VLOG CAMERA ZV-1

Product Reviews

92

4.3 based on 92 customer reviews

58
17
8
3
6
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great vlogging and all-round compact camera

ZV-1 15 July 2020 by Fredrik (United Kingdom)

The Sony ZV-1 is a vlogging camera but that’s not all. Online reviews are full of praise for this compact video shooter that I have been lucky enough to test for a few days. It is a handy little device, slightly larger than the Sony RX-100VI if you are familiar with the RX series. A user of Sony cameras will find it a familiar experience, the menus are the same but there are some differences in hardware buttons compared with other compact models. There is for instance a ‘mode’ button to access shooting settings instead of the selector wheel on the top of the RX series. In its place is a large video trigger next to the shutter release and a C1 button for quick access to defocus the background, the latter which I found myself using a lot. The shortcut (C1) bokeh is not a software effect, it simply pushes the aperture to its max. The build quality is really good as always with Sony. The body is plastic but it does not feel inexpensive, instead it gives confidence that this compact shooter is built to withstand all kinds of tough handing to be able to capture all your amazing experiences. The screen can be flipped and closed with the screen facing the body of the camera, thus being protected from damage. If the screen is opened from this position it auto starts the camera, a feature that is useful for a quick launch to capture something instant. It is worth mentioning that I am not a professional photographer. I do mainly architectural photography for my work but photography is generally more of hobby. I have been testing the ZV-1 mounted on the new wireless shooting grip (Sony GP-VPT2BT) which I connected with the ZV-1. The set up was straight forward and easy. It can also be used with the smaller and wired shooting grip Sony VCT-SGR1. The connection for this is via the USB multi port on the right side of the camera. A benefit of not going with USB C is that older accessories (such as Sony VCT-SGR1) will fit. Other connections are a microphone input, a mini HDMI output and a multi-interface shoe on the top of the camera. At the bottom is the battery and SD card slot. When I first hit the movie recording button I was prompted that the inserted SD card had insufficient writing speed. The requirement being a SDXC Class 10 or UHS-I/UHS-II to get the optimum performance out of this camera. The ZV-1 does not have NFC so a connection for uploading to Imaging Edge Mobile app is done via QR code or direct input. What’s in the box. 1 Sony ZV-1 camera 1 Deadcat (microphone wind shield) attached via the multi interface shoe 1 Sony NP-BX1 1240mAh lithium ion battery 1 USB A to micro USB cable 1 instruction manual Features I found particularly useful are: The screen can be turned 180 degrees to be protected when not in use. Quick start by flipping out the screen (only when the screen is closed as above). The autofocus is superfast and follow a moving object with great accuracy. Bokeh mode (C1 button). At a press of a button the camera switches from sharp to a blurred background mode which is great for hobby photographers or inexperienced users, or for urgent moments when you do not have time to set the camera up. Grip. The camera has a right hand front grip and together with the non-metal matte finish body, the ZV-1 feels secure in your hand. 20.1MP Photography The camera produces sharp images with good colour accuracy and image depth. The auto focus performs really well and you can get really close for detailed macro shots. A great all-round compact camera that produces good skin tones and contrast. The camera has no built-in flash or electronic view finder. 4K Videography As this is camera is clearly aimed at a vlogging target group for showcasing products, evident by the quick access to the Product Showcase (C2) function, it must be said that it does that brilliantly. The Product Showcase function is triggered with a hardware button that shares its functionality with the delete button. It performs very well and changes focus in an instant from a face (eye tracking) to whatever is promoted closest to the lens. This function must be selected before recording commences and can not be switched while filming. Without the Product Showcase set to ON the camera will continue to focus on the face until both eyes are obscured or removed from view. The camera can be set for focus priority to a pre-registered face which is helpful where there are several people within the frame. Skin tone and smoothness are good and the microphone records voices well (indoors). The image stabilisation is on par with other products in this category. I found using a shooting grip helps stability and adds a bit of extra distance when recording self or promoting on the go.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good but overheats in 4k

ZV-1 09 October 2020 by Jhat (USA)

So for just carrying around its been great. It's light weight and shoots great footage. Unfortunately I'm having a ton of trouble with it shutting off while streaming and recording gameplay in 4k. Most times my daughter and I can get 25-30 minutes before it shuts off from overheating but just today we only got 20 minutes max. I'm considering returning the camera to purchase something different. I don't think I'd recommend the zv-1 as it isn't a cheap camera. Plus, I've changed the hi temp setting and other tips I've seen on youtube but they aren't working.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

92 Customer Reviews

0

Best Vlogging Camera for 2021

DCZV1/B 06 May 2021 by DaBlackapino (USA)

Bought this to Add to my Collection of 2 Panasonic Camera's I already Own and Love it so much I sold my Panasonic G7 and use this with both my a6400 and Panasonic G85. It's Simple to Use and Easy too understand.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact and powerful

ZV-1 05 May 2021 by FrankinSpain (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the ZV 1 as all round camera. It has all amore of the features I was looking for and is fairly easy to get used to. It's a workhorse that offers great quality although a thread on the lens for any add ons, filters or optical addintional lenses would have made it perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Really great for those inexperienced

ZV-1 05 May 2021 by Vandie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Honestly could not be happier as someone who is relatively inexperienced with cameras other than my phone, it didn't take long to get the videos settings to how I'd like it. I'm sure at some point I'll want to upgrade to something with interchangeable lenses but at this point in time, It has everything I could hope for. If recording for a vertical format, there is no vertical mount point. I'd recommend buying a "SmallRig" brand cage for the camera to solve that problem.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Price is great

ZV-1 26 April 2021 by juku1324 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Its good camera for the money..............................

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Just the best

ZV-1 21 April 2021 by ECHPEE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's an amazing camera. You just have to buy and see. Used it for studio headshots and was plown by the quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

My White Sony ZV1

ZV-1/WC E32 17 April 2021 by Lynn28881 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am enjoying the features of this camera. Very easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I like this camera Sony zv-1

ZV-1 15 April 2021 by Eli75 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had before the canon g7x mark iii but I was not happy. After change for zv-1, I have no problems with doing vlogging on my youtube channel. I love this camera so much.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

ZV1

ZV-1/BC UC2 14 April 2021 by Ella9119 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm very happy with my purchase!!!!!!!!!!! I recommend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

i love the f1.8 on this.

ZV-1/BC E32 14 April 2021 by InFrame (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I already own a few A6000s and A7ii. Was looking around and saw the ZV-1. Love the fact that it's light, and can shoot at F1.8 without having to carry additional lens around. Don't like the battery cover position though. Get's covered when you put on a tripod base.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love my camera!

ZV-1 08 April 2021 by LindyB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera about three weeks ago to step up my vlogging game. I love it! Still got to figure out all the features but I'm really impressed so far. I love that it's compact and I can carry it around in a small purse.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Battery Slot

ZV-1/BC E32 04 April 2021 by faiosman (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Camera 3 months ago overall specs is good but the battery slot somehow was tearing apart while changing another extra battery.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great little beast

ZV-1/BC E32 04 April 2021 by KKMMS (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great camera packed with features My only qualms is battery life

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

High quality

DCZV1/W 03 April 2021 by ÉCOUTE (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sadly the camera is over heating and shutting off automatically when streaming

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera

ZV-1/BC UC2 03 April 2021 by Shyz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love how quick I can focus on an object! Would recommend getting if you are a YouTuber

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy and compact

ZV-1/BC UC2 28 March 2021 by PollyFox (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

East to travel with and good quality the only thing it’s sometimes it gets too warm

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant camera

ZV-1 26 March 2021 by newvlogger (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this camera for a couple of weeks and am still learning all its functions. It seems user friendly and is very easy to use on the go. Very good quality build and overall I am very pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So light and small!

ZV-1 16 March 2021 by jLøk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this camera for a month now and my life has definitely improved since! I am using it every day and since it fits into my trouser's pockets, I can take it with me everywhere. I had to spend some time finding the right settings for me and customising the menu. I love the fact that it has a button for photos and one for video recording. That way, I never have to use the menu to change anything, really. Have used it for vlogging, music videos and casual photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best little pocket powerhouse

ZV-1 14 March 2021 by Super massive Simon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As an ex video professional I haven’t had any kit for many years now. So, to have such a great little all rounder in my pocket that can take great stills as well as usable project footage for the odd little gig here and there is super nice. The build quality is excellent and it’s just so cute I’m in love. The hot shoe is great and the lens shield is a bonus. Yeah, so you can’t swap lenses but for what I need now it’s perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pocket Rocket

ZV-1/BC E32 07 March 2021 by ohanasingapore (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really good for its size and price point. Who needs full frame when you have this? :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Worth it

ZV-1 03 March 2021 by Lets_Go_Rob (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera last month and have received so many positive comments about the increased quality of video ever since. This camera is so smart to use, lightweight but feels solid, great features, just so happy with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Haven’t been able to use it yet

ZV-1 21 February 2021 by SharonS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been struggling to set it up for vlogging- and so far haven’t found how to remove the annoying graphics off the screen. Instruction manual very poor.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

8

0

Nice video camera with RX100 power for photos too

ZV-1 04 February 2021 by ZV1er (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for making video clips for work... but it takes as good a photo as my RX100iv which I have now given to my wife as the images are just as good but the focus on the ZV1 is better!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

14

0

Love it so far!

ZV-1/BC UC2 03 February 2021 by Captjack671 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you’re on the fence - get off and get one. It does suck that you can’t monitor audio (no jack), but perhaps they can eventually include Bluetooth audio support in a future firmware update. This being said, I’ve learned to trust the audio both on the camera and with an external mic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Versatility, Ease of Use and a Vloggers Dream!

DCZV1/B 20 January 2021 by TampaCarGirl (USA)

Top choice for all new, rising and professional influencers! ! When I tell you the video quality is A1 it TRULY is! Personally, the type of content you like to shoot is primarily product reviews along with shooting a vlog of my life raising two special needs boys. An impressive feature which I use for "selfies" is the vari-angle LCD screen. Upgrades from my current camera are the two features of Automatic Exposure and Auto Focus settings. The video stabilizer that is built in is perfect for shaky hands. The personalized settings are amazing too like auto- focusing on products was a breeze and it auto adjusted to my face right after! Still shots look like I had an entire studio set up with the auto exposure it was perfect every time. Recording action moments are easy to slow down too. Allowing me to see each moment play by play at my friend’s wedding during cake cutting. No one wants to miss the quick moment of smashing cake on one another. The versatility that the VZ-1 has is all you every expected plus. It makes the transition of being behind the lens capturing moments to vlogging an easy switch. If you vlog/record often the accessory kit is a must! Holding the tripod/wireless remote with the contoured design makes balancing the camera easy. Aside from being a camera, video camera, video blogging camera this Sony Vlog camera is a professionals tool for their ‘toolbox’ when creating content or applying for campaigns and jobs. Highly recommend!

3

0

0

A true vloggers dream camera!

DCZV1/B 20 January 2021 by MandaJo1981 (USA)

This camera packs a punch in its compact size. I use this camera practically every day. My YouTube videos and vlogs are now so much better than before. I use it to shoot my product reviews, dream interpretations, and recipes. I get regular comments about the high quality and questions about what camera I use. I cannot wait to tell them it is the Sony ZV-1 and tell them all about it! The wind guard on the microphone is a special touch I like. Prior to this purchase, I filmed an outdoor video on a slightly breezy day. I was appalled at the quality of that recording sound due to the wind. But with the ZV-1 that is never an issue! One of the things that drew me to the ZV-1 is the flip-out vari-angle video screen. I wanted a quality camera that I could see the screen on while I am recording. There is nothing worse than recording a video and thinking you are in the frame only to realize you are not. This eliminates that issue all together. It has ports for an external microphone, HDMI, and a micro USB. This allows for a ton of versatility. You can use a micro USB cord to charge the camera or you can buy an optional battery charger. I even bought a couple of backup batteries to keep the footage flowing even on lengthy trips. I paired the ZV-1 with the shooting grip and I will never go back. This baby is super versatile. It lets me click record, snap a picture, zoom in, and more all while keeping the focus on me and not turning the camera around. This allows complete one-handed usage. In addition, it makes a great little on the go tripod too. All of this fits into a small case making it ultra-portable. I love my ZV-1!

2

0

0

ZV-1 Great for Personal Travel and Blog Documentat

DCZV1/W 17 January 2021 by Frank956 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased just after Christmas to take advantage of Sony special pricing. Purchased because of other positive reviews and I can say this is a great small almost "pocket" camera. Great features and extensive electronics for both photo and video imaging.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great quality photos and video, ideal for vlogging

ZV-1 16 January 2021 by KrissEll (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The quality of photo and video is superb. I never planned for this to replace my 4 year old Canon DSLR, as I only wanted a compact camera to add to my kit. That said, other than optical zoom, there beats it in every way. I primarily use this as a webcam and vlogging, but also take it on walks using the Crane M2 gimbal. All round excellent piece of kit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

The Choice for Most

ZV-1 13 January 2021 by Micboy (USA)

This was made for any sort of influencer who uses a camera. Great for those who don't know much of using one or is new to video making. Its great for vlogs, product reviews and especially streamers or those doing any sort of live video conferences for an extended amount of time. Also the best carry anywhere family trip camera. If there was anything id change or ask for, it would be to have a wider lens start 18mm the least.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

I’m absolutely in bloggers heaven

DCZV1/B 07 January 2021 by Heymaine (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve use this camera for months it wasn’t my own so I decided to purchase one and I absolutely love it. It’s very easy to use it’s lightweight and if it’s in my pocket

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very light, love the photos, user friendly

ZV-1/WC E32 03 January 2021 by Joi J (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Im happy with my purchase. Ive watched full video in YT about how the camera functions and feature works helps me a lot. I love how the photo taken, auto focus function and the 1 click C1,c2 button

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant Vlogging Camera!

ZV-1 26 December 2020 by cbegg1950 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had many compact cameras, with a main purpose of using for my Vlogging Channel, but the Sony ZV-1 surpasses them all! The autofocussing is superb and amazingly quick. The battery life could do with some improvement, but I have 3 in total, so its not a problem. Its excellent in low light, another thing us vloggers need from our cameras. The wind filter or ‘Dead Kitten’ with the Active SteadyShot will be very handy when we can start walking again. 4K video makes it easy to zoom in during editing if necessary.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Sony ZV-1 Camera Vlogger Kit

DCZV1/B 24 December 2020 by jjl88 (USA)

Sony ZV-1 camera is made for content creators to make good quality of videos. The size is perfect because my other cameras are too big and made me tired of dragging them everywhere. This is a good camera for everyone, because of the size but has all the cool features. It has a flip screen that you can watch yourself while recording a video. That is the most advance feature that a normal digital camera doesn’t have. GP-VPT2BT Shooting Grip is well made, sturdy, and very functional. It has the button for taking a photo and recording videos without touching the Camera. You can easily adjust the angle through the stands or the rolling button under where you attached the camera. I also love the color that matches pretty well with the camera. This is a great wireless tripod to use for any vloggers and content creators.

1

0

0

Vlogger's Best Friend

DCZV1/B 24 December 2020 by DaeSilva (USA)

My biggest complaint with the Sony ZV-1 is battery life. I wish they had used the same battery as the Alpha a6000 series cameras. Besides that gripe though, paired with the vlogging kit, this is quite a powerhouse vlogging camera especially if you don’t want to spend the money required for the Sony A7c. I love its portability, it can even fit in my pocket without the tripod/grip attached, let me say that again 4K video recording that fits in your pocket. The fact that Sony was able to build eye-tracking into such a small package is astounding and you still get the same amazing Sony picture quality, no wonder everyone uses Sony sensors. The portability and flip around screen make this camera perfect for vloggers, allowing you to easily see what the camera sees, whether shooting solo or with help. The microphone and windscreen do an adequate job of keeping wind noise down when you’re moving, but I wouldn’t trust it in very windy conditions. The product showcase setting is perfect for smaller e-commerce setups, making this an ideal unboxing or review camera when space is a concern. I haven’t tried the Bokeh setting, but there is a bokeh setting meaning you don’t need to spend a lot on an expensive lens to achieve similar results for the platforms that interest you unless of course, you want to. The ZV-1 like other Sony cameras can also be used as a webcam, and because of its size it is very well suited for this purpose, just download the software, plug in the USB change a couple of settings and you’re good to go. The bundled shooting grip pairs easily and provides an easy to control the camera when you’re creating content solo. All in all, this is content creators' dream camera, easy portability, outstanding picture quality, 4K shooting, webcam functionality, and the Sony ecosystem of camera tech. I’m definitely sold. I was able to purchase this camera at a discount in exchange for my honest review.

0

0

0

It's On Par With My Bigger DSLR's

ZV-1/BC E32 23 December 2020 by justicepao (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Originally bought it as a C Cam for overhead shots and for casual vlogging but it's slowly replacing my main rig. Excellent picture quality, even when shooting in 1080p with the lower 50MB bitrate. Two issues that came up when using this for more serious work: (1) Battery life isn't good at all, this chews up batteries really quickly! (2) There's no headphone monitoring and I can only check the audio levels visually on the screen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good so far

ZV-1 21 December 2020 by Dillincs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not been able to do much with this yet due to the world’s COVID situation! However seems a great camera. Pleased with how small, neat and light it is. Surprised it doesn’t come with a strap or even a basic case. There are so many settings, probably far more than I will ever use. Instructions for all the options are complex and can only be viewed online. I’m not so old-fashioned that I need a paper manual but a downloadable document would be good. Despite having all the up-to-date software etc I can’t get camera to link to my iPhone X though I’ve tried multiple times.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

4

0

Amazing Camera!!

DCZV1/B 17 December 2020 by CLehmann (USA)

This camera has exceeded all of my expectations! The compact design is great for on the go recording. The software that runs the camera is very versatile and the camera can be used for different applications! The out of box set up is ready to go for vloggers. I was able to change a few settings and use it for birthday party pictures and videos! this camera is awesome!! The movable screen on is perfect for all types of photography and videography. I use It for everything from work to personal life including vlogs for my family and HDR photography. The tripod handle makes it easy to switch from first person view to selfies in a blink of an eye!

0

0

0

Recording Vids and Blogs Made Easy

DCZV1/B 17 December 2020 by mdaniel428 (USA)

I was wanting to create a Youtube channel for all things Asian foods for cooking and reviewing products. We used the Sony ZV-1 to film our first video and it was fantastic. I was able to make panning in and out shot with ease as the camera automatically stabilized the shot. Even while moving the camera it kept the video steady and smooth. The auto focus kept clear the product I was reviewing. The grip was an excellent and necessary equipment to have in filming. I could use it as a tripod while I was handling and eating the product we were reviewing. When I need to move around the grip was comfortable to hold and I was able to get the angles I wanted for my shot. The grip also came with a micro SD card with plenty of memory to start filming straight away. I am very happy with the vari-angle lcd screen that folds out so I can see what I am filming as we are shooting. I was going to use my smartphone to start filming my new youtube channel, but this camera has replaced and will be the only camera I use. The size and weight makes it ideal to bring with me in travels. I will definitely be bringing this camera around everywhere when we are able to start travelling to Asia again.

0

0

0

Great compact device that does it all!

DCZV1/B 17 December 2020 by Vikarr7 (USA)

I received my camera and couldn’t wait to use it. Normally, I record my travels and family/lifestyle content, but unfortunately given the current world climate, the travel will have to wait. However, I know that for lifestyle content, the features this camera offers are fantastic and will help products stand out. I already have a vlogging camera from a popular brand that most gurus and vloggers use, and while I love it and its features, I was getting frustrated with how bulky and heavy it is. It’s almost akin to carrying around a DSLR all day, except it’s not supposed to be! A vlogging camera is supposed to be compact and easy to carry, while offering great shooting capabilities. Enter the Sony ZV-1. I was expecting it to be heavy and bulky, but it’s not, it’s actually pretty light and compact and fits easily into my hand. I was also shocked at the video quality, and the how easy it is to figure out. The Sony ZV-1 is perfect for those who are always creating, if you wanted to take it out of the box and start creating content, it’s a snap to figure it out. The camera does everything for you! Right out of the box, the only settings I had to configure were the location, date, and time. As soon as the camera was ready to go, everything else was already configured. Even the face detection was automatic. You can easily choose to have the background defocus option on or off, based on preference. You can also set the mode to "intelligent auto", which auto-identifies the scene and shoots accordingly, it can go from 'macro' to 'portrait' and even detect when you're walking. I also love the flip-screen feature and the fact that it flips to the side versus flipping up. I think this makes it much easier to hold on to, but that may be just a matter of personal preference. Battery life is pretty good, unless you are using the 4k feature, however I want to mention that this would be the case on most vlogging cameras, and even on phones. The 4k option if fairly new technology, therefore the tech is not there yet to allow for battery life to last forever. So if you intend to shoot in 4k, make sure to invest in a couple extra batteries and keep those charged and ready to go if you are recording on the go. All in all, I’ve very happy with the features of this camera and the tripod/grip that comes in the vlogger accessory kit that allows for stabilization. I can’t wait to further test it out during travels when everything in the world gets back to normal a little bit.

0

0

0

Great picture quality, some frustrations though

ZV-1 07 December 2020 by BobsVlog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Picture and video quality are excellent. Audio is pretty good for onboard mic. Frustrations: 1. Connecting to the computer via usb and using the ZV1 as a webcam through the usb is hit and miss. 2. The lack of touch screen for menu options is highly frustrating when using it in vlogging/selfie mode.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great compact camera with below-average battery

ZV-1/BC E32 07 December 2020 by anj002 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pros: Great features, i.e. product showcase, adjustable background (bokeh), beauty effect, and many more. Rotateable screen/monitor Compact and light weight Affordable price for this quality Cons: Battery is below average No headphone jack Grip is too small One SD card slot only

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Complicated

ZV-1/BC UC2 01 December 2020 by Joyfull (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far the camera has been very complicating for me on how to use it. It has so many different small buttons and different settings that it is a nightmare to learn how to use it.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

4

0

Avoid

ZV-1 25 November 2020 by Dadddaaaaaagg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this almost two weeks and it's not better than my phone. In fact I'd say my phone is better as it's smalle, lighter and is not just a camera. The only decent aspect is the auto focus but then that has it's crazy moment and completely ruins a shot. As for the grip that is so over priced it's a joke it's just a shutter on a tripod which you can get for £8 together on Amazon. Avoid like the plague. It is so shockingly bad it's would be funny except I'd paid almost £900 for the two

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

6

3

0

Facebook squish

ZV-1 22 November 2020  (USA)

I really wanted to love this camera but after a month of use the feed no linger works. It doesn’t matter if I’m on Facebook live or feeding it through Zoom to Facebook. The camera always squishes my face by a lot. I’ve tried everything and nothing is correcting it. I also cannot download videos direct to my Mac. It will not read the SD card from the camera. I have to physically remove the card and put it into a card reader on my Mac.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

6

0

It’s alright

DCZV1/B 02 November 2020 by Shey45 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the ZV-1 a month ago and cannot upload any videos to my phone or laptop

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

7

0

The best of both worlds: photos & movies

ZV-1 29 October 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My wife wanted to make videos of her historic tours of the medieval town we live in and I wanted to move on up from my Sony RX100 M2 model. The Sony ZV-1 has satisfied both our interests.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Easy to get great shots, but watch your batt

ZV-1 28 October 2020 by Vaybear (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is perfect for me and fulfils all my needs as a creator. I'm disappointed with the battery life however. It's such a big problem that I have to charge before and after usage every day.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Great pictures and videos and obvious weakness

ZV-1 20 October 2020 by wogo (USA)

I took pictures a videos with this camera for a couple of months. It is easy to carry with it's compact body. And the pictures and videos are so beautiful, even as good as many top range camera. The audio quality of build in mic phone is fantastic too. It included Sony the most lately technologies. But, It has some obvious weakness. Such as short battery working time. You can use it just for about 1.5-2 hours. The most terrible thing is overheated. If you keep the camera power on for about more than 20 minutes, It will more likely stop working because of over heating.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Excellent Camera for Vloggers and Filmmakers

DCZV1/B 16 October 2020 by hollywoodfrodo (USA)

This camera and vlogging kit was an upgrade for me from the consumer level Camcorder I've had for about 7-8 years. And what an upgrade it is! This tiny pocket sized camera has tons of high end professional features and settings, while staying consumer friendly for those who just want to point and shoot or who don't have a photography background. This camera is small. It's a full featured video camera capable of 4K HDR filming (as well as professional photography) but is the size of most standard point and shoot cameras. It's easy to carry around and grips easy in the hand. It has a nice LCD screen which is easy to read. The screen does not support touch controls except for choosing a focus subject. Otherwise, everything is controlled through the buttons on the back and top. Overall, I found the button placement to be great and found it easy to use them. There's a shoe mount on the top as well as 3 built in directional mics. The battery compartment is on the bottom next to the screw hole for mounting. It's a very nice design overall. What I really love about this camera is how easy it is to use without knowing everything about photography. It's a great camera to grow with for someone who wants to learn and is fully capable of professional cinematography. But it also has a great "intelligence" mode which basically lets the camera do all the thinking and deciding about settings for you so you can get a great footage every time without changing lots of settings. Two of the coolest features are the built in Product Showcase mode and Background Blur mode. Product showcase makes it so that the camera refocuses on something entering the frame closer to the lens super fast - so if I am reviewing a product and I hold it out towards the camera, it immediately refocuses for a close-up of the product. I could not do this with my old camera and this is an amazing feature! The background blur feature allows you to quickly switch between having the background clear or having it slightly blurred with a bokeh effect which is great for selfie vlogging. The ZV-1 also has great face smoothing feature which can help "beautify" you a bit - it has 3 levels to it so you can do just a little without getting crazy. The camera has 3 mics built into it and they are front facing directional mics meant for vlogging. It also has a MIC input so you can use a more professional mic or a lavalier mic if the built in mics aren't enough for you. Overall this is a GREAT video camera!

4

1

0

Nailed It with this Camera!!!

DCZV1/B 16 October 2020 by ShasiaBeauty (USA)

This Sony camera is a game changer! If you are looking for a camera that has all the bells and whistles but is easy to operate and has incredible quality. This is the one! I have had the pleasure of using this camera for just about everything! When I tell you the video quality is A1 it TRULY is! The video stabilizer that is built in is perfect for shaky hands. The personalized settings are amazing too like auto- focusing on products was a breeze and it auto adjusted to my face right after! Still shots look like I had an entire studio set up with the auto exposure it was perfect every time. Recording action moments are easy to slow down too. Allowing me to see each moment play by play at my friend’s wedding during cake cutting. No one wants to miss the quick moment of smashing cake on one another. The versatility that the VZ-1 has is all you every expected plus. It makes the transition of being behind the lens capturing moments to vlogging an easy switch. If you vlog/record often the accessory kit is a must! Holding the tripod/wireless remote with the contoured design makes balancing the camera easy. The tripod/wireless remote also has controls for zooming, snapping photos and recording. Simply Bluetooth connect it to the camera and boom. No need for any pesky cords. Plus, getting footage from the camera was easy too. I can send a photo to a friend’s phone, send to my computer, or retrieve from my memory card the old fashion way. I could not be happier. using this camera to take all of my photos for my shop and everything else.This newbie just became a pro with this camera, and I can not wait to capture special moments during the holidays to show the world. I truly feel with this camera I have a new lens on life.(Pun)

3

0

0

Best Camera for Vloggers and Reviewers

DCZV1/B 16 October 2020 by jimmyispromo (USA)

The size is perfect for really any shooting. Super light and has intelligent shooting modes for stills and video. I've used this for a week now and its about to become my main camera for my channel. My YouTube channel is a tech channel receiving over 2.5 million views a month. I shoot from top down or in front of me. Auto exposure is great, no need for corrections. The flip out screen is clutch. Always to the side of camera instead of just up or down. If you need to get a shot of Product, its product detection is fantastic but make sure its on a tripod. The battery does great for 4k recording but will also about 45 minutes. Great for most, but if you need more shooting time, grab an extra battery. Pros: lightweight, great quality for stills and video. Simple button for product shooting. Simple button for background blur. Cons: needs longer battery life for some. Needs wider lens since its mostly for vlogs and arms length away.

1

0

0

One of the best vlogging cameras of 2020

DCZV1/B 15 October 2020 by DheeR (USA)

I have a very famous vlogging camera from another brand and I tell you, the new Sony ZV 1 is waaaaaay better and I am so happy with it! Below are the pros of my new Sony camera: 1. It has a "my menu". You can customize your menus to your most used menu options so you won't dig into all the menus. 2. Its 4k! 3. The picture quality is the best even on 1080p. The color is accurate compared to the other vlogging camera I have. 4. "Defocus" and "product showcase" options are the bomb! Best for sit down videos and if you will be showing products while talking in front of the camera. 5. The focus on this camera is to rave for. 6. It has a built in ND filter. Lifesaver when vlogging outside under the sun. 7. It has a soft skin option better known as "beautification". A must for lady vloggers like me! 8. It has a mic jack input. You can use an external mic for a better audio quality though the Sony ZV1's audio is already good. 9. It has image stablization. Perfect when vlogging on the go. Nothing is perfect so here are the cons of the camera based on experience: 1. Not touch screen. Geez, its 2020 Sony! 2. No battery charger included. You can charge the battery through the USB cord but if you have 2 or more batteries, you need to purchase a separate battery charger. 3. It is hot to touch when you are using it for a while. I read that it is an issue with this camera. 4. 4k option and active stabilization crops the shots. Overall, I am very happy with this camera and it'll be my main vlogging cam from now on! Highly recommended for vloggers who are looking on getting a portable camera.

1

0

0

Great Vlogging Camera, Better than your Average Ph

DCZV1/B 15 October 2020 by Romeo985 (USA)

I was excited to have received the ZV-1 Sony Vlog Camera. I saved the first use for the day I went hiking on a trail. This is my experience: Setup was extremely easy after charging the camera up! Battery and sd card goes in the same access port. Wind screen and the bluetooth remote tripod can easily attach to camera. The bluetooth remote tripod accessory is worth praising in itself. Easy to maneuver, you can swivel it a full 360° and tilt it forward and backwards to a max 90° which is more than enough. Using the tripod, you can zoom in/out, record and take a photo. Conveniently enough, it has a provided lock function to prevent accidental touch. When attached to the ZV-1, with a grip weight of 7.6 oz., you don't feel the stress on your hand and arms even after carrying it for 2 hours during my hike. There are some great functions to the ZV-1 that one looks for in their vlogging experience. You have the LCD screen which allows you to see what you are recording which I can tell you is necessary. Another feature I find necessary is the soft screen effect. Especially since you're filming in 4K mode, you have to look good for the camera. My skin isn't perfect and this feature helps me not shy away from placing the camera too close to my face. Oh; and speaking of "close", we need to talk about the "Product Showcase" aspect of the ZV-1. This means the ability to focus on what the camera owner is trying to show its viewers. It is superb in this camera as it quickly focuses on the item I place closest to the lens in front of me. I tested this in the outdoors where there are many distractions in the background and it performed really well. This function will work great in product reviews. There are a lot of other functions, modes and setting one can adjust for their preference but as someone who has been mostly using a phone, it can be a bit complicated to understand. Luckily, it has an auto-intelligence mode that will adjust the picture/recording settings for you so you don't have to fret. I will learn to understand the technicalities as I go on. Another note to takeaway from my experience is about the battery life. After a full charge and being periodically used for picture taking and recording during my 2-3 hours I spent outdoors, the battery was already drained. I recommend having backup batteries for that matter. While my phone can do many things the ZV-1 can, there's also things only the ZV-1 can do. I'll be switching to the ZV-1 for my vlogging needs!

0

0

0

Poor Playback Volume

ZV-1/BC E32 12 October 2020 by Bastyong (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was pleased with the image and video images recorded. However, upon playing back the video recorded, the sound is so muffled, even with the volume set to the maximum of 15 bars. I tested speaking louder into the mike, and later tried an external mike. No difference. Worried that I got a faulty set, I brought it down to the Sony store at NEX mall. The staff was helpful and helped to check and tested for the same issue using the showroom's demo unit. It was also barely audible. Then the recording was transferred to my phone and also to the showroom's laptop. Yes, the playback sound was much louder. So thank goodness, I did not have a faulty camera! But it is an inherent default feature of very soft barely audible volume when playing back recorded videos. This is really quite a disappointing drawback or con for this camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good camera that misses the mark

ZV-1 10 October 2020 by Adamm (USA)

I bought this camera to do live streaming. It constantly overheats, even when the hi-temp setting is enabled. It can’t be powered by USB. The USB out is only capable of 1024×576, so you need to use an external capture card like an Elgato Cam Link 4K. Finally, it’s time for Sony to revamp the menu system. The usability is awful. Sony really needs a USB powered camera with an f1.4 lens that doesn’t overheat for live streaming.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

0

Good but overheats in 4k

ZV-1 09 October 2020 by Jhat (USA)

So for just carrying around its been great. It's light weight and shoots great footage. Unfortunately I'm having a ton of trouble with it shutting off while streaming and recording gameplay in 4k. Most times my daughter and I can get 25-30 minutes before it shuts off from overheating but just today we only got 20 minutes max. I'm considering returning the camera to purchase something different. I don't think I'd recommend the zv-1 as it isn't a cheap camera. Plus, I've changed the hi temp setting and other tips I've seen on youtube but they aren't working.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Best Portable Vlogging Camera Ever!

DCZV1/B 08 October 2020  (USA)

I own a few different cameras for my social media presence -- IG and blogs and they range in size, quality, etc. This past year my husband even gifted me with a camera to start vlogging with and it just never was convenient enough for me to utilize! Ok, then comes this amazing Sony ZV-1...I cannot recommend this camera enough!!! It is fantastic, fantastic, fantastic. Here are my top reasons why I love it so very much: 1. It is so incredibly light and compact 2. The camera is able to provide extremely high quality photos/videos in low lighting (so so so pleasantly surprised) 3. The flip screen makes it a breeze to make sure I'm in focus/centered, etc. 4. The handle to actual vlog/take photos of self is genius -- the button to record/adjust image are on the handle 5. I love that when you rotate the flip screen back to it's original setting the camera shuts off. I mean so many incredible aspects of this camera that I am obsessed with. You all need to get your hands on one, you won't be disappointed!!!!

0

0

0

Great for beginners!

DCZV1/B 29 September 2020 by shehlovee (USA)

If you've been looking thinking about starting a YouTube channel this camera would be perfect and ideal for unboxings, product reviews, food channels, etc. In my videos, I usually review products, unboxing, vlogging, and how-to-tips videos. This camera has a really good frame per a second and does not show any lag when you are showcasing products up close and removing the product from the frame. The auto-exposure and autofocus is superb on this thing! I am so shocked how quickly it focuses on the products I am presenting. I've tried many cameras for my channel and I have finally found one that does the job for me. The footage captured by this camera is sooo good that I don't need to edit much of my videos any more. I don't need to scrap footage. I love the versatility of the LCD screen, because I can see exactly how in frame I am and how its showing as its recording. Instead, of waiting for me to finish filming and realize that I wasn't in frame. I love that there's a little light on the camera that lets you know when you are filming, so you don't ever have to worry about checking the camera whether its recording or its off (that happened a lot with my old camera). Pros: - Skin softening adjustments to 3 different settings. Have a pesky pimple? No worries the camera can blur it out for you. - Great slow motion effect that can go up to 900 frames per a second - Easy grip with the function of the record bottom very easily accessible as well as the zoom - Pretty good battery life, was able to pull off 7 hours of recording time on and off No cons from me. I throughly enjoy using this camera and look forward to creating content with it.

2

0

0

Amazing vlogging camera

ZV-1 25 September 2020 by Sweetzah (United Kingdom)

Sony zv-1 is a camera made specifically for vlogging especially as the video quality is amazing and love the active steady shot modes too. It has many features you can use and adjust to get different modes, i got use to the slow mo features which i found it easy to use... also how the light adjust in shaded areas really quickly is amazing and focuses really well. Pictures are nice and sleek, brightness is on point colours are loveky and rich. Do love how the screen can flip in and out which can help you focus on certain area. The tripod is awesome it is bluetooth connected helps when taking videos or selfies and good for taking those lovely scenic videos. All in all it a good camera it has good pros but would have liked for the price to be at least a touch screen so be easier to navigate. I Really recommend this camera .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Best and user-friendly camera

ZV-1/BC E32 24 September 2020 by JQ Fu (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far the best compact camera that I have use. Camera interface is easy to understand for entry user. One of the features I like best is the Product showcase which auto focus quickly on the object show up in front of me when doing video recording. The low light quality is impressive too, definitely much better quality compare to my mobile. I have no regret buying this camera, really awesome and loving it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best vlog camera ever

ZV-1/BC E32 24 September 2020 by Adrian_Lim (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The size of camera and functions are the best for vlogging and traveling. Only fallback is the lens is not wide enough when turn around and the screen is not touch screen when monitor faces you while vlogging as it’s difficult to navigate buttons

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great autofocus, horrible video stabilisation

ZV-1/BC E32 20 September 2020 by user0110 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great autofocus, horrible video stabilisation. Small field of view when using active stabilisation due to aggressive crop..

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Clean audio, easy to use.

ZV-1/BC E32 11 September 2020 by SLSI (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I started with the first Rx100 but skipped the 24-70 Rx100 models in favour of a competitor's similar 24-100 offering. I eventually got the RX100m6 with the 24-200 offers the versatility but has lost the fast f/1.8 lens at 24mm. Now, wanting to do a little bit of video, I was looking for something in the price range of RX0m2 and found the ZV-1. Not needing the EVF and the flash, this is perfect to fill the missing gap between the first Rx100 (which unfortunately did not have clean Hdmi output) and the Rx100m6. The f/1.8 Zeiss is much sharper than the competition.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

AMAZING

ZV-1 07 September 2020 by zzangu (USA)

I NEVER am compelled to write a review for anything, but this camera deserves everything AND MORE. I literally use this for Zooms, Hangouts, EVEN FACETIME as well as vlogging. Love love love! THANK YOU SONY! I'd pay double for this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good for video

ZV-1/BC E32 02 September 2020 by erwin123 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great camera for video. Very good video quality and wide variety of video options, though not all of them are clearly explained and you might have to watch some video guides to understand better. Autofocus tracking is very good and so is image stabilisation. Microphone input is a definite bonus. The optional Sony remote controller stick is too short to be a proper vlogging stick, so you will still need to buy a 3rd party gimbal to get the proper distance for vlogging (some of which are compatible with Sony controls). Small annoyance - the camera doesn't come with a hand strap. I guess the assumption is that it will always be on a vlogging stick and a strap might flap around and affect the video? But when you want to let children use the camera, its always better to have a strap that can wrap around the wrist so they don't accidentally drop the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Really nice quality and sound

ZV-1/BC UC2 01 September 2020 by gdawgJay (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

brand new out the box very exited to start filming. A little disappointed the camera was advertised with a stand and remote that was not included, i will have to order it separately.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

So far so good

ZV-1/BC E32 29 August 2020 by KRAEvings (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bough this a few weeks ago. Actually, there is no much dofference in using cellphone camera :) one thing i do notice with zv-1 is that the battery drains after 2 hours more or less shooting.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great video and features, one glaring problem!

ZV-1 21 August 2020 by Mrose21 (USA)

This is a great camera with amazing additional features that other Point and Shoot cameras do not have. HOWEVER, Sony... you really messed up. The integrated microphone for this camera is built to receive sound in the direction the camera is pointed. If you are recording a vlog or any other video and you point the camera away from you, the sound quality immediately drops and it becomes muffled. SONY really dropped the ball here. Many people will turn the camera around to show the viewer something and talk at the same time. This camera, however is not naturally built for this. You will have to buy an external mic to be able to get 360 degree sound. This is very, very disappointing and is a feature that will easily cause people to not be happy with this purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Unboxing Zv-1 and its amazing features

ZV-1/BC E32 17 August 2020 by LeaAmor10 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this last 3 weeks ago .I used it to take video and pictures at the Gardens by the bay .Im so happy with the result good quality specially the defocus and skin tone effect

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Review video with Time lapse

ZV-1/BC E32 08 August 2020  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very difficult to add time lapse video compare with my Lumix DMC-LX100. My LX100 Auto provide me time lapse video after end of the shoot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Outstandingly versatile with a wealth of features

ZV-1 03 August 2020 by Ziva (United Kingdom)

Introduction The Sony ZV-1 is Sony’s entry model entering the ‘vlogging’ area while promising outstanding performance, versatility, and image quality. In terms of quality, Sony is well known to deliver highly sophisticated products while also developing technologies that implemented standards for other technologies for a very long time (Trinitron TV Screens). Therefore, new products from Sony are always highly anticipated due to their superior brand-reputation. This review is taking an in-depth look at the Sony ZV-1 based on my own experiences. I will not compare this camera with other products from different manufacturers, but will solely concentrate on the basics, workings, and options that come with the ZV-1. Most importantly, though, I will keep this review as objective as I can, meaning I will promote not only the good points of the camera but also my dislikes. However, I must stress that those interested in buying this camera need to get down to the basics of photography while learning a little about changing or setting the aperture, focus, shutter speed, and focus. This routine ensures that the potential user is getting the most out of this camera, even in tricky situations. Options The Sony ZV-1 comes with a magnitude of options. One of the strongest points must be the automatic point-and-shoot setting which will deliver instantly excellent images in most situations without demanding significant user input. It is merely a matter of selecting the Intelligent-Auto-setting and taking pictures. Furthermore, the camera is featuring a new technology that enhances natural skin tones and keeps faces bright subjected to changing light sources or different environments. Another outstanding feature is the Automatic Focus technology (AF) which gives the ZV-01 the edge in its field. The AF is working lightning fast and features Sony’s new Eye-Tracking technology, which proves to be invaluable when taking recordings of moving people. Definitely noteworthy is the camera’s display which gives the user total control in every situation and can be folded face-down into the camera housing, meaning it is safe from being scratched or damaged. Other features take care of shutter and aperture settings as well as focal length, ensuring that the camera can be used in tricky situations where Intelligent-Auto can not cope any longer. Furthermore, a wealth of video options is offered, ranging from Intelligent-Auto over Movie to High-Frame-Rate settings with the latter delivering stunningly super-slow-motion footage. Another useful option is the ‘Function’ setting which lets you change the Audio-Record-level, Steady-Shot, Focus-mode, Skin-effects, Focus-Area, Creative-Styles, and many more. Last but not least there is the ‘Menu’ option which lets you change date and time, format an SD card, change slow-motion settings, and many other camera and image functions. Again, the user is well advised to learn the basics at the very least. Also, I find the supplied windshield for the microphone to be of immense value. Taking video recordings with the windshield in harsh windy or otherwise noisy conditions will drastically improve the quality of the audio. However, here comes my first niggle. The windshield for the microphone is too close to the Power-button and also takes it out of view. Maybe it is just my personal opinion, but it still does annoy me because I have large hands and find it hard to operate that button. Quality As already mentioned, Sony is well known for the outstanding quality of their products. Anybody choosing to buy this camera will not be disappointed while appreciating the craftsmanship and effort that has gone into this product. Hence, I would like to refer to my 17-years old Sony camcorder, which is still operating as good as on its first day. Speed The speed of the camera, especially in the Intelligent-Auto setting, is well balanced and sophisticated. Taking the camera and pressing the release button almost always guarantees excellent results under most conditions. Indeed, it will sufficiently compensate while the level of light or the focus is drastically changing, e.g. taking a picture through an open window, and abruptly turning back to take an image through a doorframe inside the house.   Focus Anybody who knows a bit about cameras is aware that the Automatic-Focus will not always yield great results. However, Sony engineers have certainly delivered with the ZV-1 as most of the time, pictures or recordings are taken with AF come out crisp and clear. It lets you move about freely or starting to do things at random, near or far while the AF seems to work at the speed of light. Not once did the camera disappoint, making it one of the strongest points so far (view attached recording). The same applies to the Macro feature in the IA-setting, which is returning brilliant close-ups of insects and flowers without having to fiddle with additional settings. Slow Motion The Slow-Mo function certainly has become my favourite due to the stunning image quality and the breath-taking action it delivers with a healthy punch (please view the attached recording). It comes with a range of settings that lets you select the image quality, and the speed of the motion ranging from 10x, 20x or 40x times of the original speed of the moving object, depending on the frame rate you are going to select (250, 500 and 1000 frames per second). The length of the recording is pre-programmed and depends on the frame rate, e.g. higher frame rates yield shorter recordings. Therefore, learning the basics of this function will guarantee continued success when using this option. Connectivity Living in a world of instant access demands a certain level of connectivity for everything we use. The Sony ZV-1 is no exception. That is why it is good to know that you can connect your camera to your smartphone, TV, or computer over a wireless connection. In contrast, you can remotely control your camera with a computer or smartphone. The same applies to Bluetooth-connectivity, which lets you connect to your smartphone or the Sony shooting-grip. The latter serves as a remote control for your camera while vlogging (watch the attached video). Operating the Sony ZV-1 One vital module needed to operate the camera is an SD Memory Card. While there is a magnitude of different cards available, my preferred option has always been SanDisk. Because of the camera’s performance, and the high data volume needed when taking video or Slow-Motion recordings, I found it essential to choose an SD-card able to cope with the speed and high demand of the camera. Hence, a SanDisk Extreme Pro is more than suitable to cope very well with the volume of images and recordings. Likewise, operating and setting up the camera itself is very easy and straight forward. First, charge the battery and select an appropriate SD Memory Card. Then switch on the camera and follow the steps on the initial screen, which invites you to choose your language, date, and time. The next step is to simply point and shoot. Nevertheless, here comes my second niggle. The battery life could be better, especially for those of you who will use the camera for vlogging or while on holidays. Therefore, investing in a spare set of batteries and a separate charger is a very wise option to avoid disappointment. Lastly, transferring your taken images or recordings to your computer or smartphone does not require a high technical understanding as it is straight forward. Final thoughts The Sony ZV-1 is one of the most sophisticated cameras on the market. Its range of options, high quality, ease of operation and the high image quality make this camera a worthy contender. Indeed, I have to admit that I am more in favour of the ZV-1 then using my trusted Sony alpha 300, which is now 11-years old. So, what is good about this camera? Well, pretty much everything, which makes this gadget so likeable. It performs well, it feels good, it delivers stunning images and recordings, and it is easy to handle. Generally speaking, the magnitude of good points eclipses some negatives, which is the missing focus-ring, short battery life, and restricted accessibility of the power-button because of the windshield (if installed to the camera). Also, the camera heats up considerably when used for long video recordings on a hot summer’s day. However, overall, it is fun to use, affordable, and a worthy companion for the serious vlogger or for taking a magnitude of images and recordings under almost any condition.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

5

0