E 10-18MM F4 OSS

Product Reviews

41

4.5 based on 41 customer reviews

31
5
3
0
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

41 Customer Reviews

0

Complaint

SEL1018 22 September 2019 by complaint (United Kingdom)

I'm really disappointed that Sony didn't honour the cash back, relying on small print not to pay.

0

4

0

Review on E10-18 Wide angle lens for my A6000

SEL1018//C AE 09 September 2019 by Bapik (Singapore)

I bought it from 313 Somerset Sony center about a month ago. It is a very good lens. Although I am yet to test it fully. I had only clicked a few shots with this lens. So far so good.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL1018 02 September 2019 by DrRG (United Kingdom)

The lens is great, pity Sony won't allow criticism of them.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

clear as a bell shots.

SEL1018 20 July 2019 by Mitchthewitch (United Kingdom)

I purchased this lens just before a holiday in Cornwall and it was brilliant for all those amazing views.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Landscape/Movie Lense on a6500

SEL1018 14 June 2019 by andymw (United Kingdom)

Only just got this, but better sharpness than I was expecting even in the corners having read reviews. The 10mm wide angle makes for some stunning shots both for still landscapes, but equally impressive for movies where it gives a human-like perspective. Constant f4, minimal barrel extension and low weight makes it great for gimbal use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good wide angle len

SEL1018//C AE 14 May 2019 by Williamlim37 (Singapore)

Good wide angle lens and worth the money. It really covers a wide scope.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Highly recommended!

SEL1018//C AE 16 April 2019  (Singapore)

Best value for money and light weight wise angle lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality ultra wide angle lens

SEL1018//C AE 26 March 2019 by GK008 (Singapore)

I bought this lens for landscape given there are not many ultrawide angle lens for Sony APSC sensor format. Very sharp, and it is also very compact and light, making it a breeze to bring along for those off the road shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Images for Landscape

SEL1018//C AE 18 September 2018 by Black17 (Singapore)

Right choice. 10mm allow me to take magnificent landscape photos.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

GREAT PICTURE

SEL1018 20 June 2018 by Ron7117 (USA)

LIGHT, EASY TO USE, Great pictures, Excactly what I was looking for

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

9

0

Great wide angle coverage

SEL1018//C AE 18 June 2018 by Croix1216 (Singapore)

I am impressed by the wide coverage. It is very suitable to a beginner.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Quality lense

SEL1018 24 May 2018 by Prepxxxboy (USA)

I use this lens for video mostly. Takes great video on my a6500. Also a great wide angle lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Lens!

SEL1018 22 April 2018 by g302337 (USA)

Very happy with my new SEL1018. Nice, sharp pictures even in low light

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Lens for Real Estate Pics

SEL1018 15 April 2018 by stella9251 (USA)

This lens is perfect for real estate photos. Captures an entire room without the fisheye effect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Very wide angle for landscape and night photograph

SEL1018 20 December 2017 by Vever (United Kingdom)

I was eager to buy this lens beacuse of focal lenght. I use it alot during photography. Beside vignetting I still love it for specs.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Just wow

SEL1018 09 December 2017 by oli1214 (USA)

Bought this lens a few months ago. Sharp wide-angle lens for my a6500. LIght-weight. I used a slim circular polarizer for this shot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

23

1

0

unbelievable LENS

SEL1018 14 November 2017 by easyeric (USA)

not a pro, shoot as a hobby. the lens fits in my pocket and is easily accessible. i use my camera more because of this lens. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Landscape and street photography

SEL1018 07 October 2017 by highlightimages (United Kingdom)

The Sony E 10-18/4 is a high quality lens intended to capture sweeping vistas on Sony APSC mirrorless cameras. I have used this lens on NEX7, A6000, A6300 and also on a full-frame A7R2. The lens is superbly sharp if stopped to f5.6 or f8.0, which is a usual setting for landscape images. Sharpness at f4.0 is good for all but the 10mm setting, which may be a bit restrictive in some circumstances. Distortion is quite big at the extreme ends of the zoom range (particularly at 10mm) so if the lens is used for architectural shots a middle range of the zoom would be the most appropriate unless one shoots in JPG (which corrects for the distortion) or is prepared to correct RAW images in post processing. On the three newer cameras A6000, A6300 and A7R2 chromatic aberration is not significant and rarely needs correcting in post-processing. By contrast, on the older NEX7 camera images taken at 10mm zoom setting have a strong magenta cast, which is difficult to remove in post processing. An easy way round the limitation of this camera-lens combination is to convert images taken at 10-12mm setting to BW. If the images need to be in colour than brightening and de-saturating magenta channel goes a long way to correcting the image.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

39

3

0

great wide angle lens for Sony A6500

SEL1018 28 June 2017 by lalitjee (United Kingdom)

Sharp and quick to focus a perfect match for Sony A6500 camera.the size of the lens is ideal for sony 6000 series cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Packed with features but poor egonomics

SEL1018//C AE 29 May 2017 by Scott133 (Singapore)

Features and pricing significant attraction for Nikon SLR-users to switch. Bought it mainly because it is small and lightweight for travelling, plus high pixel count. Ergonomics still nowhere near a Nikon SLR. Very annoying turn button that serve as aperture or speed adjustment when using manual mode as well as several other functions. Other functional adjustment easily made by accident. Also non-intuitive complicated menu, etc.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

9

0

Great Lens!!

SEL1018 19 March 2017 by Jenks (USA)

I've only had it a week or so but i really love it. quality build, solid lens. a nice addition to my 6300.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good wide angle lens

SEL1018 05 March 2017 by Bigboytwin (United Kingdom)

I bought about a month ago and it suits me very well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Great lens for my A600

SEL1018 11 October 2016 by Hopbackman (United Kingdom)

Used this for trips to London sites and taken some stunning shots. Lens is sharp enough to produce good crops.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

Stopped working after an hour. New one on the way.

SEL1018 06 September 2016 by prophotoguy (United Kingdom)

The three pictures that I took with it looked great, but it had a very loud aperture motor when it arrived and after those three photos, it stopped focusing and the camera stopped recognising it. Sent for a warranty repair - it wasn't repairable, so a new one is being posted to me. It took over 2 weeks for it to be posted though, so I'm very unimpressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

11

0

Great Sony lens

SEL1018 13 July 2016 by StruanW (United Kingdom)

Bought this lens to fly on the A6300 and a Argo gimbal. Great piece of kit and work well in auto-focus mode. It's light and very sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Features

SEL1018 01 July 2016 by WeeMalky (United Kingdom)

Bought this for my A6000 and have been amazed at the clarity it produces and with the added benefits that it also fits my A7 11 win win situation .the first night of using it my photo was taken by the Herald newspaper in Scotland the very next day as the photo of the day and I was very pleased with that this is a lens that I would highly recommend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

45

0

0

Something I wanted as a beginner

SEL1018//C AE 05 May 2016 by macsnook (Singapore)

It is something I wanted, and it performs as expected compared to the kit lens (SEL1650) that comes with the A6000.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Excellent images

SEL1018 24 April 2016 by Stoneylad (United Kingdom)

Only had this lens one week and so far really impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Unbelivable on A7rII

SEL1018 29 February 2016 by UnSean (United Kingdom)

Between 11mm and 17mm this lens is supurb on full frame and of course APS-C

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Great landscape lens!

SEL1018 24 November 2015 by Yeti (United Kingdom)

I have downsized from the Alpha 7 back to an Alpha 6000. I found the 7 to be a great camera but the lenses required for full frame sensors diminished the appeal of full frame so it was back to the smaller sensor 6000. I still had a NEX3 (converted to infrared) + a couple of NEX lenses so all I needed to complete my current collection was a decent wide angle lens, which would be used principally for landscape work. I considered a 12mm Samyang prime before finding a lot of very positive reviews of Sony's 10-18 zoom. The funds were available so I went for it and I certainly haven't been disappointed. The lens is a lot more compact than I first thought and so far it's been firmly fixed to the 6000. This is indeed a very good lens!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

Great Lens

SEL1018 29 August 2015 by Blighted (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens on the recommendation of a friend and I am so glad I did. I am not into all of the technical figures, just the results. The photos taken with this lens are brilliant - nice and sharp, good contrast and great colours. It is so good, that the lens is now always on my camera (A6000).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

0

an excellent lens

SEL1018 13 May 2015 by warwick72 (United Kingdom)

Having used a high quality major brand in the past with similar range, I was well pleased with this lens as to size, weight, quality and results. The attached photo has been lightly cropped top and bottom

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

31

0

0

A great wideangle lens

SEL1018 21 April 2015 by Cymraeg (United Kingdom)

A great addition to the kit lens. If you want to take great landscapes, this lens is perfect. Also suitable for general photography. Images are very sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Sony E 10-18mm

SEL1018 11 February 2015 by Bill1745 (United Kingdom)

Probably the best lens I have ever bought, increadibly sharp, silent and quick auto focus

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Super quality wide zoom

SEL1018 06 February 2015 by jeep123 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this last year for my NEX-7 and it is rarely off the camera. Sharp to the edge of the frame at all focal lengths. It also covers the full frame of my Sony A7R between 14-16mm, best at 15mm which is a great bonus

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Sony 10-18 lens, bought as a wide angle option for

SEL1018 08 October 2014 by johnnyfb (United Kingdom)

Bought this a while ago for landscapes/groups, have found it works very well at f8-f11, being sharp across the frame. The camera (when in jpeg mode) applies correction so distortion is well managed, if , like me you tend to shoot raw then best to use the raw+jpeg option as a reference. The lens is well built and a pleasure to use, however it is on the expensive side for what it is, hence only 4 stars

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Excellent Wide Angle Lens

SEL1018 16 September 2014 by Red Devil (United Kingdom)

Bought this lens 2 weeks ago to use on my Sony Nex 7 camera. Went to London and took excellent photo's of Tower of London, Buckingham Palace. Lens is all I could ask for .It is light, well built and sharp. A great addition to my Sony range of lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

I wish I bought it sooner

SEL1018 16 July 2014 by dazngad (USA)

What a wonderful lens. Amazing focol length. Great stabilitzation. Great color. Beuatiful results. Anyone with a Nex must buy try this lens to know what they are missing. This is a gem. It is worth the money for the results. I was going to wait for a wide angle prime a bit longer. I am glad I didn't. This does it all.

26

0

0

A joy to use

SEL1018 09 June 2014 by Ranfurly2001 (United Kingdom)

My son convinced me to try using a wide angle lens more and I have become totally converted. For interiors and architectural structures, of course, it is incomparable. However, for landscapes it gives a real feel of the place and a 'memorable' perspective. However, wide angle 'macro' studies also become possible and fun. This E10-18mm zoom lens behaves brilliantly; rapid focus and no hunting whatsoever (unlike the Zeiss Touit 12mm), decent bokeh when you want it, no evident vignetting and good focus throughout the image at small apertures. Importantly, it allows you to generate first class pictures. It feels very well made and has been a real pleasure to use with my Nex-7. If I could change anything it would be to have an f2 version, but that is just being fussy. I have been really very pleased indeed with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

0

Excellent lens - a MUST have!!

SEL1018 23 April 2013 by GregoryDIvanov (USA)

I have this lens for about 2 weeks, so I am still all excited about using it. Have had the opportunity to take landscape pictures in deserts and very narrow spaces. Overall performance - great colors, very fast focus, very little distortion, almost no "fish-eye effect", very light (lighter than same A-mount lens for Alfa cameras). Great option for ultra wide panoramic pictures, self portraits (using go-pro poles), portraits and action photos!! A must have for NEX5n and NEX7!! The only bad thing about this lens (besides the price!) are the moving zoom parts (10-18) - makes it very difficult to clean in deserts and tough environment... I would strongly suggest the next version of this lens without moving parts!! Check the photo attached for more details (not photoshoped)

104

7

0

SuperWide!!

SEL1018 07 February 2013 by JayT (USA)

As far as the E-Mount system goes, there aren't a lot of options for wide angle lenses. The SEL1018 however fixes that problem by going Super Wide. Although with a focal length of 10mm on an APS-C Sensor makes it actually 15mm on a Full Frame camera, it is still wider than any other E-Mount lens out to date. The only thing that I would say needs to be improved on is the f/4. Idealy I would like it to go a little lower, like around f/2.8. The size of the lens is actually a positive trait, in that it makes it easy to handle.

109

4