18

4.2 based on 18 customer reviews

11
3
2
1
1
Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Superb build quality and function

VG-C3EM 05 December 2017 by Niffy (United Kingdom)

This is a real quality grip , and with two batteries I can shoot a whole wedding. I switched from another mirrorless system to Sony, and the one thing that jumps out is the build quality. Feels like a real pro bit of kit.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

Most Helpful Critical
0

Joystick not responsive in vertical position

VG-C3EM//Q SYU 12 November 2018 by Edmund 1 (Singapore)

Joystick responded intermittently in vertical positions. Especially when pushing it upwards.

Performance

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

18 Customer Reviews

0

well made

VG-C3EM 30 August 2019 by tony r (United Kingdom)

very pleased with the grip, very well made, and works as it should

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Grip!

VGC3EM 12 May 2019 by grif80128 (USA)

I had read the reviews on the a7Riii and noted the comments on the ergonomics of the grip. I was not surprised when I first held the camera that my little finger dangled in space. I had heeded the comments, bought the battery grip and added it immediately to my camera purchase. Yes, it adds bulk and weight to an otherwise svelte camera. The added sq. inches for my hand is much welcomed! It adds to hand held stability. The second battery is an added benefit. Recommend that if you buy this that you buy two spare batteries. That way you can swap and go! If you're into the looks and status kind of thing-this combination with a large lens will make you the envy of the camera boys!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great grip!

VG-C3EM//Q SYU 09 December 2018 by requiem84 (Singapore)

Love the feel and ergonomics of the grip, lightweight, and easy to set up and use!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to accidentally press the trigger button

VG-C3EM//Q SYU 16 November 2018 by WT12 (Singapore)

Having used this for 6 months, I really enjoy the larger grip that this provides but it is always too easy to accidentally press the trigger button while holding it normally. Sometimes I walk about casually and take a few photos without knowing it. Other than that, the extra battery life provided is extremely useful, even though a single battery is more than enough for a daily shoot.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Joystick not responsive in vertical position

VG-C3EM//Q SYU 12 November 2018 by Edmund 1 (Singapore)

Joystick responded intermittently in vertical positions. Especially when pushing it upwards.

Performance

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

VERTICAL GRIP FOR THE A9

VG-C3EM 30 September 2018 by Davieboy00 (United Kingdom)

This vertical grip is a very useful addition to the A9, A7R111 as it helps the provide a balance with these new compact and light mirrorless cameras and the Sony G Lenses. Well designed and well built.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

it does the job

VG-C3EM 28 September 2018 by Arcad (United Kingdom)

Coming from 15 yo Canon pro stuff, the grip is ok. The battery rack looks very light but ok for the moment. Only thing, i'm very often clicking with the side of my hand, just when picking the camera. It means i must turn of the second button when i use the classical horizontal format. And of course, turn it on for vertical format. I will manage...

Performance

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Battery grip for A7 and A7R3

VG-C3EM 24 August 2018 by Nick Footprint Photog (United Kingdom)

I have just moved from Lumix to Sony. The Lumix battery grip left the battery in the camera and the grip had the extra battery. This meant that any time you could quickly remove the battery grip and carry on shooting. The Sony product works well on camera but there is much more hassle to attach it to the camera as you have to remove the battery door on the camera, store it in the grip and then slide a new housing into the battery compartment of the camera. In a nutshell this means that you cant just remove the grip and carry on shooting, you have to reattach the door and then put a battery into the camera. Lumix start to finish removing the battery grip and continuing shooting = 3 secs Sony removing battery grip and continuing shooting = appx 1 minute with all the faff of reattaching the battery door (dont drop it or lose it and you are in deep do-do) and inserting a battery For social or landscape shooting this could be fine but for things like weddings or other busy commercial shoots this is unacceptable. If you never plan to remove the battery grip then you can pretty much ignore this review as the product works as it should when on camera.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Quality

VG-C3EM 05 July 2018  (United Kingdom)

I Have The A7 R III , This Grip Helps A lot , For Battery Life But also for the camera,makes the camera feel good in my heads

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works fluidly with my new A7iii

VG-C3EM 28 June 2018 by Webby1 (United Kingdom)

Bought 2 weeks ago and already pushed it capturing sports and now using for videoing a conference. The double battery is great allowing me to work far longer than I would’ve done with my old A7ii. All the buttons work fluidly just right to adjust as you work!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Features

VG-C3EM 10 June 2018 by Shiner 11 (United Kingdom)

The Batteries Go In Sideways Not Flat Which Makes The Grip Quite Deep,But Does Enable A Good On Grip On The Camera Especially With Heavier Lenses

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good product

VG-C3EM//Q SYU 11 May 2018 by lalle (Singapore)

I use it quiet some time , I like to shape and as it fits the hand . it makes the camera stable to hold. Improvement could be the battery support where is the closing mechanism as well made out of metal.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great fit for the A7iii

VG-C3EM 25 April 2018 by Cameraboy56 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this grip to complement my new Sony A7iii which it does very well. Not only does it double your battery capacity, which allows you to shoot all day, it makes it fit in my hand a lot more comfortably ( my hand are like shovels) . Great product would highly recommend.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Build Quality NOT Suitable for Professional Camera

VG-C3EM 27 March 2018 by JMatthewGore (USA)

I've used major brand SLRs for decades, and just switched to Sony. I bought this grip for my A7RIII. In general, the build quality is good (buttons, dials, housing). However, there are a couple of serious issues, and piece of equipment like this is only as good as its weakest part. The more minor of them is that there's no weather sealing between the grip and the camera base or in the battery tray door. This is a serious oversight, considering that Sony didn't properly seal the base of the A7RIII camera, and adding a well-sealed grip could have fixed that problem (luckily, there is at least a seal around the base of the battery insert column). The major problem is the battery tray. The switch to open it feel thin and dangerously weak. The entire tray is thin, brittle feeling plastic, and that includes the compartment cover that forms the left side of the grip. This is the part of the grip that's going to get banged around while you're working (if you're a photojournalist) half the time, and it is thinner and more brittle feeling than even the cheap 3rd-party grips that I've bought for my backup DSLRs in the past. I have no doubt that I'll need to replace it within a year of normal field use. This plastic is quite thin: just 1mm. Unlike the rest of the grip, the "leather" textured portion of it is not rubberized; it's just the same plastic. When I buy a piece of professional equipment, I expect it to feel sturdy and built to last. If I want thin plastic, I can buy the cheap 3rd party knock off. Please tell me, Sony, that this plastic is some kind of super plastic or carbon-fiber reinforced material. I'd like to feel better about keeping it.

Performance

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

A must have for use with bigger lenses.

VG-C3EM//Q SYU 09 January 2018 by cyrilng (Singapore)

The battery grip is indispensable for those with large hands and when using with bigger lenses like the 24-70/2.8 for better balance. Battery life is also naturally extended way beyond the already excellent performance of the NP-FZ100. One concern I have is the battery compartment catch release which is unreinforced plastic as I'm not sure how well it will hold up over prolonged use. I would also have MUCH preferred if the batteries could have been oriented horizontally instead of vertically to reduce the height of the grip and overall height when mounted on the camera body. Another great addition would have been the ability to charge the batteries in the grip directly like with the Fuji X-T2 battery grip.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Broken out of Box

VGC3EM 17 December 2017 by Oracle231 (USA)

Something wrong with controls such that when attached to Sony a9, the a9 would no longer function correctly. Specifically, the Fn key and Menu key blinks off when activated making the camera usless. Sony says it is a one off problem, Im not so sure. ..

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

7

0

Superb build quality and function

VG-C3EM 05 December 2017 by Niffy (United Kingdom)

This is a real quality grip , and with two batteries I can shoot a whole wedding. I switched from another mirrorless system to Sony, and the one thing that jumps out is the build quality. Feels like a real pro bit of kit.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Sony Vertical Grip for A9

VG-C3EM//Q SYU 10 August 2017 by benz68 (Singapore)

The vertical grip of the A9 is a must if you shoot lenses like the 100-400mm GM as it kinda balance the whole setup of the camera beautifully . I recently have used it with the 85mm/F1.4 and the balance is very good . Most importantly , you can put 2 batteries inside the grip and that gives u plenty of juice for your shooting before u need to recharge.

Performance

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0