546

4.3 based on 546 customer reviews

301
162
38
21
24
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera, Reasonable Price

DSCW830 02 October 2014 by EdMac (USA)

Picked up this camera when we accidently left our primary camera at home. Camera has proven to take great pictures and videos. Compact size is a plus - easy to carry in the supplied carrying case. Light weight and buttons are easy to press (even with my big fingers!). Battery life is long (we bought a spare battery but never have had to use it). The battery charging time was short. Wish the USB cord (for charging or pic transfer) was longer. The online manual is ok but would have been nice to have a printed one when we first got it as a quick reference; however, the camera's controls and on-screen menu are fairly intuitive and the learning curve was short. The included 8 gig memory card had plenty of space for all our pics. Wanted a black case but store only had silver - no big deal. My only issue is with the Sony online photo/video editing software. Not very user friendly or intuitive but I'm using other software until I figure it out.

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

UNFORTUNATELY, DISSAPOINTED

DSCW830 29 September 2014  (USA)

I was very excited when I first got this camera. I set it up right away, took some pics around the house and out at the park to test it out. Seemed to work fine. Couldn't wait to use it on our summer vacation, which was actually why we'd bought it for in the first place. But, when the moment of truth came it was definately not what I expected. Doesn't capture movement any better. Although, it does capture nice pics when you're out in broad daylight. Nonetheless, at someplaces, like at the aquarium the pics came out dark (eventhough the flash was on) and also, very out of focus. I felt it let me down, I was unable to take good-looking pics of the shark tank...that was a real bummer. Another thing about the camera is that when I'm looking at the pics I've taken this message appears on a blue screen "cannot display file" for some pics. Eventhough when I hook it up to the computer all the pics are in fact in the card. I also have to say that I used to have another model of a sony camera and it had a lot of the same issues. I went ahead with Sony once again because I liked to believe it's a brand I could trust. It's all very dissappointing

7

0

546 Customer Reviews

0

Great camera features

DSC-W830 14 August 2019  (United Kingdom)

I brought the camera three days ago and glad I did

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

CHEAP, EASY TO USE.

DSC-W830 11 August 2019 by alxcaz (United Kingdom)

Camera is very easy to use, feels a bit flimsy, but does what i want, it's small and compact, with a good battery life, and it's easy to transfer photos to my PC for editing, and saving or printing.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Cannot recommend

DSC-W830 09 August 2019 by Disappointed Dave (United Kingdom)

After a lot of research, I decided to purchase this camera. There was one negative review amongst loads of other very positive ones that I dismissed; however I wish that I had paid more attention to it. The main reason that I cannot recommend this camera is that, when taking a picture, an image preview appears on the screen, which is useful if required. However, you cannot switch this function off. I have consulted with Sony, and they agree that the image preview cannot be switched off. In reality therefore, it means that from taking one picture to being ready to take the next one takes around 5 seconds, and there is nothing you can do about it. If you want to take lots of pictures quickly, you can't basically, and can miss important moments. It is really annoying and frustrating. Why is it on a mobile phone you can take say, 3 pictures a second, and on a dedicated camera of the quality of Sony, you can't. I also don't recommend it because the auto focus takes a while and is a bit hit and miss, and the on/off button is very fiddly, and again if you want to take a picture quickly, I have lost valuable time or the moment fiddling around trying to turn it on. Whilst the quality of the pictures is good, for the really frustrating points I've mentioned above, I without doubt cannot recommend this camera. I should have paid more attention to the negative review I read, which basically said the same as I have done.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

SONY W830

DSC-W830 01 August 2019 by LeymoorTerrier (United Kingdom)

After my 'Canon PowerShot 470' finally gave up the ghost, I thought I'd give this one a try. It's a bit 'fiddly' small for my ageing fingers, but, like everything else electronic, quite powerful. I like the panorama feature, good for covering my bowling green!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Ok for the price

DSC-W830 29 July 2019 by RayH10 (United Kingdom)

It's not a bad camera. In certain conditions it's quite good. You have to play around with the settings to get a decent shot. Would be nice if you could use one setting for general picture taking. I'm not an expert but I do expect a decent picture when you zoom in. Don't like the power button, would prefer it to protrude a bit more. However on a plus side, a fairly decent camera

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Best value for the money.

DSCW830 28 July 2019 by fish catcher (USA)

Great picture and video quality for the money you just can't beat it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy Assemble

DSCW830 14 July 2019 by Rose1306 (USA)

I was looking for an affordable, small, easy to use camera to travel with, although I have not used it yet, I can tell you, for a non-tech person, it was easy to assemble. I will write again after using on my trip.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

colour quality

DSC-W830 13 July 2019 by Terry 5 (United Kingdom)

my only disappointment was the too brief instruction booklet, and particvularly the brevity re connection to my laptop.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

poor instructions/directions

DSCW830B 08 July 2019 by raydoe (USA)

i bought camera as a simple point and shoot. followed instructions to copy on play memories-after 4 calls to sony i still cant share pictures . i cant recommend a product which your own people cant help me fix

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

quality photogrsphs excellent zoom capability

DSC-W830 03 July 2019 by clazh (United Kingdom)

Remarkable quality photos' the zoom capability is outstanding , the automatic mode is excellent , all this in such a small package.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact camera

DSC-W830 30 June 2019 by Patricia 68 (United Kingdom)

Camera good size, fits into my small handbag, so ready to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A Great Camera

DSCW830 29 June 2019 by DaylilyDawn (USA)

i bought this camera to replace my original DC-W560 that disappered from our car I love the picture quality it takes and the color balance is awesome. All in all I highly recommend this camera if you are in the market to buy one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Upgrade from the W530

DSC-W830 27 June 2019 by Bewildered Too (United Kingdom)

I purchased the W530 a number of years ago for survey work, Now I am travel and the W530 continued to be excellent then began to lose focus. The W830 appears to be advanced in features and I am looking forward to putting it thru its paces. I purchased this camera due to my complete satisfaction with the W530.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

dissapointed

DSCW830B 25 June 2019 by 1946rich (USA)

Can't download to computer instructions faulty no phone number to call for help

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

very good

DSC-W830 15 June 2019 by carchie016 (United Kingdom)

this is my 2nd one and it is grate... the camera is small, good quality image, and lite. would recomend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Classic

DSCW830 12 June 2019 by CKS75 (USA)

Sony's Cybershot range of cameras are a staple of reliable, simple and easy to use cameras that get the job done. They also do this in a compact manner (compared to its competitors) and the classsic styling make them age well. Overall a very good point-and-shoot camera that will last for years.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

I like it

DSC-W830 10 June 2019 by pingpong2019 (United Kingdom)

After years of using DSLR cameras I wanted something lightweight and compact for everyday use. It is easy to use and very lightweight compared to my heavy gear. I haven't had chance to use all the features yet but point and shoot is great.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great and user friendly features

DSCW830B 04 June 2019 by Sanddy (USA)

This was sent to me by warranty company to replace a camera that was stolen. Excellent choice.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good and Bad in Parts, like the Curate's Egg.

DSC-W830 29 May 2019 by CHLTN2 (United Kingdom)

On the whole its alright. The disadvantage is that the macro close up focus which is meant to be automatic, doesn't give sharp focus. I like its small compact size.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

compact easy to use

DSC-W830 28 May 2019 by lhw13 (United Kingdom)

the prouduct is compact light weight easy to carryin your hand bag. simple to use and produces great pictures but wished it had a touch screen or something different from arrow keys. good value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Super Easy to Use!

DSCW830 26 May 2019 by rooR (USA)

I am a beginner, yet have found this camera incredibly easy to operate. Already I am taking all kinds of pictures and am quickly learning how to use all the different features--everything is explained. And it's so compact and lightweight that I can carry it everywhere and spontaneously capture an image in a moments 'flash'. The zoom really zooms, and some of the close-ups ('some' because I, myself, am not as accurate as the camera) are amazingly detailed. The experience of using this camera is so much better than using a phone camera. I tried out other camera brands and chose this Sony. I'm so glad I did!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Survived One Of Worst Places -

DSCW830B 25 May 2019 by Lindell (USA)

Spent 16 days in The Amazon Jungle Rainforest, and The Very Hot Galapagos Islands. The Amazon is "Nasty", the hottest, most humid, rains constantly. I thought the camera would "conked-out". It didn't, worked just fine - but I almost didn't.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Good compact camera

DSC-W830 14 May 2019 by Keith6 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and its simple to use and I like the picture quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice little camera

DSC-W830 11 May 2019 by Starman1 (United Kingdom)

I bought this to take some quick snaps at a wedding I was attending and got some lovely pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Used for Blogging

DSC-W830/BC E32 08 May 2019 by Guwapo (Singapore)

We bought about a month ago. A bit disappointing that the unit didn't come with wifi. Competitors of the same price point offer such additional feature.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Neat and compact

DSC-W830 06 May 2019 by Old Biddy (United Kingdom)

Wannted a small compact camera that i could carry everywhere with me. This camera does this perfectly and it is easy to use and the results are wonderful

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-W830 05 May 2019 by blister (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace a 12 year old Sony camera that was worn out and it is better than the last one which was pretty good. To date the camera the camera is performing well and is producing sharp clear photos. Only gripe is that there is a bit of a lapse when the screen goes blank between pressing the button and the camera being ready for the next shot. But that be my unfamiliarity with all the settings. I've long been an admirer of Sony having bought a nine inch portable television in 1971. Sony went to the moon with Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin don't ya know. Tht's a pretty good recommendation

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My second one other W350

DSCW830B 27 April 2019 by Paatrick (USA)

Bought 6 months ago Had W 350 for 4-5 years and happy with it until I doped it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice camera

DSCW830 13 April 2019 by clarabell (USA)

Small and easy to carry with me for taking photos of special occasions at our retirement community.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

happy

DSC-W830 05 April 2019 by andyw1701 (United Kingdom)

very happy very pic,s good size to have in pocket easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent colour rendering

DSC-W830 04 April 2019 by RobbieX (United Kingdom)

Bought this because I like the look of the camera and it was 20MP. I read reviews and found that most people loved it. I tried it out and it's great. I've had several point and shooters but this one reproduces colours really accurately and produces great clear shots through its Zeiss lens. The image stabilization works great even at maximum zoom. I love the Intelligent Auto too. Great little shooter this one!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-W830 25 March 2019 by Fightfans (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera at the end of February after my Nikon stopped working, the quality of the photos and videos are excellent. I am delighted with this camera and would happily recommended it to my family and friends.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Handy little gadget

DSC-W830 21 March 2019 by Dijord (United Kingdom)

I got thus 2 weeks ago for my asian cruise holiday and I must say that it didnt disappoint. Excellent pictures and also an easy and convenient panoramic shoots too.Awesome.I also found the videoing very easy to do.Brilluant pics and videos.I had taken a panoramic shot in Vietnam and will be getting that printed to the largest size I can do.A light weight camera and fits in your pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So compact and full of features, I'm amazed.

DSC-W830 20 March 2019 by big eck984601 (United Kingdom)

Excellent compact camera, certainly does what is required.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W830 15 March 2019 by Hubbard (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera to go on holiday with. Fits easily into pocket very easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

looks good

DSC-W830 10 March 2019 by metoo68 (United Kingdom)

too early to say as haven't set up yet.... ok looks-wise

Design

Good

0

0