to my camera. It is so versatile for landscape, architecture and street photography. A nice lens for travel too, it is compact and small. The image quality from this lens got the 'Zeiss' look.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Light and Compact

SEL35F28Z AE 05 October 2016  (Singapore)

I bought the lens together with the A7II body last month.. took it for a test shoot at the Botanic Gardens and it performed fairly well. This lens is good for close up as well as wider landscape shots. If your looking for a specialized portrait or Landscape lens, I'd just say that this is a general purpose walk around lens and is good for travelling. I'll give it a fairly good rating for portrait shots (pretty good bokeh) and average rating for general walk around street shots. However with prime, its fairly inflexible and only performs within the range as per its specifications.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Product

SEL35F28Z 04 October 2016 by Sibs21 (United Kingdom)

Fantastic quality lens, offering stunning picture quality. Great for travelling compared to the larger lenses often provided alongside. A little expensive so do shop around for the best possible price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

AWESOME

SEL35F28Z AE 23 September 2016  (Singapore)

Been reading reviews about SONY A7II. Never regret about it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

35mm Zeiss Sonnar 35mm

SEL35F28Z 18 August 2016  (United Kingdom)

Really happy with the quality of this lens, although I'm disappointed because it the lens is not supported by my A7's

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

7

0

Really good, must have lens.

SEL35F28Z 25 July 2016 by keefiman (United Kingdom)

This is an older lens now but represents excellent VFM. Of course there are better wider portions around but the quality & size of this optic remain impressive. Whether in a A7 or Nex (52mm) it is small, light and delivers amazing results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

Amazing Lens.. Its definitely a must-have.

SEL35F28Z AE 05 May 2016 by Max05 (Singapore)

I have been using this lens for quite some time now. I have choosen this lens because after trying out different FE prime lens from 28mm to 55mm, I felt that 35mm is a good focal length for me as a general purpose lens. It allows me to use from indoor family photo, outdoor activities to architecture landscape. Another advantage is the low profile of the lens. It can easily fit into my everyday bag or of I choose to travel light n easy. Given F2.8 is not bad for me. Is fast enough for most of my low light shoot or kids running about. Importantly nice bokeh. Definitely we do expect more for the 35mm F1.4 given the price point. Nevertheless, this lens is sharp which I find is the ultimate value for money. As a hobbyist, its way good enough for my purpose. I do highly recommend this lens to anyonr eventhough you might have own a G-Master. This lens worth for the purpose its intended for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very sharp even in low light

SEL35F28Z AE 10 March 2016 by Yong60 (Singapore)

Compact and produce very good quality photos, I am loving it very much using together with my a7RII

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Very sharp lens

SEL35F28Z 10 October 2015 by Dr Paddy (United Kingdom)

A great all round F2.8 lens for street photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Fantastic 1st lens

SEL35F28Z 24 September 2015 by Mack1 (United Kingdom)

Bought this lens as first to go to lens - coming from a traditional video camera and being new to this type of camera for video I wanted to start with the basics. The 35mm prime allowed me to concentrate on the fundamental principles without being distracted. This lens is so small and light it was nice to use with the A7S, the autofocus when used was surprisingly quick and sharp. I can see me having this in my bag always.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

35mm 2,8 fe

SEL35F28Z 14 September 2015 by bob m (United Kingdom)

Small size and big on quallity. Does not seem to come with a lens hood but is recessed behind a lens cover.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Very very sharp lens

SEL35F28Z 04 September 2015 by will77 (United Kingdom)

Love this lens, small, light and very sharp. This was my first FE lens purchase to go with my A7S and I love what it can do. Sharp corner to corner even at wide apertures, colours come out true. I thought about the 35mm f1.4 but the weight, size and image quality of this one makes it a no brainer. Good for portraits, cityscapes and travel.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

0

Wonderful sharp lightweight fantastic lens

SEL35F28Z 27 February 2015 by NevilleW (United Kingdom)

This is my favourite lens always on my A7. It's very light but high quality, sharp great colour and fast focus. Great value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Small is beautiful

SEL35F28Z 05 February 2015 by Sydney2 (United Kingdom)

On the A7R this is small, fits in my pocket. Sharp as a razor, beautiful natural colour. The lens copes so well with 36 MP.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Sony 35mm f2.8 Full Frame Lens (SEL35F28Z)

SEL35F28Z 26 January 2015 by Yeti (United Kingdom)

I have always had a 35mm fixed focal length lens in my camera bag and soon after up-grading to the Sony Alpha 7, which came with the 28-70 "kit" zoom lens, I purchased the Sony/Zeiss 35mm. Having looked at various revues of the lens on-line the first thing that surprised me was how small and light the lens was, even with the supplied lens hood fitted. That fact was brilliant for me as I had moved from the big, bulky and heavy full frame Nikon system to the Sony Alpha system solely because of the big savings in size and weight the Alpha system offered. To date I have taken about 250 shots with the lens and can report that these all have excellent sharpness and resolution.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

1

0

Super sharp lens

SEL35F28Z 17 November 2014 by Salkire (USA)

I love this lens! It's incredibly sharp and lightweight.

9

0

0

Sonnar T* FE 35mm F2.8 ZA IS SHARP

SEL35F28Z 09 November 2014 by Martcycling (United Kingdom)

Very light sharp lens. Just what I wanted for fell walking.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

My main squeeze.

SEL35F28Z 20 October 2014 by Trip (USA)

I use this lens with my A7s, and it's my first autofocusing lens. In fact, it's my first lens that does anything automatically for that matter. I put my 'old school' pride aside and committed myself to learning my new camera and new lens. Truth be told, I love it. While yes there's a certain satisfaction with dialing in everything manually, you know what's more satisfying? Getting the shot. This lens is great and surprisingly versatile. I thought I might get frustrated with 2.8, hoping for something faster, but then forgot that the A7s makes up for it with it's performance at high ISO's, so it's sort of a moot point. Also, the size of the lens is PERFECT for the camera, so I wouldn't compromise the size for an extra stop of light. It's really a great lens, I would recommend it to anyone looking for a 35mm lens.

11

0

0

Superb lens

SEL35F28Z 07 October 2014 by Pedrin (United Kingdom)

Had this lens a few weeks now , on my A7s. As an all round general use lens it is fantastic. It is permanantley fixed to the camera , small size and light weight make it the perfect travel camera / lens combo. The images from this lens are pin sharp. Slightly expensive perhaps but well worth every penny , excellent results and great build quality does in fact deliver good value in my opinion. Could be slightly faster perhaps but that would increase size and weight, It is perfect for me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Lovely little lens.

SEL35F28Z 28 September 2014 by Kiku (United Kingdom)

Great lens, very sharp, very small. Won't let me use Steady Shot when mounted on my A7s. "Not available with this lens" message when trying to activate Steady Shot, which is puzzling since this is an OSS lens!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Excellent and a must have in your photography bag!

SEL35F28Z 27 September 2014 by Mendocino (USA)

Zeiss quality, light, sharp, small, priced about right, and native to your A7R system; what else could you ask for!!!

4

0

0

Great focal length for landscape, and very sharp

SEL35F28Z 27 September 2014 by johnrsims43 (USA)

Really, you cannot go wrong. Small and light really complements the A7R camera. This is my "hiking/landscape" lens, when I want to carry the least amount of weight. Fast enough for good depth of field shots. As mentioned in the title. very sharp.

7

1

0

sharp, fast focusing, broad dynamic range

SEL35F28Z 26 September 2014 by Hobbyist (USA)

I sold my Canon gear with three L lenses to go lightweight. This SEL35f28ZA is four oz. I find I get more out of using this one prime than I did from Canon's 24-70mm. I like the tiny hood. I probably would have bought the SEL55F18ZA if I were to do it again, but I'm excited about the FE 90mm macro just announced for next years release. While there are camera combinations that are also excellent the Sony mirrorless fits the bill for me.

9

1

0

Great Lens

SEL35F28Z 26 September 2014 by YGBSM (USA)

Extremely sharp and very nice bokeh. A bit of vignetting at some settings. This lens makes for a fantastic compact walk-around package together with Sony's A7 series cameras. Recommended without reservation.

8

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL35F28Z 26 September 2014 by jstevphoto (USA)

The days of big, super heavy prime lenses are finally over. This little 35, attached to my Sony A7R is just great. And it is tiny and weighs almost nothing. Great walk around lens and the f2.8 gives me good Bokeh when I want it. Can't say enough good things about this little lens.

12

0

0

Awesome!

SEL35F28Z 28 August 2014 by Malc2020 (United Kingdom)

I bought this beautiful lens first to pair with my Sony Alpha 7 but followed it later with the Zeiss 24-70 zoom. So, I have two lenses so far to compare. Of these the 35mm is lovely and my favourite. It is light, easy to use, minimalist and very sharp. More than that though is the overall 'look' of the images. I don't regret my purchase. By the way, the 24-70 is great too, if a little heavy as an every day carry round lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great lens

SEL35F28Z 07 August 2014 by macca (United Kingdom)

I have been using this lens for a few months now, in the main for landscapes. The image quality is excellent , sharp and very clear. Some of the images have been printed at 450*650 with no loss of quality. Brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Superb Quality Lens

SEL35F28Z 02 June 2014 by Countryman (United Kingdom)

This lens is capable of resolving maximum detail from Sony's full frame A7R camera. Sharp across the frame at most apertures, and with a F2.8 maximum aperture offers excellent out of focus detail when needed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

aperture wide open!

SEL35F28Z 04 May 2014 by shooter317 (USA)

This item is one of the best lenses I purchased! Get it.

8

12

0

Excellent resolution and contrast

SEL35F28Z 04 May 2014  (USA)

Very sharp and contrasty, good color. Vignetting is stronger than I was hopping for, bokeh is a tad nervous. Overall a great leans for the A7/A7R thanks to its tiny size and minimal weight.

14

0

0

Very Fine lens

SEL35F28Z 03 May 2014 by 820tr (USA)

The Zeiss brand is worth it. Using it on an alpha7R -- a great combination. Little if any post processing sharpening is needed.

6

2

0

Sonnar T* FE 35mm F2.8 ZA

SEL35F28Z 03 May 2014 by Redd (USA)

The Sonnar T* FE 35mm F2.8 ZA is a prime lenses that is fast, sharp, and provides excellent quality from to edge. Out of all the lenses and different cameras that I've used to the past, I have to say right now 35mm is the best I've seen. I have to say my favorite settings are f2.8, 5.6, and 9. Now I just ordered the Sonnar T* FE 55mm F1.8 ZA, and I will let you know after I spent some time with it, how the two compare side-by-side. I'm thinking that the 35mm be still my personal favorite out of the two.

18

0

0

Awesome

SEL35F28Z 09 March 2014 by EDPhotography (USA)

This is one of the best lenses I've ever had! It shoots clear and crisp footage as well as great photos.

5

8

0

Great image quality in a small package

SEL35F28Z 15 December 2013 by photocolor (USA)

I am using the lens with my a7r. It provides very high image quality even wide open at f2.8, with optimum sharpness around f4 to f/5.6. The lens does the 36mp camera justice unlike many lenses I tried on a 36mp DSLR (another maker) I used to have. My criteria is finely detailed landscapes being reviewed at 100% pixel-peeping on my 25" monitor. The lens is excellent not just in sharpness but in overall tonal rendition (color and contrast). The bokeh is usually good, esp. at f/2.8. The lens provides a very pleasing overall effect - sharp but smooth and natural looking. Being able to get this level of image quality in such a small lens is astounding to me. The build quality seems very good to me - metal plus high quality plastics (not all plastics are created equal). Not only does the lens work well with autofocus but it is a pleasure to manually focus it as well. I can get exact focus very easily and consistently (which I cannot say of the experience I've had with even the best lenses, AF or manual only, on DSLRs).

50

6

0

Very fine lens

SEL35F28Z 13 December 2013 by lucky89 (USA)

This is an excellent lens. It is light but in no way poorly constructed. Has quite a precision feel. The images with the A7r body are spot on: crisp, sharp, no distortion. Makes a delightful combination. AF is fine.

18

4

0

Build feels cheap

SEL35F28Z 05 December 2013 by racing (USA)

I received my 35mm f/2.8 today, I am rather disappointed in the build quality of this lens. It is VERY light.. which can be useful but also ..to me.. gives me a sense of plastic.. The lens uses a 49mm filter thread and I do beleive that the threads are indeed plastic.. For $800.00 I feel the lens could be better built...sorry Sony

46

107