25

3.9 based on 25 customer reviews

9
8
6
1
1
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

New Golden Age Of Miniaturization

Body Only 15 April 2019  (USA)

Two years ago, I put a complete iPhone video production package into a single shoulder bag. This week, I eliminated the shoulder bag, creating an even better 4K shooting package that is virtually weightless. We are indeed in a new golden age of miniaturization. I have been on a mission to find the lightest gear package available because of back problems acquired from lugging around gigantic RCA TK-76 and early Sony Betacam cameras in the 1970s and 80s. Though production gear has been getting steadily lighter over time, it was 2019 that it hit a new tipping point. It all starts with Sony’s new RX0 II ($699), tiny video/still camera weighing about four ounces. It captures stunning images, even in low light, with a one-inch sensor and low-distortion Zeiss Tessar T f/4 lens with an 84-degree angle of view and 2x zoom. This camera features internal 4K video recording, a stereo microphone jack, excellent image stabilization, serious slo-mo capability, a 7.9-inch minimum focus distance and a 180-degree tilt-able 1.5-inch LCD screen. This camera is so tiny it screams “Wow!” The size is a remarkable 2.3 x 1.6 x 1.4-inches. It fits in any bag and is virtually weightless. It records to a microSD card and has an ISO range of 80 to 12,800. On top of this, it is shockproof and crushproof with a duralumin body designed to be dropped from 6.5 feet. The camera has an IP68 rating, making it waterproof in fresh and saltwater without a housing up to 33-feet in depth. There's no need to safeguard it against rainwater and it also shoots comfortably in desert settings with sand and dust. A useful optional accessory is the Sony VCT-SGR1 Shooting Grip, which has integrated controls to allow users to trip the shutter release and operate the record button and the camera's zoom from the grip itself. The shooting grip can also be converted for use as a tabletop tripod. Shooting at frame rates of up to 960fps/1000fps captures split-second 4K action. The camera's new interval recording feature enables continuous shooting with a set interval between one and 60 seconds. The anti-distortion shutter is capable of shutter speeds of up to 1/32,000 sec. and is designed to minimize the rolling shutter phenomenon, which can distort images of fast-moving objects. With the Picture Profiles feature and S-Log, users can set the overall tone of video from the camera body, adjusting parameters that affect the final look of the video Sony also makes an optional Camera Control Box (CCB-WD1) that can simultaneously control multiple cameras, monitoring and changing settings remotely from a connected PC. This provides a stable connection to the cameras to facilitate accurate multi-camera synchronization, and it allows immediate file transfer from the cameras for easier file management. A nice accessory for pro users is the SmallRig 2106 camera cage for the Sony RX0/RX0-II. It provides endless accessory mounting options (microphones, lights etc.) while maintaining access to the camera's controls. The camera just slides into it for a perfect fit. A 37mm thread is built into the front of the cage for mounting a filter or compatible lens. One cold shoe, multiple ¼”-20 and 3/8"-16 threads, and one integrated ARRI anti-twist thread are provided for attaching accessories. The bottom of the 2106 Cage takes the form of an Arca-Swiss style plate, enabling users to quickly mount the camera on a compatible tripod head. This cage is constructed from lightweight, sturdy aluminum and includes a 1/4"-20 camera screw and an Allen wrench. It weighs 3.5 ounces. While on the subject of miniaturization, RØDE’s new Wireless Go, first shown at the recent NAB, is the perfect addition for this new compact kit. The Wireless GO is the world’s smallest wireless microphone system. The transmitter works as both a clip-on mic or as a tiny beltpack for a lav, sending broadcast-grade audio via 2.4GHz digital transmission to the ultra-compact on-camera receiver. It is priced at $199. The miniaturization of production video has made great strides to the point that any smaller would be difficult for humans to use. It has taken almost 45 years to get here, but for the one-person journalist, documentation or freelancer, it is a new era of convenience and ease of use. Super tools are now available, it only takes the skills to use them.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great but no auto focus

DSC-RX0M2 21 July 2019 by Prashantcls (USA)

Hi I really liked the features and quality of the camera. Also I admire its robustness but when it comes to focusing capabilities it really sucks. It ruins all purpose of having the compact camera. It would be good if in next firmware update Sony provides auto focus which looks difficult but if Sony can provide infinite focus or everything focus then that would be a great change and may change of mind of the users

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

25 Customer Reviews

0

Memory card door

Body Only 19 September 2019 by RCarnell (USA)

The waterproof cover for the memory card has already fallen off. I can see this will be a pain to replace. Why did Sony make this a removable piece! The memory card should be covered with a solid door that opens and closes....like the battery door!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

Nice but expensive camera

Body Only 16 September 2019 by slong (Singapore)

Bought the product because of the waterproof feature in a small form factor and 1 inch sensor.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

New redesign

DSC-RX0M2 06 September 2019 by Tg4519 (USA)

This would be the first smallest camera with a full frame sensor and full frame exmor R sensor and with an aperture at 1.2 and with continuous autofocus and a solid study shot for videos and photos and face defection all in a small and tiny compact design.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

7

0

Amazing pro level camera packed into small form

Body Only 12 August 2019 by Jrouyer (USA)

Sony is genius for scaling big features into smaller and smaller form factors- they must have a shrink ray, which I have no doubt is also small and compact. The RX0 II is a full featured and complex camera ideal for quick multicam shoots complete with 4k, raw, and HDR. Get to know this camera- it is simply amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great but no auto focus

DSC-RX0M2 21 July 2019 by Prashantcls (USA)

Hi I really liked the features and quality of the camera. Also I admire its robustness but when it comes to focusing capabilities it really sucks. It ruins all purpose of having the compact camera. It would be good if in next firmware update Sony provides auto focus which looks difficult but if Sony can provide infinite focus or everything focus then that would be a great change and may change of mind of the users

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Battery drains when not in use

Body Only 11 July 2019 by tc888tc (Singapore)

What a great disappointment from my brand new RX0II. I charged the battery fully in preparation for a weekend event and left it in a drawer. After three days, the camera won't turn on due to a flat battery!

3

0

0

One defect Sony has on the writing

DSC-RX0M2 09 July 2019 by sam311 (USA)

I bought this a month ago the writing On the bottom of the camera could not be read as it is erased how ???

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

5

0

Best tiny camera I've seen!

Body Only 02 July 2019 by Zaved (Singapore)

Excellent compact camera with a lot of features I see in my larger cameras! Great to have all the time! Would gave been better with continuous auto focus and support for bluetooth trigger and external flashes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

great features, high quality ,beautiful little cam

Body Only 02 July 2019 by antonto (USA)

great product, high latest technology . I had to buy the camera manual. and a case

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Good

Body Only 28 May 2019 by OwenXXX (Singapore)

I use it to travel Turkey, all is good but no autofocus

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great quality,

Body Only 25 May 2019 by PT1973 (Singapore)

This is a go-anywhere product that matches (arguably betters!) the picture quality of the larger RX100 range. I'm very happy to have purchased the RX0 II, my only (minor) criticism is that it would really benefit from having continuous auto-focus. I appreciate other reviews stating this isn't a GoPro competitor, however, since purchasing the RX0 II I haven't picked up the GoPro and have used the RX0 II in situations where I would ordinarily use the GoPro (GoPro 7).

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Not as what I expected it to be

Body Only 16 May 2019 by derifick (Singapore)

I actually was expecting more from this camera. Coming from a GoPro user for many years. I found out that this camera: My opinion so please respect it. Your insights might be different from mine. 1.) The Interface is not easy to use at all 2.) If you need to switch from photo to video mode (vice versa) it will have to take you many clicks to switch. 3.) Confusing buttons. Not simple as expected. If you flip the screen that's it you are lost with the buttons 4.) The image quality is like a "filterish" It is like making your face washed out. 5.) A touch screen won't hurt actually and i missed that feature all of a sudden. 6.) It is not as WIDE as I thought it would be. which is disappointing 7.) I regret the price tag. Now that Osmo Action is out. I should have waited at least for a week! 8.) Not sure about money back but I am selling my 2 week old rx0II 9.) The build quality is nice but i doubt when you drop it, it will surely dent or paint chipping off the body. 10.) Conclusion: It is very expensive and I regret I bought it.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

5

0

The Best Action Cam bar none!

Body Only 10 May 2019 by TerryTurbo930 (USA)

I waited years before I re-entered the photography/videography field. I'm glad that I waited and this camera became available. The BIONZ X, like it's big brothers, is so versatile. Totally manual to completely Automatic and every place inbetween. The 4K is beautiful and the stills are just brilliant. The Action Camera still has it's reigning KING. Sell all your plastic uni-body black, silver, 3,4,5,6,7. They are obsolete. This little powerhouse is built tough. Picture quality, Zeiss perfect. I'm so glad I never bought any of the inferior so-called action cameras with 50/50 reviews. Who wants to gambel with this kind of camera? Not me! My everything camera, Thank You Sony. You've outdone yourselves again.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

12

0

Great for travel.

DSC-RX0M2 07 May 2019 by Nikko230829 (USA)

Over all features are great, This camera could be the perfect rugged pocket camera/action camera if it has an internal zoom lens , maybe a 24-35 mm lens or a 24-50 mm lens , where you can take portraits, snapshots and landscape where ever you go. Will also become perfect for making cinematic videos with different prime focal lengths which you can access by adding zoom buttons. A worry free travel ,where you can shoot anywhere without worrying about your camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Small and nifty camera with good video outputs

Body Only 06 May 2019 by Oceantan (Singapore)

Easy to use. The tracking feature is good. No barrel distortion. Paired it with a good microphone and the whole video becomes even better. Very good 4K resolution for day light video. Some clippings occasionally and hence using it with ND filters would be good. For night or Low light video, would recommend to use lights.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good Vlogging Camera for the Outdoor Adventurer

DSC-RX0M2 03 May 2019 by Kristen Sarah (USA)

I'd first like to mention that I received this camera from Sony as part of their ambassador program, but all thoughts are my own. I spend a lot of my time outside in nature all over the world. I live for adventurous activities and documenting these experiences in both photo and video form. I also like the option of packing light in certain situations (ie. Hiking for hours on end). Sometimes I'm in situations where having a large camera and rig prevents me from getting the shot especially when people are involved. Big cameras can be intimidating! This camera is great for being discreet and takes up very little room in my camera bag...or any bag (I can easily throw it into my purse or small backpack), even with the grip attached. I LOVE that it has a flip screen. Seriously, if this camera can have a flip screen, why can't the A7 series or A9? As a vlogger, flip screens are a HUGE plus. The fact that the camera is water and dust proof makes it a great travel buddy for every type of adventure. The fact that the RX0 II comes equipped with a mic jack, so you can attach an external mic is also very impressive. Again, why can this be done with this super small camera but not the RX100 series? Overall, I'd highly recommend this camera to anyone who is looking for a small but mighty all-purpose action camera to add to their tool kit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Not Continuous Auto Focus

DSC-RX0M2 03 May 2019 by AlanL (USA)

It takes really good photos and video's but needs work. Gets confused with high contrast photos, like a bright sky behind the subject, but worst of all not continuous auto focus. If you start a video pointed at yourself and then point the camera towards something or someone else at a different distance, it or they are Out Of Focus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

4

0

Great features

Body Only 02 May 2019 by Lawrence66 (Singapore)

easy to use, waterproof, small and handly..........

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A tough camera pack with great features

Body Only 01 May 2019  (Singapore)

It was a great camera with lots of features such as its true skin colour correction function, creative & picture mode features and 4k recording. I can use the camera at any angle to shoot using the 180° swivel LCD screen from selfies and puddle reflection shot taken at extremely low angle.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great action and picture camera

Body Only 01 May 2019 by iXas (Singapore)

Love the new features and it’s ease to use. Super still photos and great battery life for videos. Only thing I can’t figure out is how to download the videos to my ipad. Photos are no issue, but videos in non 4K format is not ready by Apple photos app.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Bought it for the coming holidays trip

Body Only 30 April 2019 by pchengws (Singapore)

I want to learn it fast and use it well during my coming holidays. First encounter is not able to buy spare battery (no stock), second is not easy to update firmware. Other than these two issues there is a focusing issue to get use to. Overall, I find it a good camera to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great camera; missing continuous video autofocus

DSC-RX0M2 16 April 2019 by Action Jackson2 (USA)

This is a great camera in many respects. The image quality is fantastic for its size and the camera seems robust. Yet I'm also returning it, because it can't continuously autofocus during video. This key feature renders it much less usable than it would be otherwise. Apart from that, a physical stills/video toggle or button would be useful. Overall, the RX0 II feels like an "almost there" camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

8

1

0

New Golden Age Of Miniaturization

Body Only 15 April 2019  (USA)

Two years ago, I put a complete iPhone video production package into a single shoulder bag. This week, I eliminated the shoulder bag, creating an even better 4K shooting package that is virtually weightless. We are indeed in a new golden age of miniaturization. I have been on a mission to find the lightest gear package available because of back problems acquired from lugging around gigantic RCA TK-76 and early Sony Betacam cameras in the 1970s and 80s. Though production gear has been getting steadily lighter over time, it was 2019 that it hit a new tipping point. It all starts with Sony’s new RX0 II ($699), tiny video/still camera weighing about four ounces. It captures stunning images, even in low light, with a one-inch sensor and low-distortion Zeiss Tessar T f/4 lens with an 84-degree angle of view and 2x zoom. This camera features internal 4K video recording, a stereo microphone jack, excellent image stabilization, serious slo-mo capability, a 7.9-inch minimum focus distance and a 180-degree tilt-able 1.5-inch LCD screen. This camera is so tiny it screams “Wow!” The size is a remarkable 2.3 x 1.6 x 1.4-inches. It fits in any bag and is virtually weightless. It records to a microSD card and has an ISO range of 80 to 12,800. On top of this, it is shockproof and crushproof with a duralumin body designed to be dropped from 6.5 feet. The camera has an IP68 rating, making it waterproof in fresh and saltwater without a housing up to 33-feet in depth. There's no need to safeguard it against rainwater and it also shoots comfortably in desert settings with sand and dust. A useful optional accessory is the Sony VCT-SGR1 Shooting Grip, which has integrated controls to allow users to trip the shutter release and operate the record button and the camera's zoom from the grip itself. The shooting grip can also be converted for use as a tabletop tripod. Shooting at frame rates of up to 960fps/1000fps captures split-second 4K action. The camera's new interval recording feature enables continuous shooting with a set interval between one and 60 seconds. The anti-distortion shutter is capable of shutter speeds of up to 1/32,000 sec. and is designed to minimize the rolling shutter phenomenon, which can distort images of fast-moving objects. With the Picture Profiles feature and S-Log, users can set the overall tone of video from the camera body, adjusting parameters that affect the final look of the video Sony also makes an optional Camera Control Box (CCB-WD1) that can simultaneously control multiple cameras, monitoring and changing settings remotely from a connected PC. This provides a stable connection to the cameras to facilitate accurate multi-camera synchronization, and it allows immediate file transfer from the cameras for easier file management. A nice accessory for pro users is the SmallRig 2106 camera cage for the Sony RX0/RX0-II. It provides endless accessory mounting options (microphones, lights etc.) while maintaining access to the camera's controls. The camera just slides into it for a perfect fit. A 37mm thread is built into the front of the cage for mounting a filter or compatible lens. One cold shoe, multiple ¼”-20 and 3/8"-16 threads, and one integrated ARRI anti-twist thread are provided for attaching accessories. The bottom of the 2106 Cage takes the form of an Arca-Swiss style plate, enabling users to quickly mount the camera on a compatible tripod head. This cage is constructed from lightweight, sturdy aluminum and includes a 1/4"-20 camera screw and an Allen wrench. It weighs 3.5 ounces. While on the subject of miniaturization, RØDE’s new Wireless Go, first shown at the recent NAB, is the perfect addition for this new compact kit. The Wireless GO is the world’s smallest wireless microphone system. The transmitter works as both a clip-on mic or as a tiny beltpack for a lav, sending broadcast-grade audio via 2.4GHz digital transmission to the ultra-compact on-camera receiver. It is priced at $199. The miniaturization of production video has made great strides to the point that any smaller would be difficult for humans to use. It has taken almost 45 years to get here, but for the one-person journalist, documentation or freelancer, it is a new era of convenience and ease of use. Super tools are now available, it only takes the skills to use them.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

Great for Vlogging

DSC-RX0M2 15 April 2019 by dhroo1907 (USA)

I loved how this was so compact and it helped me shot at 4k.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Vlogging Option

DSC-RX0M2 12 April 2019 by Q123 (USA)

Sony did a great job of packing so many features into such a small camera. I love the high quality video and images that it produces. It's low light performance is surprisingly good with little noise for its size. My favorite features of this camera is the flip screen and time-lapse feature. The screen is big enough to know if I am centered in the frame. I received this camera as a gift by Sony as a brand ambassador.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0