205

4.6 based on 205 customer reviews

161
26
7
3
8
Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

"AWESOME ZOOM LENS!!!!!"

SEL200600G 20 June 2020 by Patrick1954 (USA)

First off, this SONY 200-600mm 5.6-6.3 G OSS lens looks and feels like a $5,000.00 DOLLAR Lens. I bought this along with the OUTSTANDING SONY 2X Convertor. This lens is an EXCELLENT VALUE! Extremely Sharp with FAST INTERNAL Focusing. It is built like a TANK but doesn't weigh like one.The following photos were taken all on my Sony A6500 The Wood Peckor was taken in very low rainy light @ 4000 ISO

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

21

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointed

SEL200600G 15 October 2021 by DR Bow (United Kingdom)

Does not appear to be a great match with my Sony A7R IV. The shutter speed needs to be 4 to 5 x 1/focal length value which means shooting in very good/bright conditions or shooting at high ISO’s

Picture Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

206 Customer Reviews

0

Great telephoto zoom lens

SEL200600G 21 January 2022 by Eyelevel (United Kingdom)

Beautiful easy to use lens pin sharp and fast when paired with the A7iii

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value for the money

SEL200600G 10 January 2022 by Robbie T (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a couple of months ago and images are tack sharp. A little heavy but still able to hand hold in certain lighting situations. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb

SEL200600G 09 January 2022 by Mike Vine (United Kingdom)

I’ve only had this lens for a couple of weeks and only just ventured out for a morning session. Having been used to a 100-400, this 200-600 blows it away. Apart from the obvious extra reach, it’s much sharper through the range and I feel it definitely performs way better too. At the moment I’m using an A7III and thoroughly enjoyed my first experience with this awesome lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Buy for the money!!

SEL200600G 07 January 2022 by Acubed808 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this lens on my wishlist since it came out and finally bought one. Not the usual lens you would find in a wedding photographer's bag but glad I bought it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome lens for wildlife photography!

SEL200600G/CSYX 07 January 2022 by rachit8304 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently bought the lens and have been using it with my Sony mirrorless body primarily for wildlife photography. I am quite satisfied with the overall performance of the lens specially like shooting birds in flight and moving objects. The lens focus is fast and accurate!

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exceptional value

SEL200600G 05 January 2022 by Steve 500 (United Kingdom)

I have used this lens for several months now both in the UK and abroad and find it to be a great product at an exceptional price. It is very versitile and compact for overseas travel.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Zoom Lens

SEL200600G 31 December 2021 by Zoomy (United Kingdom)

A fantastic purchase. 200-600mm lens can zoom in to great detail with sharp images A good price compared to fixed 600mm lenses and ability to find subject at 200mm and then zoom in to dtail at 600mm excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

OSS won't turn off

SEL200600G 19 December 2021 by nxf1 (United Kingdom)

I have not had chance to use this as it arrived with a OSS problem. When the camera is turned on the lens OSS motors are working even when the OSS switch is off. I am currently patiently waiting for a reply from the Sony Authorised dealer. This does give me a good feeling moving forward about the reliability of this product and also because I am unable to use it I can not judge its design or picture quality.

Picture Quality

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

4

0

Fantastic build quality

SEL200600G 14 December 2021 by Wideangle (United Kingdom)

A little on the heavy side but does a really great job

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Incredible!

SEL200600G 10 December 2021 by Fed 25 (United Kingdom)

This lens is a masterpiece, for what you’re paying you get a lot! Image quality top notch and I could be happier. The only small point is I wish there was a way to tighten the zoom and the focus circle, sometimes it’s too easy to accidentally move them.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good lens

SEL200600G 07 December 2021 by Topper (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens to use with both my crop sensor and full frame camera and I am very impressed with the sharpness of my photos I have taken even in low light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wildlife close up!

SEL200600G 01 December 2021 by Bhfs300 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a lens to use with my A7ii to get some closeups of animals. I have a 300-2.8 with a doubler is 5.6 this is a 6.3 with the ability to zoom out for shots. The focus is dead on. There are a couple photos I have taken with it. Judge for your self:

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic

SEL200600G 26 November 2021 by Johnsca (United Kingdom)

Second one I’ve owned and very pleased with it takes lovely photos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love my rocket launcher!

SEL200600G 26 November 2021 by blushy (United Kingdom)

The lens gets great results and has proves to be great for nature photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

“It’s A Great lens!”

SEL200600G/CSYX 23 November 2021  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love nature photography and lately I have been using this lens for birds, squirrels, sunset and moon photography. My friends are amazed at how close I can get to my subject and they said the images are very sharp and has lots of details. The AF is fast, a short turn to zoom from 200-600 and best of all the lens barrel does not extend when I zoom in or out. I love the images I took with this lens and happy to receive good comments by my friends! Attached is a photo of the Oriental Dwarf Kingfisher I took in Bishan Park with this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

SEL200600G/CSYX 21 October 2021  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

just bought this a month ago and am so happy that i did

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing performance!

SEL200600G/CSYX 20 October 2021 by JEAN670650 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a secondary lens (having the 400mm f/2.8) for lighter/faster roaming around, with the extra reach. Originally hesitant because of the f/6.3 at 600mm, especially in Singapore with very variable light conditions, I was however quickly surprised and converted when I saw how sharp and good the images were: photo ISO 1600, 1/2000s, f/6.3, 600mm: HANDHELD

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb lens for wildlife

SEL200600G 15 October 2021 by NINJA Allan (United Kingdom)

Absolutely great value for money if you are a wildlife photographer. You won't be disappointed in the results that this lens will get for your action shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointed

SEL200600G 15 October 2021 by DR Bow (United Kingdom)

Does not appear to be a great match with my Sony A7R IV. The shutter speed needs to be 4 to 5 x 1/focal length value which means shooting in very good/bright conditions or shooting at high ISO’s

Picture Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Fast and accurate - great zoom “action”

SEL200600G 14 October 2021 by Gigshots (United Kingdom)

The internal zoom is great when panning motorsport which has been my main use. When I’ve used it for wildlife it’s has delivered sharp images in those scenarios as well. It’s quite heavy on a Sony body but I’ve spent hours panning and I am not at all strong ! (Wish it wasn’t white !)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great performance for price ratio.

SEL200600G 14 October 2021 by Stevie 7 (United Kingdom)

I have had this lens for nearly 2 years and I have managed to get some great photos with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good results but can be challenging to use

SEL200600G 14 October 2021 by N10CKK (United Kingdom)

I have been using this lens for around a year now. It IS possible to get great results from it but it is fussy about the cameras it likes and the light levels. I bought it to team it with my A7Riv. In retropect, this was a mistake since the combination of the aperture range of the lens and the high resolution sensor creates too narrow an operating window, esp if also teamed with the x1.4TC which I have had to stop using with this lens. This lens is best paired with something like an A9ii whereas I have now purchased a 100400GM lens for my A7Riv in order to give me a wider window in terms of aperture The other challenge is that the lens is really heavy. You MUST use it with a lens brace to save stress on the mounting point and even then, the camera can complain saying that the lens is not attached properly. The lack of a lens strap attachment point does not help. My advice is to buy a replacement lens foot for it as soon as you purchase it. This will help you to carry it. The weight has also required me to change my tripod Also, if you read the forums, there are a lot of bad copies around. I have had to change two lenses already That said, I have had some great photos from this lens and the optics are good for the price point

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Superb Lens for Wildlife

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Caerphillycastle (United Kingdom)

Bought this to accompany my new Sony A7M3 camera 9 months ago after extensive research. Have been a Canon user for almost 40 years. Made the switch to Sony,. Very happy with the results too. This lens is superb for wildlife & Bird photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing lens

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Brian06 (United Kingdom)

Had a while now. Takes getting used too as not used long lens before. I any length of use get a bit heavy and a mono pod helps. Just wish the tripod foot was arcs Swiss built in.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Impressive IQ, compact and brilliant handling

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Cliffd2 (United Kingdom)

Bought the lens over 12 months ago - shot around 8000 images with this lens bare and with the 1.4 TC, impressive performance, sharp, contrasty images, handling is a dream, internal focus, quarter turn to zoom, good range and overall value for money - best prosumer lens I've used by far

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My Favourite Lens

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Alstomping (United Kingdom)

What an amazing lens this is - for such a large focal length ,its suprisingly easy to carry around .I really like the zoom - 200mm to 600m in quarter of a turn - brilliant ! The build quality is fantastic too,as are the images ( amazingly sharp) - and I also love that it has internal zooming - stays balanced too You will not be dissapointed with this lens - I love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Hairybeast (United Kingdom)

so glad I changed completely from another make to Sony, with the 200-600mm lens I have been able to get excellent shots from a distance, and the manual focus is out of this world. A lot lighter than my previous 150-600mm lens enabling me to get hand held shots when need be.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by idm21 (United Kingdom)

I took this lense out into the African bush for 10 days wildlife photography in dusty and hot conditions. The lens was fantastic, allowing me to get sharp and clear images in any lighting conditions. Definitely recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Image quality excellent

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Steven males (United Kingdom)

Great lens but a black colour or a dark grey options instead of a bright white finish which is easy marked

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent quality lens great results

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Loubylou1 (United Kingdom)

Fabulous piece of kit really excellent image caption although heavy to carry definitely requires tripod

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Dependable

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by VisionOfYou (United Kingdom)

Super telephoto's are always going to be niche and not to everyones requirements. However if you have the need then this lens is going to meet all your requirements. It is very well built, cracking image quality all contained within a relatively short form and more importantly non extending. Also check out the price point - cannot be beaten

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Lens

SEL200600G 13 October 2021  (United Kingdom)

I bought Sony FE 200-600mm F5.6-6.3 G OSS lens and I'm so happy I did with the results I'm getting out of it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

A beast

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Steven83 (United Kingdom)

Amazing lens. Ideal for wildlife and sports. Great colours, instant focus

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it I wished I got when I bought my camera

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by DT9334 (United Kingdom)

I have had my lens for about 3 months I got the 100 400 first witch I traded in for the 200 600

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic lens

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Des norton (United Kingdom)

Superb lens and value for money having moved to Sony this year after many years using a different brand .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Hit and miss.

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by PIGREF (United Kingdom)

Too many out of focus shots from this. Inconsistent AF and all too often just to soft. Forced me to switch from Sony to Fuji where you get much better after sales service.

Picture Quality

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Great lens for the price.

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Alsads (United Kingdom)

My go to lens for wildlife photography. Good sharp lens for the price and reasonable weight for a lens this size. Internal focusing is a real bonus. My only hate is that there is no manual override on the focus switch like Nikon have on lots of their lenses, it’s either manual or auto.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by The coddy (United Kingdom)

Has to be the best long range on the market and ideal for when out on nature reserves and in hides.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Bluesnappa (United Kingdom)

I have had the 200-600 for a year now and it is a fantastic lens for wildlife as long as you keep an eye on shutter speed/iso setting. I have used it for sport and in good light it performs well. The 6.3 aperture can lead to you pushing the iso but with good holding technique you can reduce the shutter to get some great shots. I put mine on a monopod when out in woodland as it really helps with stability. It’s not the lightest and I use a wide peak design slide strap on the lens lugs and it’s fine to carry. If you want 600mm weight is just something you have to accept. It is permanently on my A9 and in the right light I use it with the 1.4 converter to get 840mm and it’s still very sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens and fantastic value.

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Rabb54 (United Kingdom)

I have had the 200-600 since they first became available in the UK. I needed to downsize from my Canon system (1Dx and 500f4) mainly for international's travel, but was bit concerned that the quality would not be there. No noticeable drop in quality at all! Plus the versatility of the zoom range. I love this lens. I also have the 100-400 and again, it is hard to see the difference in quality in real life situations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best lens that I have ever had!

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by callidog (United Kingdom)

This lens combined with the Sony A9 is so quick (focus wise) & sharp for bird photography. It's that good one of my shots of a Red Kite with a medical mask caught in it's legs appeared in the Saturday Telegraph (1/3rd page spread). I can carry it with the A9 + battery grip all day long as its not that heavy- I'm 72!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beautiful

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Abwatershots (United Kingdom)

Ok so I bought this lens two months ago it’s super sharp especially when you consider the price of it it’s a great price for a telephoto of this build quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by GK56 (United Kingdom)

Had this a couple of months now and love it especially the way internal focus helps balance on a gimble

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

In the Sony range this is a Bargain!

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Waylander1 (United Kingdom)

I am an experienced wildlife photographer with many years experience. I have been using this lens for many months now and I have to say that i am very impressed and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to any wildlife photographer. Being a zoom it gives great versatility that you don't always get with a prime lens and I don't think it suffers in the image quality stakes. All that being said, if Sony produce a second version of this lens there are a couple of points that for me stop it getting five stars. Firstly there is no zoom lock. Most of the time this isn't a problem, however one of the lenses great features its silky smooth zoom action can be a problem when resting on a bean bag. You may find if you turn the camera following a subject the zoom can wind itself in and you are suddenly shooting at 300mm. The zoom moves from 200mm to 600mm in a quarter of a turn and with no zoom lock its easy to have this happen. Secondly it would have been great if this lens stayed at F5.6 all the way to 400mm instead of moving to F6.3 at 300mm. A lot of competing brands seem to switch at the 400mm point and as a wildlife photographer that extra light is valuable. Also it would be great if Sony sent me one to test when they build it. This lens would be pretty much perfect if these two points are addressed so I wouldn't let those points put you off. Its a stunner.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great lens

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by sjr1403 (United Kingdom)

Great focal length range for the price; love the internal adjust so lens does not extend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great wildlife lens

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by peterh0291 (United Kingdom)

I'm using this for video with the Sony FX6. Great performance and clarity.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Epic Telephoto

SEL200600G 08 October 2021 by UltraPix (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought this a couple weeks ago and haven’t been disappointed, sharp images and up to 900mm zoom if you enter crop sensor mode

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Top Notch lens

SEL200600G 30 September 2021 by Joesblogg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have tried long zoom lenses from Canon and Sigma. This lens beats both hands down. The only things I would change are definite stops for near and infinity focus and proper 'grab and go' manual override for autofocus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Professional build and quality

SEL200600G 19 September 2021 by icpictures (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great feeling lens, strong and durable without being too heavy. Great quality images, sharp and precise autofocus with my A7III.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So very quick from 200 to 600

SEL200600G 26 August 2021 by daltaf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Used this lens for more than a month, focus is amazingly fast. Picture quality is fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Such a sharp lens!

SEL200600G 21 August 2021 by LDMillican (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I expected this to be a great lens, but it is better than that! Focus is quick, and quiet. Very happy I bought it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

sharp focus

SEL200600G 20 August 2021 by Toby2 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens for bird and other wild life photography

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good value.

SEL200600G 20 August 2021 by Disco30045 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had this a few weeks. Description clearly gives the weight but carrying it about really brings home what I’ve taken on. Rested it in bird hides and can just about manage hand-held. Balances OK on a tripod (must take the load: camera plus this closing in on 3 Kg). Much easier on a gimbal. Bought a cheaper one with no fancy stuff and it’s fine. I’ve still much to learn. I have the camera on auto everything thus far. Got some spoonbills (the knowledgeable ones told me). Missed a bittern! Come back to me in a few months when I can hopefully supply a better critique.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Worth the price, sometimes prioritizes far things

SEL200600G/CSYX 15 August 2021 by Miradj (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded from a Sigma 100-400mm and even though it is twice the price, the quality is so much better. More rugged, weather-sealed, no change in length, creamier out of focus backgrounds/bokehs, faster focus, much better image stabilization and sharper details. Definitely recommend this to step up your photo quality if you feel like you've reached the limits of a cheaper lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

SHARP!!!!!!!!!!

SEL200600G/CSYX 10 August 2021 by Jonathan Ho (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Awesome lens, couldn't wait to get it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good quality and great with internal zoom

SEL200600G 10 August 2021 by Hadden78 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens a month ago to go with my A9, the lens is great, the image quality is perfect and along with the intetnal zoom, this is my perfect lens for wildlife and sports.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A real value lens

SEL200600G 03 August 2021 by Stickman 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having purchased a Sony 200-600 lens I have found it to be a great usable lens, producing quality results. It is a good match for my Sony a7riv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

poor tripod collar design.

SEL200600G 30 July 2021 by ifxbonz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The loaner 200-600 suffers from the same problem as my copy . You have an issue with tripod collar loosening making the lens unstable and un able to use on a monopod or tripod.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great lens for the price

SEL200600G/CSYX 30 July 2021 by porkini (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this lens, it gets really close to a subject and when paired with the A7rIV, it comes up with some amazing shots. Just a couple of times, it kid of gave me a 'black screen' as it it was somehow shut down and I had to turn the camera off and on again but the vast majority of the times it works really well. It's heavy... there's no disputing that so you'll really want to use a tripod if you are waiting around but have to stay focused.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A fantastic lens

SEL200600G 27 July 2021 by Josie163 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had this for a few weeks now and am constantly being blown away by how good it is, especially considering the price. I’m not going to go into full technical details as there are people who know way more about that than me who will have posted that info already, but as someone who has been using the lens for wildlife photography, I can say it is absolutely fantastic. If you’ve not used a focal length as long as 600mm before, it can take some getting used to but I absolutely love this lens and would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of buying.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens so far, BUY IT!

SEL200600G 21 July 2021 by Eyeintheart (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought it end of May, took a month to deliver but was well worth the wait. I have used it a few times and I'm very impressed. Make sure you have a tripod that can handle the weight. Photo examples are taken on the a7 mark one. I would love the a7iii or the a7riii but can't afford them yet.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Could end at 500 and f5.6

SEL200600G 17 July 2021 by Piotreknik (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bit heavy , we'll build and very sharp . Could be f 5.6

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best telephoto birding lens I have used

SEL200600G/CSYX 16 July 2021 by Nathanshutterbug (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best all round telephoto lens. Fast focus, internal zoom, excellent clarity and almost no distortion at all ends of the zoom range. Also use it for landscapes at time! Have loved shooting with this lens and would highly recommend it….

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Affordable plus decent image quality

SEL200600G/CSYX 16 July 2021 by Philip Loh (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Owned this lens for ~3weeks and using it with my A7R4A for birding. Still trying to get use to its weight when doing handheld shoot - but should be manageable over time. One shortcoming - no click for its rotating collar mount - caused some inconvenience due to use of lens coat which covers the marking dots. Mounting leg is too short and it would be nice if it is arca-swiss compatible so no need to buy a replacement leg. Overall, I am satisfied with the price/performance of this lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

A solid lens

SEL200600G 14 July 2021 by Nutsaboutbirdz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased on 30th June 2021 to link to my new Alpha 1. So far so good but I also bought a TC 1.4 and am disappointed with the quality of photos. The photo included with this review is not with the TC.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens

SEL200600G 07 July 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens 6 weeks ago very pleased with it very sharp pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very nice lens for a knowledgeable amateur!

SEL200600G 01 July 2021 by The auditor (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I looked at reviews for AGES and didn’t want to spend thousands on a top of the range upper glass (yes glass) lens. The Sony 200-600 is magic for me, produces really really good images which with my Sony Alpha 7ii (yes 2) full frame can be cropped as well. I also have a Sony 24-240 zoom which is magic too and a Mindshift backpack which is perfect. I am very pleased indeed, and don’t need to use a tripod most of the time for the 200-600. The 5 axis stabilisation (in camera) plus the image stabilisation in the lens is very good indeed. OK max aperture is 5.6 but I don’t want to pay a HUGE amount for and F2.8 or even F4.0 and I certainly don’t want the weight. I can adjust ISO as required. Autofocus is very good indeed. So I am a happy bunny. I take pictures of boxing hares (and bunnies) all sorts of wildlife and birds. I have not used an adapter yet and probably will not. Well done SONY yet again! Oh and I got £100 cash back as well which paid for the backpack. Even better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Product

SEL200600G 21 June 2021 by Ghost Wolf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Took this lens to Cornwall, took some fantastic photos especially of Longships, St. Micheal's Mount and at Tintagel Castle. I would highly recommend this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Monster of a lens but does the Job

SEL200600G 10 June 2021 by Packtraveler (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens will put some serious weight on your camera but it does get the job done. I do not use a tripod. It would get in the way for shooting wildlife where you more often than not have to follow the action. I use it on the Sony ARIV. It is nice and sharp. My gripes are that the lens hood does not attach securely. I lost it on my second outing while hiking. Sony could provide a longer strap for the lens. Finally the supplied lens bag could be a lot better. What is important is that I have no gripes about the lens. Make sure you try this lens before purchasing it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0