FE 85mm F1.8

Product Reviews

133

4.8 based on 133 customer reviews

115
14
1
1
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

133 Customer Reviews

0

Sharp, fast and compact

SEL85F18 19 July 2021 by Maciej Wo (United Kingdom)

F 1.8 makes the difference when you shoot a portrait. Previously I used lenses 2.8 or darker. The lens is sharp, small and light. The only downside is a bit of purple fringing on a very contrasty white - black subjects. Software should help with this.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Value for money

SEL85F18 SYX 13 July 2021 by Cesda (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

No regret to finally decided to buy this lens for its quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Per cost this might be the best lens Sony sells

SEL85F18 01 April 2021 by F15Todd (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens when I was in the middle of switching over to Sony and I was looking for fast glass that would be good to cover poorly light basketball arenas. The f/1.8 lets in a lot of light, the lens is fast focusing and able to handle fast action sports, it also doubles as a wonderful portrait lens. You can't go wrong with this lens and the price can't be beat.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Handles nice

SEL85F18 30 March 2021 by Lucky7234 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Haven't had it long enough to use it much yet. Time will tell.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Lens

SEL85F18 26 March 2021 by Ahmed Sedqi (USA)

I exchanged my 85mm GM with this beautiful compact lens to fit with my A7C Note: the GM 85mm is amazing. Thanks sony I am waiting the Version 2 of 85mm GM

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens with great sharpness

SEL85F18 04 March 2021 by Dp_uk_ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this lens a few weeks and been really impressed with it. The lens is a nice weight and easy to use, I really like the af mf switch which I use alot and the programmable lens button which is great because you can change the button to work how you want it to. Mine is set to get focus which is my favorite use for it. The image quality is excellent im seriously impressed with it. For the price I didn't expect the lens to perform as good as it has even wide open at F1.8 the lens is sharp but stopped down to F4 its razor sharp. The bokeh is nice but for me bokeh is really subjective and not something I put huge amounts of stock into. I've used the lens for a lot of video work as well and its sharpness is excellent and it focuses very quickly on the subject and its quiet when in use so a great lens for video. I use this lens on my A7iii

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great Lens

SEL85F18 05 February 2021 by Jet57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This 85mm Sony lens used on my A7Rlll is a great partnership, sharp and fast, definite thumbs up for this Sony-branded lens more than happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love the bokeh

SEL85F18 SYX 30 January 2021 by Joseph2020 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The easiest way to created creative photo is to make use of bokeh and this lens is the perfect tool for it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

OK, not good, not great. Pronounced CA.

SEL85F18 22 January 2021 by Beavermoon (USA)

I wanted to like this lens as I own several other Sony lenses, but the 85mm 1.8 just fell short of being good on several fronts. First, there were two large dust specs inside the lens that I noticed the first time I mounted the lens (Quality Control?). Second, the Chromatic Aboration was excessive when shooting anything with a silver-tone next to a dark background or any dark item with sharp lines. Third, when shooting F2.8 or below, the sharpness drops heavy just outside the center, and vignetting is heavier than I expected. For these reasons, I returned the lens. The camera store was understanding and took it back without a problem. I put the money toward a different lens.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing

SEL85F18 21 January 2021 by Marlowejr (USA)

The first photo was amazing, I looked at the lease and said were gonna be close friends.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb for the price

SEL85F18 11 January 2021 by Indeclin3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fabulous lens for the 500£ paid. I am a new user of mirrorless/dslr camera. I was oscillating between the 50mm 1.8f and 85mm 1.8f. I have decided to go with the 85mm as it "forces" you to move and find the composition that you need. I use this lens for portraits and broll (any subject basically). I recommend this lens as it has a very fast autofocus, a fast aperture and you will get a very nice blurred background when wide open. I use this lens on the a7c body. Great combo!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very sharp and lightweight

SEL85F18 SYX 10 January 2021 by Allrock3000 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this lens for its sharpness and weight, its easy to walk around without hurting your back

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My new favourite

SEL85F18 02 January 2021 by Cs00 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had it for a little over a month and it’s not left my camera. So stoked with its ability. Incredible value for money!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Amazing!

SEL85F18 07 November 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Finally after long research I've got my 1st lens and I couldn't be happier. Paired with Sony a7iii these two work amazingly together. Very sharp picture quality with aperture of f1.8-f22. 85mm is mostly recommended for portraits but this won't stop you from taking some amazing pictures. This will give you great distance in street photography and you won't need to come awkwardly close to your subject. If you're a new into photography it could be challenging to get used to camera and this lens itself but after couple of days you will get good feeling and handle of it. Build quality is high and sturdy and everything works really smooth.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Excellent size to use with my Alpha 7C

SEL85F18 05 November 2020 by James in Weston (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been using this lens as my prime for street photography the past week, and it does the job very well. Nice button on barrel of lens that I use as custom (Eye AF)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Sony 85mm f1.8

SEL85F18 22 October 2020 by Dev JETHWA (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great image Quality super sharp Portraits very light weight absolutely loving this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Cheap and good!

SEL85F18 SYX 27 September 2020 by JYTan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this around 3 months ago. It has no G, GM or Zeiss mark. Therefore, the price is more affordable. And yet optic quality is quite good. Wish there is an aperture ring too.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good landscape lens

SEL85F18 04 September 2020 by CaptainK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you are looking for a good portrait or landscape lens, then this could be an obvious choice

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Brilliant portrait lens!

SEL85F18 12 August 2020 by James NS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant portrait lens Brilliant portrait lens Brilliant portrait lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Blown away

SEL85F18 25 July 2020 by Cinema Donut (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it a couple of weeks ago, and it just keeps blowing me away. I did a photo shoot recently and also did some interiors, and oh boy I have never been more hyped about doing photos than now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Sharp

SEL85F18 24 May 2020 by Grumpy 007 (United Kingdom)

This lens is sharp and focus is fast and spot on the DOF is out of this world. a really good lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Works superbly

SEL85F18 27 February 2020 by Maurrro (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love using this lens at wide open fabulous feel and superb quality at an excellent price

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Incredibly sharp

SEL85F18 SYX 26 February 2020  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it this month. Excellent lens. Ease of use. The sharpness at 1.8f at min focus length... is a wow factor. Focus is fast and smooth. Love the lens

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SOLID BEAST

SEL85F18 SYX 17 February 2020 by Dyzawa (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony FE 85 is my bread and butter and i could not be so happy after purchasing it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent portrait lens

SEL85F18 09 February 2020 by PFL01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent portrait lens for reasonable cost. Very sharp images and good bokeh

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fast AF, very sharp and good value for money

SEL85F18 SYX 02 February 2020 by bharathgh (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really sharp lens. AF with my A7R2 is really fast. I use it primarily to photograph my kid and it does a great job. Eye AF works great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp, fast and stealthy!

SEL85F18 01 February 2020 by imacdaddytony (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the lens for one month now. Primary use is shooting high school indoor sports. Focus is quick, silent, good tracking, nice build and image quality is nice. I am pleased with the lens performance on my A9.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great lens for the price

SEL85F18 SYX 29 January 2020 by mcrksman (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens for the price. Sharp and light. Good for portraits

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

First play!

SEL85F18 15 January 2020 by Doubled58 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this late Nov as Christmas present to myself. Thank you Santa! So far it is providing very sharp photos covering varying subjects. Might end up being my fav lens which I now have 3 off.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

light weight

SEL85F18 15 January 2020  (United Kingdom)

purchased for portrait photos and am happy with the results

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great value lens

SEL85F18 SYX 08 January 2020 by A Rahim (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The lens focuses fast and accurately and good value for the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

85mm f/1.8

SEL85F18 SYX 08 January 2020  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought this lens half a year ago and it is creating stunning images for both my own collections & customers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super sharp, super fast.

SEL85F18 19 December 2019 by Dotingdad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens and excellent value for the money. I’ve used a lot of portrait lenses over the years and this is one of the best.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sharp and fast lens

SEL85F18 16 December 2019 by bilalm (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Extremely sharp and fast! I’ve gotten my best pictures with this lens probably. Produces a really nice bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Razor sharp

SEL85F18 30 September 2019 by Geotzen (United Kingdom)

Bought this lens after reading various reviews for 85mm category. Did not want to spend a fortune so this lens had the best price/quality ratio for my budget. I'm extremely pleased with image quality. Also AF, build quality, and overall feeling are great. Highly recommend!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Amazing light weight lens.

SEL85F18 14 September 2019 by Dommy the tommy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had several fast lenses in my time but this lens is a true winner IMHO. Sharp everywhere, super fast focus and light enough to hold and use all day long. My results are astounding and beyond expectations. We'll done Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Portrait Lens

SEL85F18 SYX 07 September 2019 by W C Tan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The prime 85mm lens is considered optimal focal length for portrait and head shots. This 1.8mm lens is light weight, the optical quality and field depth do not disappoint given the lower price than f1.4 GM version as shown on the below images taken at night time under indoor lighting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect balance & sharp images

SEL85F18 31 August 2019 by Pauls Studio (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having bought the A7R3 with the kit lense 24-105 F4 I wanted a prime with a wider apreture and this F1.4 is such good vaule and had excellant reviews. it balances nicely with the camera and is super sharp and bright

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

7

0

Amazing quality at budget cost

SEL85F18 29 August 2019 by Sunflower_pics (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is best for portrait photography and outdoor photography. There is no other option available at this prices yet. Loved it's sharpness, bokeh and smoothness. Weight and grip is a good for handling.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens!

SEL85F18 SYX 26 August 2019 by ringme5am (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the depth of field this lens gives. great for photos and videos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

OUTSTANDING Len for its price-point

SEL85F18 SYX 18 August 2019 by WayneLLC (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have bought this Len just about 3 weeks ago and it has been my go-to Len due to its form factor / weight and how accurate and interesting it renders an imagery. The shots were just so sharp with buttery bokeh and very quick to focus that it is so intriguing how much this costed. This may be a similar purchase consideration for some of you out there... As a trinity GM owner, I did find myself pondering back and forth, if I should buy this since I already have 85mm covered and primarily I don't exactly do portrait (being a Landscape-first guy) - But i am really glad to have push through with the purchase. The aforementioned merits of the Len really made me a very happy shooter and has renewed my creativity-flow.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best image quality

SEL85F18 20 July 2019 by ClydeA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ive been using this for almost a year. Its the best on the market in terms of image quality and AF. Just 4 stars because compared to other brands, this is almost twice the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Poor quality

SEL85F18 18 July 2019 by Alexg8254 (USA)

I purchased this lens 1 year ago and all of a sudden stop working not focusing, wasn’t drop or anything it looks like new for it not to work very disappointed.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

8

0

A perfect portrait lens

SEL85F18 17 July 2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A truly excellent lens for the price, cannot find any negatives with image or build quality, even shooting wide open at f1.8.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Lightweight & Excellent optics

SEL85F18 SYX 11 July 2019 by _rnzw_ (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens for its weight and although it is not in the Zeiss or G-master range, the optics is still excellent. It gives me a nice reproduction of sharpness that I am looking for. It is a value for money lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent sharpness

SEL85F18 SYX 10 July 2019 by MavWee (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this recently, and cannot be amazed enough with the sharpness and the compactness of the lens as well as fast and accurate AF. Given the price, it is really value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great bokeh!

SEL85F18 SYX 09 July 2019  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this last month and i'm in love with it. My pictures are super sharp and produce a very nice bokeh. Really recommended for portraiture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent !!!!

SEL85F18 08 July 2019 by ljcolina (USA)

I'm very happy with this lens, is excellent I love !!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great affordable prime

SEL85F18 28 June 2019 by G4RKO (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with lens........ ..... .........

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Excellent Portrait lens

SEL85F18 24 June 2019 by helendee1408 (United Kingdom)

Excellent lens with super results. Very pleased with this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features and value for money

SEL85F18 SYX 17 June 2019 by 85mm Value for money (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Couple with A7III with the price you pay, it is as good as it get compared to GM lens. Bokeh, sharpness and auto focus is excellent!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Lens

SEL85F18 SYX 09 June 2019 by J McG (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm really happy with the clarity and sharpness of this lens. It fits my needs exactly for the type of portraits I like to take. Especially Street and low light shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL85F18 08 June 2019 by Ty _dnb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this Lens a month ago when and I’m not dissatisfied. It’s incredibly sharp and works amazing with the eye af system

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great image quality

SEL85F18 07 June 2019 by PFJ59 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Moved to Sony from Nikon I was worried about image quality but blown away by the excellent images from this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens!

SEL85F18 03 June 2019 by RichC58 (United Kingdom)

Superb lens! Very sharp from 1.8 to 8. 1.8 has a very scary narrow depth of field naturally. I usually use it a couple of stops down. Bokeh is great, if thats what you crave. For the size its light and easy to carry. I find it very useful for isolating subjects at 5.6 and above. Little bit pricey for what it is, but far better value than the 1.4 with equal quality. Who needs 1.4 and for that matter, who needs 1.8, 2.8 would have been fine! Great lens! If portraits are your thing, buy it!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best portrait lens!

SEL85F18 21 May 2019 by MayaMo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The quality is absolutely amazing! This is the best lens for portrait photography!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Budget 85mm that’s on par with more expensive tier

SEL85F18 SYX 20 May 2019 by Kunioo (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not yet using the newly bought 85mm f/1.8 extensively. Autofocus is fast, images are sharp and get super sharp by 1 or 2 click stop down, bokeh is creamy and very good build quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features , value for money

SEL85F18 SYX 13 May 2019  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the focal length and speed of the lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing clarity

SEL85F18 12 May 2019 by Cameraman999 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had been using the 24-240 lens and enjoyed it but the 85 f1.8 is much lighter and so sharp with no colour aberration that I have experienced as yet. It is possibly not for vedeographers because the lens 'breathes' as it checks focus - but I bought it for still shots and it's excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Bokeh and fast auto focus

SEL85F18 11 May 2019 by Edgar25943 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Bokeh and fast auto focus. Fast and quiet, great for portraits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super Sharp

SEL85F18 04 May 2019 by Ben Jones (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens 3months ago after playing with it at the photography show and what can i say? The lens hasn't left my camera since buying it. it is incredibly sharp and the auto-focus is on point, even in low light situations. I couldn't be happier! Pros: Super sharp even wide open. a nice size on the a7iii focus hold button (i've assigned this to eye auto focus) build is great Cons: None really! minor issue is in the design of the focus hold button, I would like to see it on the lens twice so when using the camera in a vertical position you can still use your thumb. overall: excellent value for money for a fast super sharp prime lens. Well done Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great future

SEL85F18 01 May 2019 by Mila7 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bougth this lense for portraits and close up photography and happy with result. Reasonable price. Beautiful bokhen. Good for low light.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Good quality lens that delivers.

SEL85F18 07 April 2019 by Doclis (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the lense for photographing artwork, allowing myself to get behind the two soft boxes when shooting smaller pieces. I'm delighted with the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super sharp

SEL85F18 01 April 2019 by Redrsr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

To get the best out of the A7Riii sensor I decided on primes, this one is a cracker, super sharp, lovely bokeh, fast focusing, nothing to fault, looking at the f1.4 it’s a bit of a bargain

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens. Great price.

SEL85F18 31 March 2019 by Mpayne99 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve been using this lens for 4 months. It’s great in the studio and out in the field. Super sharp. Lightweight and lovely and sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Portrait Perfection

SEL85F18 30 March 2019 by Ajbrickyard (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

An excellent piece of glass and is a heavenly match with my a7iii!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

It’s so sharp and fast.

SEL85F18 24 March 2019 by Gigshots Peter (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wasn’t sure whether to get the 1.4 or the 1.8 but glad I saved the money. So far it’s doing an excellent job at low light music gigs for stills and video.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

More than worth the cost

SEL85F18 17 March 2019 by Azenturi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not to diss Sony's higher-end lenses, but for most people, this is a better idea than the 85mm G Master. It's unbelievably sharp wide open, only gets better as you stop down, it's light, it's small, and it's built solidly out of metal. Focus is super quick in bright light and acceptably fast in low light. Said focus also needs your ear literally pressed against the lens to hear it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Small form factor and very sharp

SEL85F18 SYX 17 March 2019 by juan2888 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the 85 1.8 and not the 85 1.4 GM from positive reviews around the world. Haven’t tried the 1.4 GM but am loving this lens. It’s super light weight and works a treat with my A7M3.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL85F18 11 March 2019 by Trubshot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is light, super sharp, lovely bokeh and on my A7iii 75% of the time, with a fe 35mm f2.8 in the pocket. Switch between full frame and apsc (super 35) and I'm covering 35, 52.5, 85 and 127.5mm with 2 primes. Ideal travel set up with great results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony FE 85mm F1.8

SEL85F18 SYX 28 February 2019 by Adry Azri (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

There is absolutely nothing negative to say about the Sony 85mm F/1.8 . It is a fantastic lens at a very reasonable Price. Sharp and lightweight lens overall i love it and looking forward to purchase another good lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0