118

4.3 based on 118 customer reviews

65
39
6
4
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Fantastic in every aspect

Body Only 07 October 2019 by ArturoN (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I decided to travel light. I'm a user of DSLRs .... and until now almost no small cameras could compete with the fast focusing of DSLRs. Well.... this small wonder can! Really top quality images and amazing fast and precise focusing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Autofocus doesn't work for selfies using timer

DSC-RX100M7G 31 December 2019 by Laicey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The 'unrivaled AF' doesn't apply to selfies taken using the timer function. When you walk to the camera to press the button on timer it'll focus on your hand not when it takes the picture. Continuous autofocus is of course disabled on timer and there seems no option to get the thing to focus when the picture is taken like if you just had someone press the button after 10 seconds. There are few remote shutter options for the M7 unless you want the complicated Sony one that is bigger than the camera. If you have someone pressing the button for you it's a good little camera with impressive autofucus. It guesses the scene wrong sometimes but that can be set in the options if it starts prefering the landscape to the model.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

4

0

118 Customer Reviews

0

Fantastic compact

DSC-RX100M7G 20 October 2021 by The Swan Lady (United Kingdom)

This little compact does a fantastic job of most photography genres. I love the telephoto lens that in this model v 7 is up to 200m. It also has a digital viewfinder which is perfect when the sun makes looking at the lcd screen difficult. It has many automatic functions that help the inexperienced photographer but these can also be turned off when you just want to do things manually. Both the still image and video quality can be tuned to the users needs and multiple connectivity options allow you to upload your content easily, if required. A great compact for walks, travel, wildlife and landscape needs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Too Small

DSC-RX100M7G 18 October 2021 by gt49 (United Kingdom)

When it first arrived I thought great, it will easily fit in my pocket though it is a bit heavy! However after a few months I find I can't really get on with it. There are too many buttons so for my fingers there is not enough room to properly distinguish between them so I'm for ever pressing the wrong button by accident or I have to look to cover the right button with my finger first. I then bought the hand grip GP-VPT2BT; this works OK but then you lose the convenience of carrying it in the pocket. I've given it to my wife, her hands are half the size of mine so she has no trouble operating it, I'll stick to my 7R. When you make something small you have to make it simpler to operate so there are fewer buttons to fit on the smaller space.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Reasonable performace but expensive compact camera

DSC-RX100M7G 14 October 2021 by Jonesthescience (United Kingdom)

Bought this a few months ago as a second camera for when I don’t want to take my DSLR. It’s easy to handle and I don’t feel that I need the extra handgrip but would have been nice to have it fitted. Battery life is poor and the menus almost impenetrable. Images get very noisy above ISO 1000 and is far more noticeable even at ISO 100 than my old Poweshot. AF is fast and very impressive but the lens doesn’t seem to make the most of AF lacking sharpness on distant objects. Out of camera JPEG are very good but you need post processing of RAW files to get the best out of the camera, esp noise reduction. The pop up evf is very useful in bright conditions and just about fully readable with glasses

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The camera I carry most often (besides my phone)

DSC-RX100M7G 14 October 2021 by Erich S (United Kingdom)

I bought this two years ago, upgrading from the version iii which was getting wonky (rebooting itself). I choose to shoot raw, which means I can't use super-intelligent mode. If only there were a simple way to switch. The camera is not that great in the dark -- my phone seems better. Close-ups are also difficult: many are blurry. There is probably a way to prevent the shutter snapping if it is not in focus, but I have not found it. Anyway, it doesn't get very close. My waterproof camera (Olympus Tough TG-5) takes much better close-ups, as does my Pixel 5. The camera is very hard to hold in my big hand without inadvertently touching something active. I have turned on video many times by mistake. On scene mode, I often lose the scene I want (usually sports) because I lightly graze the control ring. Very annoying. The touch screen is a pain for similar reasons. The version upgrade (3 to 7) picked telephoto over wide aperture. I do like the telephoto. But the poor performance in the dark is a drawback. I have taken to carrying this camera on big trips rather than my Nikon D810 and its array of lenses, which are a big commitment in size and weight.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

This is a fabulous camera

DSC-RX100M7G 13 October 2021 by Nadoligllawen (United Kingdom)

This is a fabulous everyday carry camera. I am a professional photograher and spend my days using full frame DSLRs with really heavy lenses. When I'm out and about this is my go to camera. I also use it to shoot B roll at weddings and events and it has performed perfectly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Splendid all round camera

DSC-RX100M7G 13 October 2021 by fbphotos (United Kingdom)

A brilliant camera for wide angle subjects and 200 mm fir slightly longer subjects eg. farm animals plus good portraits very pleased

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

Almost perfect travel companion

DSC-RX100M7G 13 October 2021 by miwilli65 (United Kingdom)

I've had this camera since April 2020. It was a replacement/upgrade for my RX100 (Mk. 1). The Mk. 7 is a truly great little camera. The extra 'reach' of the lens over the Mk. 1 means that many shots that would have been difficult with the Mk. 1 can now be easily taken. It is worth taking time to set it up for your personal needs and preferences (there are plenty of articles on the internet which help this). The only grumble that I've got is that the lens is unsealed and after a year or so of use I can see dust particles inside the lens. This has so far not impacted on image quality, but is a cause for concern. I imagine that the 'zoom-action' must have some sort of a 'bellows' effect, drawing dust in.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

It is almost too small

DSC-RX100M7G 13 October 2021 by roger2021 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a bit before lockdown for two purposes: trips abroad when I am traveling light, and photos of a grandchild, taking advantage of its autofocus capability. It is good as it is claimed to be for both of those purposes but lockdown put an end to travel, and I did not get to see the grandchild for over a year, so the camera was used much less than I expected. One feature I do not like is the way the viewfinder works. To hold a camera steady, I like to hold it firmly against my head (or glasses) but if you do that with this camera, it pushes the viewfinder in a little, so you cannot see through it properly. When the image looks blurred in the viewfinder, you have to hold it a bit further away from your face, and hence less firmly. As a result, I am less confident about holding this camera steady than I am about holding a more traditional camera with a rigid viewfinder. I also find I miss having more controls (I am spoiled by having a Sony A7R3). I have the dial round the lens set to adjust the exposure up or down as needed, which is very convenient, but ideally I would like it to be easier to adjust the aperture without changing the exposure. On the other hand, depth of field is so great, aperture is less of an issue than on a larger format camera. I would also like an easier way to move the focus point around the screen, so as a result, I leave it in Wide mode more than I would like. But despite these minor niggles, the camera does what it is designed to do extremely well and so long as you understand the inevitable limitations of such a tiny camera, I would certainly recommend it. I rarely use video so cannot comment on the sound quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fabulous small quality camera

DSC-RX100M7G 13 October 2021 by MikeNorfolk (United Kingdom)

This is a truly amazing camera with a perfect range of 24-200 lens for 90%+ photographic situations. Image quality is most times indistinguishable from my mirrorless camera making it the perfect go anywhere or travel camera. The menu is complex but that means you can have lots of individual control or customisation if wanted. Results on auto are nearly always perfect straight out of the camera requiring little tweaking. Overall a pocket miracle that produces very high quality images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small and light

Body Only 08 October 2021 by Oldmetan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very small and light and fit into pocket Its has reach better distance closer Flip screen at hip level shooting

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect camera all round performance

Body Only 03 October 2021 by philtaro (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought this camera as a webcam. As it has 1 inch sensor it performs much better than standard webcams. Even the sony iimaging Edge webcam feature works better than expected. Even with 575p it looks better than the 720p on laptop cam and 1080p from normal webcams. But to maximise the potentials i am using it with the clean HDMI output. With the zoom range i am able to capture at a much further distance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Not fool proof

DSC-RX100M7G 24 September 2021 by RX107 (United Kingdom)

I bought this for a family wedding, as I wanted a fool proof camera that would capture all the great moments without any effort. I wish I had experimented with it before. I read all the great reviews and sadly it just didn't hit the mark a lot of the time. I used the auto settings outside in daylight, but the focus was just a bit out on many shots. If I could go back I would use the S or A mode and set the ISO. Indoors the camera was really disappointing, results reminded me of my 110 film camera in the 1980's. Maybe once you get used to it, it's fine. I like the tiny size and it feels good quality, no plastic, but It's not £1200 worth.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great camera

DSC-RX100M7G 05 September 2021 by Barbara1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the camera but haven’t found out how to transfer photos onto my iPhone 6s yet. Instructions very poor

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Exceptionally valuable considering the small size

DSC-RX100M7G 14 August 2021 by Joerg730 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For a long time I was looking for a pocketable camera to bring along bike rides and mountaineering trips. Used to the fotographic feeling of a SLR, I hesitated a long time to look into this size camera. But now, I am happy I made the step; the results are truly astonishing; the autofocus is simply marvelous. Nothing more to say; can recommend to everybody looking for a lightwight but capable camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Being aged 92 I takes me time to work out the vari

DSC-RX100M7G 13 August 2021 by Web48d (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I feel there should be better instruction on how to Format the camera When I formatted the camera it did NOT delete the old pictures. Better instruction on the different uses of the various buttons could be useful

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Powerhouse in a small package

DSC-RX100M7G 20 July 2021 by Ha Nic (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The latest iteration of Sony’s wonderful RX100 the mark vii is the best yet. They have packed so much into such a small body it’s the perfect carry always camera from its burst mode with no blackout and continuous af to its 4k video. Highly recommended once again, well done Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic quality

DSC-RX100M7G 06 July 2021 by drchrismk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although I have really only tried this camera on its auto settings, the results I am getting are exceptional.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Advanced and Fully equipped

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 24 June 2021 by Atsu (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it 3 days back I tested and it’s working perfectly just need to check battery life because I am a Vlogger

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Powerhouse!

DSC-RX100M7G 22 June 2021 by cfg25 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded from M3 for extra focal length plus the eye AF to help capture images of granddaughter.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good allrounder

DSC-RX100M7G 01 June 2021 by moonshot1969 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this camera to replace my aging RX100m1. The new camera for me is easy to navigate and set up for shots. So far I have had some success at getting amazing snaps. of course to get that snap I may have taken 6 photos. I find the OLED view finder to be an outstanding tool for taking the shot and then view the taken picture. The view finder can also be set up for your vision. Yesterday I had the opportunity to use the slow mo and shoot a Midges swarm over a small brook @ 250fps and its a keeper. I also got a good moon shot setting the focus to manual and the ISO to 100. I'm looking forward to testing other features of the camera when the opportunity arises. Also I have been using the RX100 for years now and do not struggle with its ergonomics. The camera is so easy and convenient to use by the way it sits in your pocket to the way the view finder and zoom just pop out and are ready to go.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Reliable and useful tool

DSC-RX100M7G 26 May 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love this product, use it a lot and has been reliable and very useful. I had the original RX100I so this has been a great upgrade with the new features such as 4k, clean HDMI and audio input.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent camera

DSC-RX100M7G 16 May 2021 by Sunya (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Following extensive research I opted to buy this camera. Having used it on my daily hikes for two weeks, I’m really pleased with both the functionality and quality. My usual camera is a canon full frame but this little gem makes it so much easier when taking casual hikes and need to capture some shots. I like the fact that I have the option to shoot in RAW format. I would recommend this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Small, fabulous images, great zoom

DSC-RX100M7G 11 May 2021 by NorthreppsMike (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fits easily into a pocket but delivers outstanding quality images. The perfect camera for travel and everyday use with a great zoom and pretty good macro function. Image quality is very good allowing even more cropping opportunities. The auto function is reliable delivering great images easily. However you still have all the manual control ever needed for special projects or personal preference, if required you can even tweak the auto functions to suit your preferences. The menu is complex because of all the adjustments and controls but worth persevering to understand over time. Being a bit fiddly is fine by me because of the small truly pocketable size.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

soft lens-disappointing picture quality

Body Only 08 May 2021 by Todd D (USA)

I have owned several Sony camera products including the a6000, a6400, with different kit, G and Zeiss lenses, hx90v, hx80. All of these had their purpose and place with sharp results. Maybe I purchased a bad copy with a soft/unsharp lens? I was extremely disappointed with the overall sharpness and picture quality. The macro shots in particular were downright terrible for a camera at this price-point. My iphone doesn't zoom quite as far as the rx100-7 but takes better photos and is also a phone. With a 1" sensor and a small overall size I wasn't expecting full frame or dslr level but I have never been so disappointed with a camera.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

rx100 vii

Body Only 05 May 2021 by marco choi (USA)

too expensive, it is not worth to buy it, waiting for rx100viii

0

1

0

Great features and handling.

DSC-RX100M7G 01 May 2021 by Otty (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unable to continue using larger and heavier camera due to arthritic hands, the Sony RX100VII is ideal. It is a very well featured camera and size and weight suit me very well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A very good camera

DSC-RX100M7G 25 April 2021 by Michael Vout (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This appears to be an excellent camera with the ability to be creative

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Defect !

DSC-RX100M7G 19 April 2021 by WonkotheSane (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fine photos so far, but the shelflife of the batt is only about 2 days max, then it is discharged till zero. All memory-settings are erased and have to be renewed. So I had to return it and lost my rubber grip and my filter-ring which I fixed to the lens. What a pity about the final QC...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Sony RX 100 M7

DSC-RX100M7G 12 April 2021 by David 262 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera, and typical of the build quality you would expect from Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A Superb Little Camera!

DSC-RX100M7G 01 April 2021 by Chrissie28 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the RX100 III years ago on a reccomendation from a friend. Loved it , but always thought it could do with a better zoom. So when the VII came on the scene, I bought one! I'm still getting used to it but its a super camera. Image quality is great, viewfinder is a must for me and I'm getting the hang of the different functions (which I didn't bother with previously.) The touch function is great and something I didn't think I would use. It is pricey but I would say worth it. I have tried other compact cameras but the image quality lets them down. This one will go into a roomy coat pocket or I use a little bag that just goes over my shoulder without knowing it is there. I don't do video so can't comment on that but I understand that it's very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Almost Perfect Travel Camera

DSC-RX100M7G 15 March 2021 by Ashokab (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the features of the Rx 100 VII. Worth the Price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Camera

DSC-RX100M7G 10 February 2021 by Riggman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this camera for its quality photo’s in a little pocketable package. I have an SLR and a little Sony WRX but the image quality on this model is excellent. I recommend a good tutorial book to explain all its features though to get the best out of it. My only reason for giving 4 stars is l have had problems with video judder in 4K and HD at 25p through Play Memories Home, l have yet to get to the bottom of it, it may be my PC/Monitor or a setting. The only one that works without visible judder is 50p.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great for taking any where in your pocket.

DSC-RX100M7G 08 February 2021 by hube2171 (USA)

If you want to take pictures, but can not take a larger camera with you and you want more than a cell phone camera this is the one for you. It is has all the Sony features in it for HDR, panning or any picture you may want and it fits in your pocket. Being in your pocket meaning it can be with you Spring, Summer, Fall or Winter no matter were I go.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So nearly the perfect travel camera

DSC-RX100M7G 20 January 2021 by ARIXY (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've owned a RX100 V for some time and absolutely loved the quality of the images and the options available however it always seemed the zoom range was a bit limited and the lack of a microphone input was a real pain when shooting video. The RX100 VII has almost become my ideal travel camera in that it has both a much longer zoom range and a microphone input but, for some reason Sony has decided to take out the neutral density filter! Presumably it wouldn't fit with the longer zoom lens but it's a real shame. Fitting filters on the front of the lens is possible but far from ideal and shooting video without the neutral density in bright sun results in nasty-looking high shutter speed results. Until I find my ideal travel camera this one comes very close.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

The Always Camera

DSC-RX100M7G 18 January 2021 by Grif80128 (USA)

After reading the specs and reviews, I had to try the RX100M7! It has lived up to the hype! At last the perfect compliment to my a9ii, but in my pocket. Wherever I go, I have a good solid camera with me. Ready always. My only wish is the the cycle on time be shortened. Images are fantastic. So far all man held images have been sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great image quality from a very small camera.

DSC-RX100M7G 13 January 2021 by Daveo159 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been surprised how good the image quality is from the smaller sensor in the camera compared to my apps-c camera. The camera is small and light enough Ito be taken with me when I might leave my A77 at home. The lens is great, the auto focusing brilliant. The small size does work against it sometimes as I find it easy to knock the control ring and touch the screen making it focus when I don’t want it to and it is a complex camera with many options that a no jive user might find off putting. The GPS feature which I value works via your smart phone and I have found sometimes the camera and phone won’t reconnect without resetting the phone. This could be an issue with my phone of course (One plus 5) but it’s annoying. I wish Sony would go back to incorporating GPS in-camera as they did on my Sony A77.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

So much in a small package

DSC-RX100M7G 09 January 2021 by Nick82g (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After using this camera for a month I am so pleased with the results im getting. I think it will take a bit more time to master all the great possibilities this camera offers .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb - big features in a small box

DSC-RX100M7G 06 January 2021 by roydolan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a superb camera with many features found in a big DSLR is a small pocket sized camera. No need to carry a bag full of kit for most situations now and is so much smaller than the DSLR I would normally use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Powerful and Compact

DSC-RX100M7G 31 December 2020 by wonton (USA)

The SONY RX100 VII is a excellent little camera. This is my third irritation in the RX100 line. I’ve taken this to New York, and most recently Christmas in Michigan. The past several months we found an absolutely beauty of a spot for a series photo. The colors were amazing and the clarity from this little camera is absolutely amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Broke after less than 6 weeks

DSC-RX100M7G 21 December 2020 by DH123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera 6 weeks ago mainly for landscape and nature photography and action videography. Results were excellent for videos and not bad for photos but unfortunately the camera broke after 6 weeks which for a high end product is rather disappointing. I would have forgiven this if the repair experience with Sony was easy and hassle free but as it was anything but, it meant I have actually returned the camera for a refund and will not purchase a Sony product again. This may be an isolated incident but it was enough to put me off. I have spent MANY monies with canon over 20 years of photography purchases and never had any problems so will keep my business with them.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Compact with big features

DSC-RX100M7G 23 November 2020 by Smiler2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far I am impressed. Disappointed that there doesn’t appear to be focus bracketing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact and Easy to use camera

Body Only 31 October 2020  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a compact and easy to use camera. Great for travel and as a second companion camera to my dslr. Pictures and videos can be easily transferred wirelessly to a mobile app for editing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Camera for Travel

Body Only 28 October 2020 by waldyphoto (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the camera: the focus speed, sharpness of the less, dynamic range and color, viewfinder. I with it had a neutral density filter and and a bit of rubber material on the front of the right side of the camera for a bitter grip. This will be my travel and go-to camera when I don't want to carry anything heavier.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

What a great little powerhouse of a camera.

Body Only 17 October 2020 by RichF14 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I came from a Nikon d750 with a range of lenses from 24mm to 200mm. It got old lugging all that gear around. I wanted small but still something I could count on for great high quality images. So, I got me a Sony RX100 M7... I have had this camera now for 9mo. It takes a little getting used to and you need to spend some time with its feature set, which is enormous btw. If you do you will find a very capable camera. I am pleased with IQ and how very fast the camera is. It starts quickly, shoots fast i.e. NO shutter lag, the AF is very fast and spot on. I have spent a good amount of time with its features and how I want it set up. I highly advise people to utilize the memory recall feature and set the camera up for certain shooting situations. I have one for sports, portraits and landscapes. This took a bit of time but was actually enjoyable and well worth it. The camera's lens is fantastic, from 24mm to 200mm the images are sharp and clear. JPG's are the best I have seen from any camera. You don't buy this camera to just use it on auto, although it will give really great results, it's features are just to good to pass up. I urge anyone to spend a Sat. morning going through the manual and really getting to know it's features. The auto ISO is one I use 90% of the time now, something I never did with my DSLR. Overall I love the camera, it's size, it's weight.. it's so much nicer to haul around then 15lbs of DSLR gear.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

0

Stunning photos from a compact camera!!

Body Only 01 October 2020 by Knightrulz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Read all the reviews and decided to try it, I have not been disappointed by quality of videos and photos! Menu’s could use a bit of cleaning up but it has everything you could want!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Suits my photographic output - walkabout!

DSC-RX100M7G 22 September 2020 by monkey snapper (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

An amazingly specified small portable camera that suits my walk-about photography. The array of menus and navigation within them is a trifle baffling but the picture quality and camera build and features are superb. It suits what I do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Very versatile camera.

DSC-RX100M7G 23 August 2020 by misery guts (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned this camera for a week, there was a delay in its delivery and consequently it has very little use so far but it certainly a very capable tool. I am less than impressed by the overall package however; there is noo proper grip provided, it has to be bought separately, the flimsy carrying envelope which was packed with it is a waste of space and I think a decent set of instructions should be proveded; asking the purchaser of this expensive camera to print 630 odd pages smacks of penny pinching. The charging cable is woefully short. For just another few pounds all thes miserly omissions could have been supplied, making the purchase a joy rather than leaving this customer feeling somewhat ripped off. Anyway, the camera itself is a delight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

3

0

Great camera.

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 21 August 2020 by _QHQ_ (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Maybe the best compact camera now. The focus length covers the most useful range. The quality of the image is good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Ideal travel/pocket camera that packs a punch

DSC-RX100M7G 19 August 2020 by WacWac (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The vii is a very capable camera whether you are a beginner wanting point and shoot or more advanced control through the various functions on offer. Picture quality is good and has exceptional auto focus capabilities. I’ve previously had SLRs (old school) and super zoom bridge cameras all of which require large carrying cases and for the SLR extra lenses. This camera is compact and fits in the pocket and is capable of macro pictures, wide angle and 8x optical zoom - did I mention it fits in your pocket! The digital zoom pictures are also very acceptable. I originally upgraded from a bridge camera to the rx100 v and was very impressed with the picture quality and versatility of that model. Having the camera for 2 years I always yearned for a better zoom capability. Finally I took the plunge and upgraded to the vii for the 8x optical zoom but had to compromise on the lens speed. This isn’t too much of an issue as the iso range of the camera helps compensate for the slower lens. The auto focus performance and touch screen were both additional benefits in the vii. I’ve had the camera for over a month and torn between the two (v and vii). I’ve taken similar images with the vii and and in certain circumstances the v took better images due to the faster lens; I take a lot of night shots. I’d definitely recommend both, especially if you are upgrading from a smaller image sensor, but bear in mind what you want to takes pictures of. Overall the zoom lens, improved auto focus and touch screen make the vii the all round, versatile compact camera. Note: Attached pictures have been compressed to fit the 5mb limit. Should provide a great view though of the quality.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

13

5

0

FANTASTIC CAMERA BUT.....

DSC-RX100M7G 18 August 2020 by BrianAAA (United Kingdom)

I bought the original RX100 a few years ago.... Great stills but so so video. The Mk7 soots truly fantastic stills and amazingly high quality video....... immensely impressed and nought the bluetooth shooting grip as well. Very happy indeed until....... After 2.5 of taking great photos and video I turned it on and....... Nothing. Completely dead........ investigated possible solutions online to no avail. I bought from John Lewis in the UK and communication with them about repair of replacement has been appalling..... Very disappointed with John Lewis and disappointing to be without a camera that was truly superb....... I will keep trying to get through to John Lewis or will put on a mask and take it to their nearest store Despite the camera dying on me I think I just got a strange problem and would still highly recommend it...... but not from the store I purchased from....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

Many features

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 16 August 2020 by Tang Empire (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

everything except you need a shake handle to hold it steady

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Dropped 3 x times

DSC-RX100M7G 12 August 2020 by adamfromayr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sent it back as o kept dropping it, its very slippy and small! If you can handle it! its a brilliant small camera but its too small and slippery for my needs

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

12

0

Awesome Camera!

Body Only 09 August 2020 by A Moment In Time (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Spent four hours getting acquainted. Shot some the next day. Super!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

wonder camera !

Body Only 27 July 2020 by satindarpal (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Getting to know the camera, Would like hard copy manual ! Please !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

3

0

Everything you need in a small package

DSC-RX100M7G 09 July 2020 by Mane1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a week ago so it's early days. I decided that owning a lot of expensive heavy gear that stayed at home most of the time was pointless, whereas this camera can be always with me, so I never need to miss a shot. It packs a terrific lot of technology into a small package, but at a cost. Nevertheless it's still cheaper than buying a body and zoom lenses. Early experience is that the Af works great and the camera features are really useful, once you have learned how to navigate the menu. Image results have been good so far and I got some great shots that I might have otherwise missed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

7

2

0

Just amazing!

DSC-RX100M7G 27 June 2020 by BastonZ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Small, beautiful, featureful, AF like nothing else! A delight to hold in the pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Very Good Compact Camera

DSC-RX100M7G 17 June 2020 by Brads1980 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this product for travel and to replace my ageing Sony A77 so that i wouldn't have the burden to haul multiple lenses around. The RX100M7 is extremely well built, and features comprehensive and extensive. The focus is extremely fast and never misses, the colours are brilliant and i get tack sharp images time and time again. My only complaint is for the money that this costs Sony didn't include a manual in the box. I know i can view it online, but its nice to have a paper copy, also flicking through an online manual is time consuming and lengthy process.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

2

0

Small, Light, with great Capabilities

DSC-RX100M7G 17 June 2020 by GilliB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received this from my husband for my birthday. I knew I wouldn’t carry heavy lenses and bags around, so it had to be the size of a point & shoot, with capability to grow with my own. This product came highly recommended by experienced photographers

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Nice camera, limited windows support

Body Only 31 May 2020 by ThisGuyIKnow (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

They ended support for their raw codec in windows. This is a huge negative to me. Sad I purchased this camera now since it's now several extra steps to view the photos I took.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

7

0

Sony ARW file format Poor

Body Only 30 May 2020 by NEARACTOR (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the camera primarily because of the RAW capture feature. Found the Sony ARW file format difficult to convert.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

4

0

Excellent camera

Body Only 30 May 2020 by TommyJames (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had the RX100M4 and this is an upgrade. I used the M4 for three years and loved it and now I'm thrilled to add this. I love everything about the camera and because of the small size, I use it frequently. It's far more practical than carrying a large camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

0

the best quality camera made

DSC-RX100M7G 29 May 2020 by leezza (USA)

I bought this as soon as it came out and I love it. I really wanted to try the new Sony ZV-1 but they are all ran out and the RX100 took some of my money. I'm not complaining. I do recommend this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

AF!!

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 02 May 2020 by Camera Gal (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my fifth Sony RX100 and the best one yet!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Compact quality

DSC-RX100M7G 15 April 2020 by Notpiks (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given this for my birthday because I take photos for a walking group. Unfortunately because of lock down I have not been out as usual but I am trying to get used to the cameras myriad of features. The build quality is amazing. I did want a small camera “all in one” which it is but the small size takes getting used to after big cameras. Just what I need for climbing styles and muddy fields! Still great quality photos

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

7

4

0

Great camera and video device for travelling

DSC-RX100M7G 04 April 2020 by Stephent122 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as an upgrade to the WX500. I wanted a camera I could take on holiday which allowed me to take great pictures and video. This will do that. However, the Covid-19 outbreak is keeping me at home and I haven't yet had a chance to go through all it's features. I love the quick autofocus and the optical zoom. The new microphone jack means I can record good audio without as much win noise through an external microphone. I have recorded a short video as part of teaching amateur radio and it worked well. The big downside is price. It really is a lot a money. I am hoping to have it for years but technology does move quickly so I wonder if it is value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

Fab Features and Pics

DSC-RX100M7G 31 March 2020 by Oxford Cherry (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I researched long and hard before buying the Mark 7. I was look in g for a DSLR quality camera without the need to carry round loads of lenses when on holiday. The Mark 7 is very good at most things I was looking for, ease of use, battery life, sharp images and compact. 4K video is great, the hinged view panel is really good, shame it’s not ‘touch pad’. Some say it’s small size makes it difficult to hold; I don’t have any issues with this but have recently bought the Sony handle and small tripod. Although this is £100ish it’s well worth it and makes use even better. Great camera, I love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4

0

Quality product,great pictures/video

DSC-RX100M7G 30 March 2020 by IP11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only negative is the 5 minute limit on 4K video recording,everything else is great for such a small camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

8

0

Great Autofocus and Powerful for the size

DSC-RX100M7G 18 March 2020 by Birchy2000 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this camera for it’s compact size, great features and its 1” sensor. I intend to put it in a waterproof housing for scuba diving. So far I’m really happy with it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

The MENU is still a jump around system

Body Only 16 March 2020 by TC3444 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had a RX100M1 from when they came out and enjoyed it because of it's size and picture quality. My wife has heard me say I would like a tilt screen and a viewfinder so for Christmas I got the RX100M7. I did not think Sony could make their menu system any more complicated but I was wrong. The picture quality I'm still not sure of. Still like the size. I would recommend the camera to a friend because of size and lens but price and menu would be a hard sell.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

3

0

Professional camera in compact size

Body Only 26 February 2020 by huiming (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Effortless photo taking experience, dependable AF and beautiful image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0