115

4.1 based on 115 customer reviews

61
27
13
3
11
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Works well after software update.

BDPS5500 08 August 2015 by Pickyuser (USA)

The product works very well but only after updating the software online. It would be good to sell the product with current software or have the startup do the upgrade automatically. This all requires access to the internet.

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

I like the Blu-ray player

BDPS5500 26 July 2015 by Redhead61 (USA)

I would recommend the Blu-ray player, but would warn my friends that they have to buy all the cables and internet connections separately. There was nothing on the packaging that stated these items were separate.

3

0

115 Customer Reviews

0

Worst piece of electronics I've ever seen

BDP-S5500 17 October 2018 by NoLongerCustomer (USA)

Reboots itself while using apps (e.g., Netflix) and DVD player often. Fails to read discs intermittently... both while playing and sometimes refusing to acknowledge that there is a disk in it at all. Now it won't power on at all.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

10

0

Cannot play DVD Movie

BDP-S5500/BMSP6 16 May 2018 by Universal CD player (Singapore)

Cannot play any DVD movies. Not mention in instruction manual. Please indicate on the box what are the CD formats that can be played on this equipment so that we can buy the right equipment

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Just plain lousy

BDP-S5500 26 April 2018 by Littlerob (USA)

Pros: cheap price, plays hd audio and mkv video files through USB port Cons: streaming content stutters and just freezes, very few of the apps are worth watching. Even when wired to my router d/l speeds only reach 25 Mps, while my PS3, smart tv, and Apple TV reach speeds of up to 75 Mps. Every time it starts it reports a network error - even though there is none. I must have got a lemon because the reviews of this product seem very positive. In the review fields you are asked if you would recommend Sony to a friend - yes I would recommend decent Sony products to a friend, just not this product.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

12

0

youtube gone?

BDP-S5500 31 March 2018  (USA)

have this machine in my business for playing youtube videos from. 3 days ago the youtube app started only showing an “400: client error” or something similar. im updated to the current firmware. is my machine broken or did you just drop youtube support without telling your customers?

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

11

0

Streaming apps constantly freeze

BDP-S5500 30 January 2018 by NotHappy2018 (USA)

Blu ray player is barely over a year old and of course out of warranty. Netflix constantly freezes and requires unit to be unplugged from power to unfreeze. The unit has up to date firmware. I've tried the factory reset and still does same thing. Bottom line is these are junk! Mine is going in the trash.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

11

0

Great Device,Not support subtitle cp1252 (persian)

BDPS5500 28 January 2018 by Ham Al (USA)

It's Great compact product for home entertainment, but I don't know why on earth it doesn't support persian subtitle file (cp1252) I'm learning persian thus I need to watch movies with persian subtitle.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

12

0

3D Blu Ray S5500

BDP-S5500 08 December 2017  (USA)

good product / excellent picture quality and good design.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

13

0

Plex APP is very old

BDP-S5500 27 August 2017  (USA)

The Plex App is very old and does not show all the features from Plex, such as external streaming channels. It only shows local videos, photos and music. I've updated the unit several times, but there is not an update for this app.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

14

0

Major malfunction

BDPS5500 02 July 2017 by Charles and Nanette (USA)

Only used occasionally,but unit stopped working when it was 10 months old.Very unusual for Sony product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

2

5

0

Persistently crashes

BDP-S5500 22 June 2017 by Xphilemike (USA)

I do not know how Sony could get away with making a product like this. Though the Blu-ray player part of it has no problems the apps are constantly crashing. I don't think that I go more than two uses without some kind of crash that I have to unplug it and plug it back in. When I use the Netflix app I get regular freezes. And it's not because it's buffering. It just freezes. The Amazon app is always buggy! I just tried to crackle app and it doesn't work either

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

5

0

Performs very well

BDPS5500 01 April 2017 by Grampe1 (USA)

I purchased this DVD player 6 months ago and am just getting it installed in my new remodel. It performs up to expectations and I'm very pleased with it

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Value for money

BDP-S5500/BMSP6 11 January 2017 by Jabbi81 (Singapore)

Player built is small but it sure does packs some punches..brilliant 3D...Blu ray movies looks stunning..excellent web browsing..only peeve though the menu could have been better..only a small gripe..overall awesome value for money..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very Disappointed!!

BDPS5500 08 January 2017 by Steve1229 (USA)

I bought this thinking SONY would have great products for streaming becuase of PlayStation technology. The streaming quality has always been slow and frustrating with the buffering wheel of death stuck at 25% until i restart. I use my Roku stick that has no problem. When i tried to watch DVDs it doesn't recognize or claims the DVD is faulty when all DVDs can be read in any other player i have. This is waste of money.

5

4

0

Great Easy to set up

BDPS5500 04 November 2016 by busterb (USA)

I just receined my new 3D Blu-Ray player. Setup took a few minutes. Had to go online to get latest Firmware updates/

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Average from my experiences with BRP

BDPS5500 08 October 2016 by Calhounas (USA)

When I first purchase it, I thought "Great a Sony product, I shouldn't have to replace this anytime soon!" Well although the BRP works well and picture quality is excellent, my issues seem to be with the Apps. I bought this for my bedroom, after two Toshiba's crashed in two years. I have a PS3 & Sony 5.1 SS and have never had a problem. But this unit just keeps locking up on Netflix, YouTube, Pandora, Web browser. I think its a memory problem. I either have to reset the entire unit (3 times in less than a year) or go through all of my apps and erase history. That doesn't work quite as well, but it is easier than having to input all the information again. I came on this site today to get support to remove the apps I never use and prevent it from adding new ones on updates. Wish me luck!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

A space saving device.

BDP-S5500 05 October 2016 by Swerve46 (United Kingdom)

Can't believe the picture is sharp and clear for a small compact device.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Blue Ray disc player

BDP-S5500 18 September 2016 by Seagull (United Kingdom)

The product produces good pictures and when controlled by the provided controller works well. I would like to put this on my home network and control the product from my iPhone using an app (as I do with my Sony TV). I would like a Sony app for iPhone to control the unit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Great picture sound and features.

BDP-S5500 16 September 2016 by TonyS55 (United Kingdom)

Very good player ,great picture, coax sound out, good Wi Fi and small size.Very good value.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great Product

BDP-S5500 07 September 2016 by Alchemist (United Kingdom)

Easy to set up. Super quality picture on both blue ray and DVD.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Sony S5500 blu-ray player

BDP-S5500 01 August 2016 by DrReed (United Kingdom)

I bought this product about 2 months ago. It's a great bit of kit which many great features! Wireless connection to broadband and USB compatibility, plays every type of disc I need and at a great price! One down side is the lack of connection on the back!! No optical link etc! Just one hdmi socket and if you lose or break the remote it's pretty much useless unless you have a spare or buy another one!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great

BDP-S5500 30 July 2016 by BigBadTed (United Kingdom)

Picture quality is spot on. Features are good aswell

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Sony 3d blu ray

BDP-S5500/BMSP6 10 July 2016  (Singapore)

It's a very well build item with all the required functions. The size of the player makes it much easier to store. Worth the money

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

DVD

BDP-S5500 26 June 2016 by Mistyjet (United Kingdom)

Very versatile play's all types of DVD's and Blu-rays

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

great features quality

BDP-S5500 26 May 2016 by Lez1 (United Kingdom)

good features, good price, 3D, wireless lan, usb,one hdmi would like 2 as a through, would like a better search engine on internet fiddly controls,small and compact.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

small & compact

BDP-S5500 20 April 2016 by glynny (United Kingdom)

brilliant product. would highly recommend. Excellent value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

3d blu ray

BDP-S5500 05 April 2016 by Donthaveanickname (United Kingdom)

Bought the blu ray player a couple of weeks ago, well tested, good product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Awesome quality

BDP-S5500/BMSP6 29 March 2016 by Dhana011 (Singapore)

Great, good product quality. Picture quality and 3 D are fantastic. Better reduce the size of the player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

5

0

Able to wirelessly link to all of my accounts

BDP-S5500 24 March 2016 by Mac507 (United Kingdom)

Small, compact with great features very easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

It's ok

BDP-S5500 25 February 2016 by Hullman (United Kingdom)

The picture quality and speed of menu's are really good, but the wifi facility isn't too great, you have to keep registering the router all the time and it doesn't play all mp4's which my last blu - ray did.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Smart blu-Ray player

BDP-S5500 22 February 2016 by Trekkiemo (United Kingdom)

I had read a review on this blu-Ray player and was expecting the size to be small and was not surprised that it was small but Sony has packed a lot into this player and as this is my first Sony and was chosen over my usual brand, Panasonic, as it had wifi I expected it to be good and was happy my purchase. Good value for a Smart blu-Ray player packed with more than others in this price class

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Sony dbp5500

BDP-S5500 20 February 2016 by Mad max 18 (United Kingdom)

Only had it about a week so still finding out Plays most of my old DVDs but doesn't play some discs that were recorded on my Panasonic DMR- 86 for some reason apart from that seems good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Usual Sony High Standard

BDP-S5500 29 January 2016 by Yogi bear (United Kingdom)

I brought this DVD player about three weeks ago, really easy to install, better sound than my last other brand DVD player and loving the WIFI access features like catch up TV as I recently stopped my Sky package

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Blu Ray player

BDP-S5500 26 January 2016 by Jenbo58 (United Kingdom)

Bought this 2 weeks ago and I'm afraid it's already faulty , child lock has put itself on and can't be taken off so returning it to shop

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Just what I needed

BDP-S5500 12 January 2016 by Stum (United Kingdom)

Having returned from New Zealand with many DVDs this solves the problem of multiple regions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Good product

BDP-S5500 07 January 2016 by Tozak (United Kingdom)

I bought the player so that I could play 3D films, its great for that

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

So much in such a small box

BDP-S5500 01 January 2016 by DelT1 (United Kingdom)

So many features packed into a unit with a very tiny footprint. Easy to use, modestly priced and picture quality is fantastic. In additon to playing Blu Rays it's given new life to old DVD's and turned my 'dumb' TV into a 'smart' one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Execellent performance and good value.

BDP-S5500 28 December 2015 by PeterJB (United Kingdom)

Easy to use. Excellent picture quality. BBC IPlayer and Demand 5 apps present, but ITV Player and Demand 4 are sad omissions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Small and compact

BDP-S5500 21 December 2015 by geniemummy (United Kingdom)

This Blu-ray disc player is a compact design and allows you to access Blu-ray dvds and smart services wirelessly from your TV. The remote is OK but the range could be better. We have struggled with strength of internet connection to access Netflix and Sony have tried to help us with this but we are still unable to access this service wirelessly. Check the strength of your wireless connection where you'll be using the device before purchasing this. You may well not be able to access all the services without connecting via Ethernet.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

2