122

4.2 based on 122 customer reviews

64
42
5
4
7
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Compact, Sharp and Versatile Camera!

DSC-RX100M5 E32 06 November 2016 by Na wen (Singapore)

I bought this camera after reviewing (like weight, viewfinder, focusing speed, flash, aperture size, shutter speed...) various options available till date and extremely satisfied with camera and specially with focusing speed and photo+video quality. Purpose for me buying this camera is for travel and better dynamic control, it replaces my heavy lens mount camera and pocketable smartphone. After installing Sony Playmemories Mobile App, I am surprised that touch focus is available through smartphone and then there is another camera application "Touchless Shutter App (Beta)" it allows me to operate shutter (including Bulb mode) without touching the camera.. Also, I would recommend to visit website https://www.playmemoriescameraapps.com for camera applications available.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good product

DSC-RX100M5 14 February 2017 by Tangowhisky (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera to replace my semi pro very heavy camera and I'm very pleased with this camera. It does every thing I wanted although it lacks grip on the metal frame.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

132 Customer Reviews

0

Gem of a camera !!!

DSC-RX100M5 05 July 2019 by Monty79 (United Kingdom)

I am so impressed by the capability of this small camera - perfect for an amateur like me. Perfect size and weight and it is non intrusive and discreet for parties and wedding photos but will take marvellous architecture photographs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Super powerful camera

DSCRX100M5/B 25 June 2019 by xinzhouliu (USA)

Bought this for my underwater activities. Really amazing. Now want to learn to use it for vlogging also.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good but expensive

DSC-RX100M5 01 March 2019 by Lingyu (United Kingdom)

The features are good over all but little are improved over Rx100M3

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Outstanding camera

DSC-RX100M5 11 February 2019 by SPK63 (United Kingdom)

Not had this camera long but very happy with the results I've had, expensive but well worth it you you want the best results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

All u need in one compact body

DSC-RX100M5 E32 05 December 2018 by Tjagat83 (Singapore)

Bought this camera after hearing good reviews. All u need in one compact body.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Much impressed

DSC-RX100M5 03 December 2018 by Dewi (United Kingdom)

Two weeks after purchase amazed at so much technology packedinto such a small camera. Quality is awesome.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Battery dies. Cannot use!

DSCRX100M5/B 28 November 2018  (USA)

No matter which battery I use for this camera, and how much the battery is charged, the battery dies within minutes of use, rendering this camera virtually unusable. There are some nice features the camera has, but overall, the camera has been a vast disappointment.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Very versatile

DSC-RX100M5 18 October 2018 by Totts (United Kingdom)

This camera is ideal for carrying around easily. It has so many features that it will take a while to explore them all and learn how to use it correctly. The photos I have taken so far are excellent quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Wonderful

DSC-RX100M5 05 October 2018 by Tournan (United Kingdom)

Already owner of a Sony RX100, I've found the same picture quality with the Sony RX100 V I definitely recommend this camera, you can not be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Failed just out of warranty

dscrx100m5 01 October 2018 by dougd19 (USA)

The camera has loads of features and an excellent sensor that can take great photos. Mine went dead a few months out of warranty and the repair was $276. I think the viewing screen is hard to see in daylight. The eye pop-up is good but very small. This is not a camera for any but the nimblest of fingers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Disappointing

DSC-RX100M5 21 September 2018 by Scammed1 (United Kingdom)

the flash and the viewfinder are flimsy and difficult to use.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Perfect pocket photography

DSC-RX100M5 10 September 2018 by H4 Hornet (United Kingdom)

I used to have a larger digital camera and every time you saw a special shot, the camera was not to hand. Then the smartphone started to cope with the instant shots. The RX100V is perfect and has given me the bandwidth to take the shots that I used to only consider with a larger camera. Worth buying the leather case as well to save that endless unpacking/ packing. I do not leave home without it ( work and play).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I’m annoyed

DSC-RX100M5 07 September 2018 by Gauran (United Kingdom)

I have had the camera just about a month and already I have problem with it I’ve had to take it back into store for the camera shutter to be fixed which I’m extremely annoyed about, I buy Sony for a reason and didn’t expect that to happen seems like a common problem with this camera

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great and too many feature.

DSC-RX100M5 E32 23 August 2018 by Kenny Chew (Singapore)

Many of the feature do not know how to used, prefer to have a training.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Nice and compact and build quality

DSC-RX100M5 22 August 2018 by super cue (United Kingdom)

Only had for one day so cannot comment at this moment in time, only negative is that I had to purchase a grip for the camera at extra cost as the camera was difficult to hold. I have read many reviews regarding this matter.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

NOT WORTH IT

DSC-RX100M5 21 August 2018 by Mike qwerty (USA)

I bought the first RX100 when it came out, and loved it - used it for years. I dropped it from several feet and it still kept on working. But ... everyone likes an upgrade, right? The first thing that struck me was how much heavier and clunkier this version V is. The selfie flip piece adds significant bulk and is unnecessary. The pictures were good compared with the first RX100, but better? Didn't seem to be.The flash also needs to be manually flipped each time, as opposed to other models. Dumb. It even takes longer to start up than the first model. Anyway, not my biggest problems - though they would have been enough for me to knock the rating down quite a bit. The worst problem - the thing shut down while I was on vacation recently. It wanted to be reset - OK, weird, but fine. Now it won't even open. The best part - I'm one month out of warranty! Nothing about the repair is covered. I'm back to my original RX100, and probably happier. But my pocket is quite a bit lighter.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Taking time to adjust

DSC-RX100M5 05 August 2018 by Iain Ruadh (United Kingdom)

I wanted to have a small camera I could carry with me all the time so I could occasionally leave the big one at home. So far after a couple of weeks it is working out as I hoped, but with so many functions I think I still have a long way to go to understand all of the things I can do with it. I particularly wanted it for landscapes and quck family pictures and it seems good for that. I hoped to do sports and macro as well, but haven’t really had time to try these out yet.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good pictures

DSC-RX100M5 01 August 2018 by asdfgh (United Kingdom)

I bought the product 1 day ago. First impression is good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fast AutoFocus!

DSC-RX100M5 26 July 2018 by marian05 (USA)

I purchased this camera last year and loved it. Then a new model was supposed to come out and I sold it. Received the new model and realized I made a mistake. Returned the new model and re-ordered the RX100 V. Excellent pictures and very fast. Love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Fit for purpose

DSC-RX100M5 14 July 2018 by Contract Guy (United Kingdom)

As expected from SONY, a high quality, well featured camera that is extremely convenient and can produce some brilliant images. Over 60 years, I have owned all sorts of point-and-shoot to high-end cameras and it is impossible to find a perfect balance in one camera between ease of portability and range of features/focal-length but this comes close. The pop-up viewfinder is a brilliant (and necessary) feature for certain light conditions and handling dioptre adjustment but is a bit flimsy and I am concerned how it will stand up to long-term use but other than that, it does exactly what I expected and I am enjoying ownership!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Good Back Up

DSC-RX100M5 06 July 2018 by yyyk (United Kingdom)

Bought this for the times I don't want to carry my Nikon SLRs around. Still getting to know all the features, but happy so far with results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Mini Marvel

DSC-RX100M5 30 June 2018 by normanb (United Kingdom)

I bought this wee gem a few weeks ago to replace my mirrorless Panasonic G8, i was fed up carrying all the gear around so wanted something that could do most of the things my 4/3 camera could do and this does it in spades. I may have given up a bit of telephoto range but have an amazing small zoom the is F1:1.8, terrific.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Portable and stunning 4K video

DSC-RX100M5 30 June 2018 by Little owl (United Kingdom)

Bought to use as a carry around when DSLR and lenses can be heavy and obtrusive. It is an excellent camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Beautiful pictures of Sydney

DSCRX100M5/B 26 June 2018 by Marky1Mark1 (USA)

I bought this for a trip to Sydney. The pictures turned out beautiful!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A pocket sized powerhouse

DSC-RX100M5 25 June 2018 by ragingaardvark (United Kingdom)

I'd been having an argument with myself about buying one of these for many months and, now I have taken the plunge, I couldn't be more happy. It's reasurringly weighty and oozes quality. I've only tried a few of the function so far, but the pictures have been excellent. The battery life is generous and the speed of lens and write to card are both superb. I take it with me everywhere.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Too slow

DSC-RX100M5 24 June 2018 by Jen77 (United Kingdom)

Take a quite long time to switch on or off after I press the button

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

RX100 Expensive and problematic

DSCRX100M5/B 18 June 2018 by eddie colla (USA)

I bought this a few months ago. Great camera. Lately it turns on and off by itdelf constantly sometimes when its just lying on a table untouched. You cant put it in your pocket or a case or it starts turning on and off by itself. I bought it for a manth I'll be spending in France . This was to be my main camera and now it's useless. so it's back to my samsung camera phone. It takes amazing pictures but lasted 2 months before i had major problems with it. This is a point and shoot is amongst the most expensiveon the market. It's super disappointing to spend that kind of money and be stranded without a camera while traveling for a month.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Great features,lightweight and pocketable.

DSC-RX100M5 15 June 2018 by Peter9999999999999999 (United Kingdom)

I wanted to replace my Canon compact and having fully researched on line came to the conclusion that the RX100M5 was the best. Now that I have it, I feel confident it is. One month later they come up with the mark 6.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent all round

DSC-RX100M5 12 June 2018 by bonneville650 (United Kingdom)

Fantastic camera Learning how to use the menus is very important.It can be complicated. I would recommend that you get to know all the menus and settings before starting to use the camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best compact camera

DSC-RX100M5 02 June 2018 by Alanh01 (United Kingdom)

I needed a small “pocket camera” for hill walking and cycling holidays that offered the features of a good SLR and the convenience of a phone camera. The Rx100M5 fits the brief perfectly and the image quality is amazing for such a tiny camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M5 30 May 2018 by Immy_loves (United Kingdom)

Love this camera. Takes great pictures and good for vlogging.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wow

DSCRX100M5/B 28 May 2018 by Davorvekic (USA)

Got it as a gift as requested gor long time to my spouse. Great as ever gift that keeps on giving for long time in the future. I’ll study it as it is overwhelming to learn, trial and error would be great execution in beginning.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Fast focusing, sharp

DSC-RX100M5 E32 13 May 2018 by Nsyteo (Singapore)

Fast focusing for a compact camera even in low light. Auto mode prefect for almost any shot. Unfortunately it is not touch screen, and finding setting in the menu can be many clicks away and hard to find. The (installed) apps can be slow to open and menu complicated. So in short excellent camera hardware, software can be improved to be more user friendly.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great Features; good camera.

DSC-RX100M5 11 May 2018 by cmtavares (United Kingdom)

I recommend this camera because it has features above average, taking into consideration other cameras of the same range; However, I do not understand how it is possible for a customer not to be able to buy Sony Playmemories apps, when he is from a country where is not available. It’s a shame for Sony. That’s the reason for not giving 5 star

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

very easy to carry with you

DSC-RX100M5 27 April 2018 by buster 83 (United Kingdom)

i was fed up with carting my camera and lenses abput

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Terrific spec for a pocket size camera

DSC-RX100M5 18 April 2018 by Marlow One (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera several weeks ago so have not used it very much. I am delighted with the results so far although the camera had to be returned for repair when the electronic viewfinder pulled out and could not be returned to its correct position.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

3

0

0

Takes great photos not just snaps

DSC-RX100M5 08 April 2018 by Finni (United Kingdom)

Bought it as a travel camera and took it to Paris for the England France game. Takes great land scapes and great for street photography. Very versatile.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

0

Superior pocket camera

DSCRX100M5/B 06 April 2018 by kbruff2018 (USA)

Simply put this camera is fun, powerful and reliable - feature packed and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Something else

DSC-RX100M5 05 April 2018 by Kevin27 (USA)

To have in camera slow motion up to 960fps alone's insanity, but with an end trigger option??? -----

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

EVF problems

DSC-RX100M5 05 April 2018 by aa_harvey (United Kingdom)

Happy with imaging, but EVF ..I'm unable to retract, although Sony product, only Sony Europe Warranty honoured and camera was bought on holiday from Sony dealer in Hong Kong

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Top of the Line Camera

DSCRX100M5/B 04 April 2018 by bob_the_builder (USA)

Sony is the best - I had a RX100M4 and decided to upgrade to RX100V. Not disappointed. What a high speed versatile camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wrong dimension

DSC-RX100M5 24 March 2018  (USA)

The camera thickness dimension is wrong in the ad. 41 mm is not 8"

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Time for a longer range

DSC-RX100M5 22 March 2018 by Photorara (USA)

I own a rx100 mk1 and just finished using this mk v, while there are speed improvements and better video on this new model, the 24-70mm range is now obsolete. To have a worthwhile upgrade it is overdue To extend the range to at least 120-200mm at the long end.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

6

2

0

Outstanding performance

DSC-RX100M5 16 March 2018 by Jules0606 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera around 4 weeks ago and it's not left my person. I needed something alittle smaller than my Sony A7r when out and about and as a wheelchair user this camera ticks every box for me. It has fantastic focus speed and great Zeiss fast lens so ISO can be nice and low. Would recommend this pocket rocket to anyone, professionally and as a amateur.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

good

DSCRX100M5/B 04 March 2018 by lakevin (USA)

want to take lots of good pictures, travel a lot, meet many people and leave good pictures

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great and compact

DSCRX100M5/B 26 February 2018 by Sadra1988 (USA)

Advanced features in the small body Superb photo quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great quality, interface and manual focus not

DSC-RX100M5 26 February 2018 by madaeon (United Kingdom)

Photo quality and video quality is very good. The 1000fps feature and AF are very good. Navigating through the settings using the interface is not intuitive and complicated. Using the manual focus is not easy in video mode.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

camera is good but horrible sony online support

DSCRX100M5/B 17 February 2018 by faisaltaher (USA)

i am trying to add application timelapse but cant do it and there is no proper support

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Both Focus and Exposure Are Fast and Accurate:

DSCRX100M5/B 22 January 2018 by Robert45 (USA)

I got it for a trip to Europe on a tour. I had to shoot fast as I was always with family and a larger group while we listening to a guide. The pop-up viewfinder is really wonderful to use. The photos were in focus with accurate exposure. It worked well both outside and inside. Inside included art museums, churches and castles and bakeries. Because of the high contrast conditions inside (dark objects and bright windows), I set the Dynamic Range Optimizer (DRO) to +5, which worked well. Upon downloading the files into my computer, I had many nice choices. The files were easy to enhance with photo software. Last, this camera functions delightfully well as a point and shoot. However, I recommend the book by Alexander S. White so that you can get even more out of your camera as it has advanced and professional features. Happy Photographing!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Fantastic autofocus

DSC-RX100M5 12 January 2018 by 4wdcowboy (United Kingdom)

Bought mainly for video, the way it snaps onto what you wanted to show almost instantly is amazing. The way the rear screen folds up, while useful, seems clumsy and part of the screen is hidden, plus it will get damaged against the camera body if you don't have a protector on. Stills are outstanding too though I have noticed moe noise than expected in the background of expansive scenes. The viewfinder is potentially useful but my previous (Canon) didn't have one so have got out of the habit of using one, and forget it's there. I would much rather all that space was used for an external microphone input, and a way to mount a small microphone is sorely missed too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

0

no software

DSC-RX100M5 08 January 2018 by wendo (United Kingdom)

This camera was a Christmas present. It is a fine camera but I cannot use the RAW options as my old version of lightroom (5) cannot upload the RAW files. The download software wont work on any of my 4 computers windows or MAC. I am in despair. I have a very expensive camera that I can only use a limited amount of functions.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

6

0

Great starter camera!

DSCRX100M5/B 29 December 2017 by Taramisue (USA)

I bought this camera a month ago for a birthday present to myself. I have really only had experience with camera phones so I am excited to learn on this camera. Right away I am impressed by the quality of the images and the ease of finding information on settings to get the most out of this product. I am excited to learn more about this camera .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fast AF, good connectivity.

DSC-RX100M5 E32 26 December 2017 by SonyCanon (Singapore)

Very good pocket-size camera with good professional features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camera for the size

DSC-RX100M5 E32 22 December 2017 by ClickerClick (Singapore)

Now I have a camera with me always that is almost DSLR quality The video quality is fantastic considering ts so compact.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Nearly Perfect..

DSC-RX100M5 21 December 2017 by gurjj (United Kingdom)

I can not fault it in terms of the quality of image or video it produces but I do have a few wishes for it. It would be great if there was an audio input for an alternate mic, the software could be better and surely the screen should be touchscreen in the next model. Would be great to control when to shoot with a bluetooth remote. The app you can download to view what is on the screen needs to be improved so it has move functions. All the software stuff can be fixed which would make this camera the go to point and shoot as the hardware is solid.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Plentiful features.

DSC-RX100M5 E32 19 December 2017 by geeknick (Singapore)

Bought it in October, and used it during vacation. Lots of features, but mostly not useful to me; pictures are relatively sharp but a little lacking in landscape shots. The apps are difficult to use, Sony must improve the user manual for the apps!

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

2nd RX100 series camera

DSC-RX100M5 E32 15 December 2017 by Marklyk896 (Singapore)

Bought the M5 for a recent family holiday trip to Hongkong in Dec 2017. Like my M3, great size, weight and very convenient as a point and shoot. Especially like the fast focus and face recognition.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony

DSC-RX100M5 13 December 2017 by Rombud (United Kingdom)

Bought for holidays nearly as good as canon DSLR also own mk 1

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Awful Software -Unable to use on Apple Mac

DSC-RX100M5 11 December 2017 by Marksy (United Kingdom)

While the camera is OK the complete lack of up to date software for a Mac to enable the photographs to be transferred to a Mac is unbelievable - and what makes it worse is Sony just don't seems to care. I contacted customer services and they said "it does not work" The best option is to take the card out and copy the photographs using this method. I am sure that this will not be available on Son'y site but if not then I will put it on plenty of other site. They just don't seem to care and just shrug me off. I have spent a lot of money on this camera and this has spoiled my whole experience of Sony.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

9

0

Size and features.

DSC-RX100M5 11 December 2017 by Pehan1 (United Kingdom)

Without doubt quality of workmanship and lens. SW - you need to spend some time to learn all benefits. Basic features are clear enough. I am more at home with still pictures and I wanted to have camera which I shall have in my pocket all the time.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Compact, versatile, powerful

DSC-RX100M5 08 December 2017 by Tommy10 (United Kingdom)

Needs something compact to carry with me all the time. Something with quality images and a wide range of shooting parameters. Delighted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very high quality images

DSC-RX100M5 05 December 2017 by Rubica (United Kingdom)

I have been very impressed with the results I have been able to achieve with this camera so far, especially in low light conditions. It gives me image quality very similar to my much larger (and heavier) interchangeable lens system camera, and does so with very little fuss. As a carry around camera when I don’t want to be lugging bags of kit it is superb. The only problem I have found is as a result of the factor that is also its main advantage which is the size. You do need to pay a bit of attention to which controls you are using, but this is inevitable in a camera so small, and I would not want it to be any larger.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

The best pocketable ‘proper’ compact you can buy!

DSC-RX100M5 01 December 2017 by KavKav (United Kingdom)

I have the Mark 1 and also the Sony RX1 do I have plenty to compare the mark V with. To have all of the features I want in a camera this size is remarkable, added to which the markV delivered superb pictures and is very fast. It is hard to see how the upcoming markVI can meaningfully improve on this. 10/10 Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera

DSC-RX100M5 22 November 2017 by Leave blank (United Kingdom)

Incredible power in a tiny body - exactly what I wanted in a second camera to back up an interchangeable lens system. It gets some flak in reviews for its complex menu system, and yes it takes a good deal of time to research and set the camera up to one’s preference. But I do have a PhD and enjoy that kind of thing! The range of focussing options is particularly complex, and could do with better explanation. However once there I really like the system; everything you need to find is quickly accessible without diving into menus. And it works so well, particularly the focus system. The battery life is not good, but a price I am happy to pay for the compact size and level of performance. However given that, it is poor that Sony fail to supply a battery charger, and that their branded batteries are so overpriced. Charging is by micro usb lead to the camera itself, rather fiddly, and in my experience that connector is not very robust. So I suspect most owners will be driven to the aftermarket for batteries and charger, with its associated risks. Sony, please include a second battery and charger in this premium product. I originally rejected the RX100 series because the included viewfinder didn’t work well for spectacle users, in particular it just got pushed back in when placed at the eye. I am learning to live with it, but it would go from good to great with the simple addition of a lock. I haven’t used the camera enough to make a definitive judgement on the all important subject of image quality, but initial impression is that discerning users wil be satisfied with the lens and sensor performance. Zoom range is limited at the long end, but a necessary compromise for the compact size of body and sensor size. Some competitors have extended the long end, and this should be a target for the next model.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great quality and features in a tiny package

DSC-RX100M5 21 November 2017 by joskiboy (United Kingdom)

Downsized a DSLR for this and am very pleased. Really fast to use, really fast to focus (phase detect is great). Image quality is great. Shame there is no touchscreen but it is really quite amazing how many features and what such quality they have crammed inside such a small machine. Easy enough to be with me whenever I need it and more than good enough picture quality!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0