69

4.3 based on 69 customer reviews

44
15
4
1
5
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Amazing and Impressive! Wow! Thx Sony.

HT-G700 09 January 2021 by CHIEF ret USCG (USA)

First, I purchased the HT-S350 sound bar to accommodate my KD-65X750 amazing TV on 04 Jan2021, of which my younger brother purchased the same setup as well. One day later my older brother purchased the same TV, but he purchased the HT-G700 sound bar to accommodate his Sony TV. All I can say is that...I move the HT-S350 to the bedroom ( which is still a great sound bar ). But once you here the HT-G700. Amazing, amazing and amazing!!! This sound bar just speaks MOVIES AND MORE MOVIES. Brings it on! This sound bar HT-G700 is on another level. It very impressive - crystal clear sound is movie theater in you home outstanding. Get the popcorn ready!!! The “Immersive Audio Enhancement”button when used, will take it too another beautiful level of room filling clear sound enjoyment. The BASS is of great quality at all volume level. I was truly impressed. The price is justified and once you get it home. You will understand why!!!! Recommendation: (1) Read the manuals. There is some good stuff to help enhance that sound quality alongside that 4K TV by using the correct HDMI cable. You will see in the fine print of the easy setup instructions. (2) Download the Sony support app. It will help a great deal. Notifications on update and more. (3) Because I downloaded the Sony support app, I was able to update my firmware. The Sony instructions was easy to accomplish. Make sure to FAT32 the USB. Side note: I wish the store had this setup so you can hear the difference and make your purchase. But no big deal. Glad my other brother did the work.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointing

HT-G700//C SP1 19 December 2020 by SG buyer (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Soundbar lack clarity almost while on gaming , movie and music. Sony if you are reading this and this can be improved through some software update please do it.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

69 Customer Reviews

0

Works well and don't need the remote

HT-G700 21 February 2021 by alplumtree (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as was tired of how bad my LG TV was at controlling sound volume on an existing amp using the optical out. This connects with a single HDMI ARC connection to the TV, auto powers on and off, and lets me control the volume with the existing TV remote. Sound wise, it's good. Though prefer the wider audio stage I get with a decent 2.1 setup.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Like being at the movies!

HTG700 15 February 2021 by KarlWC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Makes watching 4K TV great!! Lots of ways to adjust the sound to my liking.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sounds great to me!

HT-G700 11 February 2021 by RedDPaul (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’m no expert but this purchase has improved the sound from my 11 year old Sony TV so much. Also it operates seamlessly via my tv - I switch the tv on and the soundbar comes on, turn it off and it goes off. Maybe a minor issue but important to me - I hate messing around with lots of remotes! Altogether a successful purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound

HT-G700 10 February 2021 by Bruce2210 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace a Sky sound box as I was not impressed by the sound quality. The Sony soundbar has proved to be much better than the Sky product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Slim & compact

HT-G700//C SP1 05 February 2021 by FoongDavid (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this because of the slim and compact. Tried out only the basic features and find it very good. Have yet to try out the various other features of the set.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Didn’t meet expectation

HT-G700//C SP1 03 February 2021 by Zai68 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just got this setup but somehow the base didn’t really reached its peak even at the highest. It sounded much better at the showroom. Not sure if I’m missing something.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Cable missing

HT-G700 02 February 2021 by No sodding nickname (United Kingdom)

Only just bought the sound bar seems very good but only time will tell. When I opened the box I found that Sony do not supply an HDMI cable, the sound bar will not work without an HDMI cable, I had to purchase one seperately I found this disappointing as I had just spent £300 buying the sound bar.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great sound and lots of audio formats supported

HT-G700 01 February 2021 by Dondan86 (United Kingdom)

For a very good price this soundbar packs a punch and sounds like there are speakers all over the room when Atmos kicks in ,it's easy to set up via the hdmi Earc/arc connection and very easy to navigate around the control ,this has exceeded all my expectations in producing Dolby Atmos sound out of a 3.1 channel sound bar ,I would love to see Sony's 7.1.2 channel in action if this one is so good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Don’t waste your money

HT-G700 26 January 2021 by PeteM83 (USA)

Bought it as I am a big fan with Sony sound system and how it deliver deep bass , but so disappointed with such over priced for only conversation sound bar and useless subwoofer

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

3

0

SONY SOUND BAR CAMPAIGN

HT-G700 21 January 2021 by neri16 (USA)

The sound is amazing when you are watching a movie , you feel like you are in a movie theater.

1

0

0

Perfect sounds

HT-G700 21 January 2021 by brandy118 (USA)

I absolutely love this sound-bar system it’s very easy to use and install. It’s very nice looking and doesn’t take up much space. Features are amazing. I’m very impressed with the package so it was really packed with support.

1

0

0

WOW! Can finally hear voices from background!

HT-G700 21 January 2021 by KJS383 (USA)

Game changing for our movie room. The sound is crystal clear and the surround makes a big difference. I had a sound bar previously and it didn't sync up with the actors speaking correctly. This was perfect just plugging right in. Easy, and we are completely satisfied with our purchase.

0

0

0

Sony sound bar

HT-G700 21 January 2021  (USA)

Great product great sound. Makes you want to watch TV. Impeccable sound quality and really easy to install. Minimum wires, Bluetooth is really good. Easy to install

0

0

0

Sound bar pretty easy setup great quality

HT-G700 21 January 2021 by tamikanfrancis (USA)

So I received my sound bar was able to quickly configure it for my tv set up with smart tv, a cable box and Playstation 4. I tested the Bluetooth feature with my Galaxy S20 phone worked perfectly music sounds amazing. Then I tested the TV features I've been able to get the cable box and Playstation to play without issue with the sound. The apps on my smart TV though sometimes works sometimes does kind of no reason for it but that said quality of sound is amazing. Doesn't take up that much room which is good as I live in a small apartment. Can't wait to use this for house parties in the future.

0

0

0

My new toy

HT-G700 21 January 2021 by foxybrownjr (USA)

I love mine do sound bar I use it actually of a lot. The thing about it is that makes it so much fun is the fact that I can use it with all of my systems including all my video game systems. It also since it was Bluetooth it was a super easy to install and it works really great I have a smart TV so it works really well and there was literally 5 minutes of set up time. There literally is nothing that actually is a problem for it because in work super easy if super affective I feel that I can hear it I just haven't installed it on to the wall but since everything is wireless you don't have to have everything put together so the Subway for can bees and some other place and when I move I'll probly put it in the kitchen and then the sound bar will be closer up upon to on the wall so it'll be a whole Room experience and it feels really good because even with the Bluetooth I can add More things to it and it would still work altogether.

0

1

0

GREAT SOUNDBAR

HT-G700 21 January 2021 by DOCDOC (USA)

I have always been a speakers guy -whether it was connected to a Receiver or Blu-Ray.This Soundbar and Sub Woofer are great. The sound is wonderful. I have a (non Sony )TV but the Sony HT-G700 sounder connected with the bluetooth without any problems . It takes up no extra room and will eventually set on my fireplace ledge.

0

0

0

Remote nor sound bar display work

HT-G700 19 January 2021 by barb5006 (USA)

I returned one sound bar because it did not work. My second one worked for about a week before the display and remote stopped working again. The sound is good, but I have no way to control it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Amazing and Impressive! Wow! Thx Sony.

HT-G700 09 January 2021 by CHIEF ret USCG (USA)

First, I purchased the HT-S350 sound bar to accommodate my KD-65X750 amazing TV on 04 Jan2021, of which my younger brother purchased the same setup as well. One day later my older brother purchased the same TV, but he purchased the HT-G700 sound bar to accommodate his Sony TV. All I can say is that...I move the HT-S350 to the bedroom ( which is still a great sound bar ). But once you here the HT-G700. Amazing, amazing and amazing!!! This sound bar just speaks MOVIES AND MORE MOVIES. Brings it on! This sound bar HT-G700 is on another level. It very impressive - crystal clear sound is movie theater in you home outstanding. Get the popcorn ready!!! The “Immersive Audio Enhancement”button when used, will take it too another beautiful level of room filling clear sound enjoyment. The BASS is of great quality at all volume level. I was truly impressed. The price is justified and once you get it home. You will understand why!!!! Recommendation: (1) Read the manuals. There is some good stuff to help enhance that sound quality alongside that 4K TV by using the correct HDMI cable. You will see in the fine print of the easy setup instructions. (2) Download the Sony support app. It will help a great deal. Notifications on update and more. (3) Because I downloaded the Sony support app, I was able to update my firmware. The Sony instructions was easy to accomplish. Make sure to FAT32 the USB. Side note: I wish the store had this setup so you can hear the difference and make your purchase. But no big deal. Glad my other brother did the work.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sony HT-G700 Soundbar

HT-G700 06 January 2021 by Awesome1Kimmy (USA)

This Sony Soundbar has really turned out to be the perfect choice for my family's needs. It was a very easy setup, in which all it required was to plug the hdmi from the cable box into the back of the soundbar, and then use the included hdmi to plug the soundbar into the television. Plug the soundbar and amp into a power strip and power them both on, and they link up with bluetooth. The sleek design makes it blend in nicely with the television. There are several different sound modes to choose from according to what you are listening to, and the 3D Dolby Atmos surround sound makes it sound like the action in the movies is taking place live in your home. Any time you're in the mood to play some music, just search it up on your phone and use bluetooth to easily play whatever you like through the soundbar. It's really just that simple to have great sound for anything you enjoy listening to at home. This soundbar has truly proven to be a great choice.

1

0

0

Once set up, easy to operate.

HT-G700 05 January 2021 by Babs53 (United Kingdom)

Recent purchase and not used as yet, but good sound and easy to operate with the variable functions.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Sound bar

HT-G700 05 January 2021 by Chris1234567 (United Kingdom)

Fantastic cinematic sound but there is an issue when I change channels I keep losing the sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony HT-G700 Review

HT-G700 04 January 2021 by Cjigoelivecom (USA)

Upon delivery, the system says immediately and easily unpacked and set up, within 20 minutes. Sounds exponentially better than the tv built in sound. There are many features built in to the system, but very small and sometimes un-noticeable, in between a few of them. The Bluetooth feature is our most used feature, as we enjoy to listen to music with the kids. It fills our large living/dining/kitchen very well. My favorite feature is once I connect to our via Bluetooth, it automatically turns on, without having to go over to it, for anything. Overall it's a very good upgrade to any TV. Slightly pricey in my opinion compared to some other systems, with similar sound and features. Very middle, slightly above middle, of the road system.

0

0

0

Great Sony Soundbar

HT-G700 04 January 2021 by chrismd4 (USA)

We've had this soundbar by Sony about a month now. First of all, I will say that it is a great little soundbar with a unique sound that is really powerful. Right out of the box, I could see that it was a reasonable size. You had to supply an HDMI cable. As long as you had that, it was very easy to install. I had no issues with it at all. Once it was connected to the television, it was good to go. Very easy to use. The control that it comes with is small and compact. Very user friendly design. No problem whatsoever figuring out which button does what. It is small and fits in your hand. It also has voice control which I use all the time. It is easy to turn on and the sound quality cannot be beat. The sound is crisp and clear. It sounds like you are in the movie theater. For the money, this is a great soundbar. I am sure you will definitely enjoy it.

0

0

0

Great sound!!

HT-G700 04 January 2021 by SiemerFamily (USA)

I have to start out by saying that I was blown away by the sound of this soundbar! -- even with it only being 3.1 sound. To be honest, I had read a few reviews of the HT-G700 before buying, and while everyone had excellent things to say about it, I was really skeptical that it was really that good compared to a 5.1 or 7.1 system. But after experiencing the sound that is put out by this soundbar, I am convinced that Sony has figured out some voodoo magic to pack serious 7.1 fidelity into a small package! I can confidently say this because we have a 7.1 system in our living room, and that has been our daily driver for 2 years. This new soundbar went into our basement and was setup primarily for the grandkids to watch TV and play video games, but it's so immersive that I find myself going down there to watch TV now! As far as setup goes, it was a breeze -- though, I did have my son help me because I'm not as technical with this stuff. But after watching him, I can say that it was fairly easy. He hooked the HDMI of the soundbar into the TV, and had to enabled a setting on the TV. After that, all sound from all of my devices magically came through the soundbar instead of the TV. The subwoofer is wireless, so we weren't required to place it in any specific location relative to the bar -- I was able to hide it behind the furniture, and it works great! Also, I'm not much of tinkerer, so I probably didn't test out all of the functionality, but I did happen to connect my phone to Bluetooth and that worked just fine. Overall, I'm just really blown away by the quality of this product, and I'm glad that I didn't settle for something different. Seriously worth the extra money to buy the Sony!

0

0

0

Great Sound

HTG700 28 December 2020 by Jon D (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Picked up at Best Buy. Watched Video on installation and it was up and running in 15 minutes from time I opened package. All needed cables were included as were remote control batters.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointing

HT-G700//C SP1 19 December 2020 by SG buyer (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Soundbar lack clarity almost while on gaming , movie and music. Sony if you are reading this and this can be improved through some software update please do it.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Excellent picture

HTG700 15 December 2020 by KR00 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this 55 inch XBR55X800H 4K HDR Ultra for a month now and no issue. Connecting to WiFi a little troublesome but once completed I get great pictures from regular tv and movies from Amazon prime. Added a 3.1 G700 sons bar and sub. Love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony soundbar

HT-G700 07 December 2020  (USA)

This soundbar is truly amazing, the sound is very loud. It makes a big difference from the sound from the tv and the soundbar. The installation/set up of the soundbar was very straight forward and easy. Within minutes I was able to have it set up and ready to go. The overall design of this soundbar is very nice and modern. I plan to mount the soundbar right under my tv on the wall. I’ve had previous soundbars before but this one really stands out by the simplicity of the set up and the sound quality. The immersive AE option reminds me of the movie theater. I highly recommend it.

1

0

0

The speakers n bass are not to standard

HT-G700//C SP1 05 December 2020 by Jacky JJ (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound quality and bass are not good. the "surround" function do not give any different sound effect compared to other function!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

3

0

Decent

HT-G700//C SP1 21 November 2020 by Rads101 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound quality is decent but the speaker keeps switching off by itself and doesn’t automatically connect to the devices attached on various ports. They need to be manually changed.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Sleek product - Great Sound!

HT-G700 17 November 2020 by SKDave (USA)

The Sony HT-G 700 has a sleek look , product and design which goes very well with the Modern set up we have in our media room.. It was very well packaged, offering utmost protection. Unfortunately the set up wasn’t as easy as I expected it to be. We needed to connect it with the ARC HDMI setting from the TV ,but struggled to get the sound from the TV. The owners manual is not very clear in this regard. To get it to work, we had to disconnect all HDMI connections into the TV, restart everything. We immediately noticed a sound improvement. The immersive sound is great and fills the room. It was easy to connect my phone to the sound bar via bluetooth. The music sounded great! One suggestion - the visual display area on the sound bar is tiny making it hard to read the settings. The Bass is robust, adding to the sound quality when listening to music. We had a movie night with some friends for the long weekend and they too were blown away with the experience. One of my friends is also very keenly looking into purchasing it on Amazon. The Sony HT G-700 is our first sound bar with Atmos Dolby and we are really pleased to be introduced to this great product, overall its a winner! After purchasing the Sony soundbar, I have got into a habit of enjoying music everyday! The clarity of notes and the bass even for calm soothing music is just a different experience. I spent my weekend mornings with coffee with soft music playing In the background. Frankly, I did not anticipate that the elevated quality would create such a difference in my listening experience and resulting habits.

1

0

0

Satisfied purchase

HT-G700 17 November 2020 by Mulan707 (USA)

I owned a different soundbar prior to this, but what I like about this one is it came with a subwoofer and a remote control. The remote was a good size , big enough to where it fit in my hands. It was easy to use and it had several options on what kind d of sound I wanted to hear. The subwoofer sound went from 1-12. I don't watch TV much but since I have made this purchase I have been watching a lot of movies lately and my kids love the surround sound when they watch movies as well! I like the fact that the subwoofer uses bluetoot and I love the look and length of the soundbar. Since I don't hang my flat-screen on the wall the soundbar fits perfectly underneath my TV. This product was easy to install. I highly recommend!

4

0

0

Great 3D Surround Sound from 2D front only system

HT-G700 17 November 2020 by PontoonPaul54 (USA)

This is a surprisingly good sound bar system, that doesn't require rear speakers to give you a real Surround Sound experience. Kudos to Sony for figuring out how to trick our ears into thinking we have sound coming from everywhere. The set up on this is relatively easy, if you are looking at the illustrated directions. From there you can figure (even if you have older other equipment and a DVR ) how to wire it all up. This unit has a lot more capabilities than I have tried, as it is Bluetooth, and I believe will accept music from your phone or other Bluetooth device, although I have not tried that, so i cannot say for certain as to how it would work. The only negative that I have found on this system, is an intermittent issue that we have been having is when using our DVR . If you are playing back a recorded show, and you want to fast forward, many times the HT-G700 will go silent, and you have to figure out how to get it to start playing again. I have tried changing the input setting through a full rotation of their settings till it gets back to the original HDMI that I was on. Sometimes that works, and other times it doesn't. The problem is that you miss the portion of the show that you fast forwarded to, as the video is playing but still no sound. When all else fails we rewind a bit, and then pause the DVR, and shut off the sound bar and turn it back on. Thankfully that doesn't happen THAT often. If we could find the solution for that, I would give this product 5 stars. Perhaps this is only with the brand of DVR that we have, and not with all of them.

2

0

0

Completely transforms home TV-watching experience

HT-G700 17 November 2020 by aznsupergurl (USA)

My family was very excited when the Sony soundbar arrived and we couldn't wait to test it out since we watch a lot of Netflix shows and movies these days. It has a beautiful design and was well-packaged. It did take some time for my husband to figure out how to get the sound to play after connecting it, but once he got it to work, we were blown away by how much crisper the sound is and how much deeper the bass is with the subwoofer. Even in the dialogue portions of the movie, the sound quality is noticeably clearer. The bass in songs really comes out a lot more with the soundbar as well. Because of that, we don't need to turn the volume up as high to hear everything clearly. The soundbar comes with a separate remote to turn it off and on, but I like that you can control the volume with either the tv remote or the soundbar remote. I didn't realize how much of a change it would make and we really love it! It really elevates our home movie nights and is definitely worth the investment!

1

0

0

Great with most Bluray audio tracks

HTG700 04 November 2020 by gfwgo10 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and I am pleased. This soundbar decodes all the major audio tracks on DVD, Blu-ray etc. which my previous soundbar did not. The menu to adjust audio and other features is somewhat difficult to navigate. I'm still playing with different settings to get the optimal performance out of this soundbar. I'm still a little perplexed why I have to crank the volume over 35-40 to hear clearly. The tech at the store tells me that this is normal since the volume range goes to 100 and he demoed some streaming movies that had great sound but at 50-60 . So, I am getting used to the fact that this is the way it is. Overall I'm happy cause the spoken word is easy to hear although again you have to set the volume up on DVD and Blu-rays. There is a setting on the soundbar to equalize the spoken word and the loud sounds that are heard in movies. I haven't completely figured that out yet so in the meantime I just turn down the volume when the loud action explodes. Again, the soundbar does what it is supposed to do so I'm happy with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best in class theater experience

HT-G700 31 October 2020 by jmr123 (USA)

Best in class audio experience and it enhances to next level by gelling well with visual treat if you have Sony TV too. This is not another sound bar of other brands but carries 3.1 output with theater experience having Dolby Atmos sound .. with covid I doubt theaters will get reopened but if someone wants to experience the theater this is the product you have to go for Some tips: please the woofer near to your sofa and sound bar under the tv for surround experience..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I really like it

HT-G700 26 October 2020 by holmesthumper (USA)

UPDATE: This soundbar is really really nice. I set it up in my bedroom, just to give myself a different sound, and it really produces. Sometimes, I catch myself hitting the mute button, because I hear a sound that I don't expect and want to make sure it is whatever I am watching on television and not that someone or something has entered the house without me knowing. I laugh at myself quite a bit when that happens :) I also have been playing with the sound modes, cinema is my favorite right now, but it may change. I received the soundbar on Sunday and was able to put it together in less than an hour, by myself. I did not do an unboxing video, actually did not think to do it. Sorry. But as I said, it was easy to put it together and plug in the HDMI cord in the correct port. I really like the sound I get from the soundbar.

2

0

0

My soundbar

HT-G700 26 October 2020 by Nickibeds1 (USA)

This soundbar is the bomb, the only thjng that I dont like about it is that you have to switch back and forth from playing music on Bluetooth to TV easily . This could be because my Tv doesn't have Bluetooth capabilities but I'm still getting to know what this soundbar can and can't do. The sound is very loud which is what i was looking for. I would recommend this product to friends and family. It also was a little bit difficult to connect to my Tv but after carefully reading the directions got it to connect and pair but make sure yoh read manual when trying to connect. My husband is really enjoying his sound bar, he enjoys it so much that he wants no one touching it but him.

1

0

0

Upgrading My Audio Experience

HT-G700 19 October 2020  (USA)

Following a visit to my brother's house and experiencing the amazing audio from his soundbar, I began looking into purchasing one for myself. I feel confident when I buy anything Sony and I appreciated the sleek look and easy set up of this system. I admit that I had some trouble initially as I have an older TV and had to purchase the additional cable but when I finally unplugged everything and replugged it in again, and reset my cable, it worked. The sound is amazing. My husband listened to 45 minutes of a concert he recorded and was wowed. He is also hard of hearing and noticed that diction was much clearer. I'd say this is a winner.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Soundbar - Crisp Sound Quality

HT-G700 19 October 2020 by Summer7213 (USA)

I received the Sony Soundbar HT-G700 about a week ago and have been playing and tinkering with it since then. I’ve really enjoyed testing music, movie, football, phone streaming and seeing how the sound differs on the different audio settings. I will admit, I’m not an audio “techy” and honestly had no idea what I was doing, but I did make some great observations. First, I was watching a movie with my family about a month ago, on our new TV, and I remember thinking “Seriously, this is how loud the TV can go? It’s not that clear…I’m going to need to invest in some speakers”. I put that same movie on with the soundbar and WOW what a difference. The audio was crisp! There was a definite positive difference. Then of course, it is football season. While my teams aren’t doing that well, being able to hear the game through the soundbar made it worthwhile to watch. Last, the music setting was really good and when I put in the subwoofer for Cinema, the room shook! Where I believe the opportunity lies is in the small digital display. When I’m sitting far away from the TV, on a couch, I can’t see what the setting is on. I had to constantly get up to see what the setting was on. I wish it would show on the remote or the TV when you changed a setting what it was. Second, when watching the movie, the immersive setting was just okay and didn’t feel immersive. But once you kick that subwoofer on, all turned out well. My overall recommendation: It’s a good sound bar. It does what it needs to do. My audio is more crisp and my viewing experience on the TV is enhanced. While it didn’t “rock my world”, I’d recommend it if you are looking for something to improve your audio experience.

2

0

0

Home-theater Quality

HT-G700 19 October 2020  (USA)

when I received this sound bar I was very Slim design and I have been a fan of big speakers. But slim deign was great as the sound bar fit perfectly on the ledge of my fire place and seems like it is the part of my TV. Wireless subwoofer didnt need any setup and just worked as soon as I plugged in the power source. My little display screen on the soundbar however did not turn on but after contacting Sony we are working on getting this fixed Sony was very helpful and prompt on getting it fixed. My soundbar still worked and has a very good sound and almost sounds like my 7.1system that I have in the basement. I wish there was a way to control the subwoofer level separately. I am very impressed with the quality of sound Sony HT-G700 puts out. Its almost makes me forget that the sound is coming from the front as it is true surround sound. Also i would like to add that the sound quality is really good my friends were home and they loved the look of sony soundbar. After using it for few days now i am so used to the clear sound quality that when i went to my parents house I could not believe how different it sounds without the soundbar and recommended them to buy the product too.

0

0

0

Upgraded my home theater experience

HT-G700 15 October 2020 by Slimofats (USA)

I have been having a Sony Bravia TV in my family room for a while and had been wanting to get a sound bar for it. I felt like the volume varied between streaming platforms and videos we would watch, and that hurt the experience. Enter this Sony sound bar. Now, we feel like we are at the movies on movie night. The sound is crisp. The subwoofer makes explosions more “real”. I LOVE how easy it was to set up and I love that i can easily select what type of sound I want. My favorite is the Immersive AE (audio enhancement). I no longer have problems hearing the tv from the kitchen and our movie nights are way better. I wish that I had added a sound bar sooner. I received this product at a discounted rate in exchange for my honest review.

1

0

0

Sleek product - Great Sound!

HT-G700 15 October 2020 by SKDave (USA)

The Sony HT-G 700 has a sleek look , product and design which goes very well with the Modern set up we have in our media room.. It was very well packaged, offering utmost protection. Unfortunately the set up wasn’t as easy as I expected it to be. We needed to connect it with the ARC HDMI setting from the TV ,but struggled to get the sound from the TV. The owners manual is not very clear in this regard. To get it to work, we had to disconnect all HDMI connections into the TV, restart everything. We immediately noticed a sound improvement. The immersive sound is great and fills the room. It was easy to connect my phone to the sound bar via bluetooth. The music sounded great! One suggestion - the visual display area on the sound bar is tiny making it hard to read the settings. The Bass is robust, adding to the sound quality when listening to music. We had a movie night with some friends for the long weekend and they too were blown away with the experience. One of my friends is also very keenly looking into purchasing it on Amazon. The Sony HT G-700 is our first sound bar with Atmos Dolby and we are really pleased to be introduced to this great product, overall its a winner!

0

0

0

Fantastic depending on where you use it.

HT-G700 15 October 2020 by Huyh (USA)

This soundbar is perfect especially if you live in an apartment or planning on keeping in your bedroom. In a living room, sound level would be limited. I had the volume to the max (to test) and it was loud but not loud as if you were to turn anything else to max level. Now that my con is out the way, let's talk pros. Sounds fantastic for what it is. The voice level is crisp and clear (bass isnt the best). This beats any TV stereo by far! A major pro is that there aren't many cables connecting to each other. The sub only has the power cable and connects via bluetooth while the speaker itself has a power cable and connects to hdmi. The remote is small and simple and easy to use, especially in the dark. The small display on the speaker tells you what mode you're in. I like to keep mine on auto. Pretty satisfied with that. This is my first sound bar and in the future I plan on mounting my tv to the wall and the speaker is light enough to mount undeneath the TV (with a seprarate speaker mount). Overall I'm pretty satisfied with this HT-G700 (and their products). Again, would recommend this in an apartment or bedroom but not in a bigger living room for maximum sound experience. For where im using it (in an apartment), I definitely give it 5 stars! If I were to use it in a living room, would give 4 stars.

2

0

0

GREAT SOUNDBAR

HT-G700 09 October 2020 by DOCDOC (USA)

I have always been a speakers guy -whether it was connected to a Receiver or Blu-Ray.This Soundbar and Sub Woofer are great. The sound is wonderful. I have a (non Sony )TV but the Sony HT-G700 sounder connected with the bluetooth without any problems . It takes up no extra room and will eventually set on my fireplace ledge.

0

0

0

Sound You Can Submerse Yourself In

HT-G700 09 October 2020 by Katnhat37 (USA)

I love the sound quality and how easy it is to set up. I used the HDMI cord to set it up and the instructions were easy to follow. There are several different settings for sound. I prefer standard. I also love the fact it's not heavy and bulky. The sound is crisp and clear. This is a great brand that I have grown up with and plan on my kids growing up with and so on.

0

0

0

Great Sound Quality!

HT-G700 08 October 2020 by pete113 (USA)

This Sony Soundbar with subwoofer sounds great! EASY to set up and use. My tv does not have the correct bluetooth for this soundbar but setting up with the supplied HDMI cable was a breeze. The controls have a small learning curve but easy enough to get up and running quickly. The packaging was great, very solid and contains the soundbar, subwoofer, two power supply cables, the remote with batteries, an HDMI cable and all the instructions and warranty cards. The remote is easy to operate and the controls on the soundbar and subwoofer are also a snap to use. You can set the center speaker on a higher volume so the dialog is much easier to hear for us hard of hearing folks (thanks Sony). Connecting the subwoofer to the soundbar via bluetooth was super easy. The Immersive Av function really fills the room with great sound and there are several settings via the remote for cinema, standard etc.. The only nit I have to pick is I think the subwoofer could be a bit more robust but I just received the unit and have not learned all of the adjustments yet so I will try to update when I have mastered it to see if I can increase it's output. I would highly recommend this unit.

0

0

0

Superior Quality Soundbar

HT-G700 08 October 2020 by ddagrosa (USA)

This soundbar is definitely worth it. Right away, I would see that it is very sleek looking. Love the size and color of both of the speakers. After taking it out of the box, it was very easy to set up. I did it myself with no issues whatsoever in about a half hour. I really think anyone would be able to handle setting this up. Before I knew it, my television and blu-ray player were connected to this great sound system. The directions were very easy to follow. It had a couple of plugs to plug in and an HDMI cable to attach which they supplied. My television needed an additional audio cable which was not supplied but luckily it was something that I had on had. It would have been more convenient if they supplied that cable also. The remote control is very self-explanatory. It is small an easy to hold in your hand. The buttons on the control are clearly marked. It is very easy to figure out how to use this system. With a click of a button you have many choices available. You can change to music sound, cinema sound, standard or let it pick the sound required automatically. Having owned an older system that was extremely complicated to use, this was an absolute pleasure. The sound quality is very crisp and clear. I felt like I was in the movie theater. It made me extremely happy. I really can't say enough good things about this Sony Soundbar. I know that with this system me and my family will enjoy hours and hours of entertainment. I am looking forward to every moment of it.

0

0

0

Absolutely amazing

HT-G700 08 October 2020 by nicole1114 (USA)

This sound bar is absolutely amazing. I love the look of it it is so sleek and pretty. The sound that comes from the sound bar is crystal clear and perfect for any type of music. My whole family loves the sound bar. It also connects very easily to my phone. I would recommend this sound bar to anyone. It is absolutely amazing.

0

0

0

Solid Surround Sound System

HT-G700 31 August 2020 by Iron Hoe (United Kingdom)

This is a great solution if you want a solid surround sound system but do not have the space or budget for a multi speaker system. The surround sound effects cant compete with a full blown system but for someone like me who wanted great quality audio for music, TV and films, this bar and subwoofer combo really delivers. Dialogue is clear thanks to the centre speaker, and the subwoofer is extremely adequate for a small to medium sized room. Set up could not be simpler, its as near to plug and play as you could expect to get for this kind of system. It just require you to connect the two power cables from the soundbar and subwoofer and an optical cable. It’s as simple as that. The sound bar has a quality look that would look great with most TV’s and a discreet display that tells you what changes you are making when altering the volume or the mode. The remote is simple and easy to use but it is however sometimes difficult to tell the difference with some of the modes. All in all, I am extremely happy with the audio, with everything I listen to feeling a lot more crisp and clear while at the same time having depth and fullness. It seems to decode sounds that just simply aren't there on our TV's speakers. To summarise, its indisputably a great quality 3.1 system with surround sound processing at an affordable price and at the same time being very simple to set up. It’s an awesome replacement to TV speakers, whilst also having both Dolby Atmos and DTS X support.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

16

15

0

Minimalist, robust sound

HT-G700 27 August 2020 by Yilvel (USA)

Overall this soundbar sound great. The Dolby options sounds awesome. Definitely is an upgrade from tv speakers and fro HTC-390. My main concern is with the Sub woofer. I got them close enough but bass output does not sound. The woofer always turns on when the Soundbar is turned on but the sound does not come out, I have to click manually the link button at the rear end of it to disconnect and connect for it to sound.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sounds good when working

HT-G700 27 August 2020 by Zacht26 (USA)

I bought this several month ago to pair with my Sony 75” X950G because that is what I was recommended. We get it home and set it up super easy and no problems. Then a few days go buy and it will not pair to the TV and there is no sound being put out. It would switch to Tv and audio system and the would say that audio system is unavailable. We called Magnolia and they said to bring it back since it was only a week so we are now on our second system. We have still had trouble with the sound being put out to the system. It has trouble connecting off of any thing we use to watch Tv. I will have to turn the system off. Then unplug the hdmi from the sound bar then turn the tv back on and plug it back in then change it in the setting to the audio system and it only works sometimes. So I have no clue what to do but for the price it should not be messing up!!!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great sound, always the best from ages

HT-G700 23 August 2020 by Phoebe (United Kingdom)

I got it three weeks ago, never stop listening. Works like magic. Kudos!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

15

22

0

Impressive for what it is!

HT-G700 20 August 2020 by MJBALTIC (United Kingdom)

It was a great experience right from a start. Packaging is great, colourful and well presented. Design: Sony HT-G700 soundbar is very stylish 98cm long, with a matte grey top surface and a front metal grille. The soundbar is accompanied by a wireless subwoofer - all TOP build quality as usual. Sony is always impresses me with a quality. The bar’s height is 6.5cm, so it's perfectly fits in a front of your TV without abstracting a view. It has 2 IR passthrough transmitters on the rear, so even if it does block your TV infrared receiver, it will relay remote commands through, so Sony ticks all the boxes here. Connectivity: Set-Up process was quick and easy, thanks for included Start-up guide. This system has a wireless subwoofer, so it's the best you can imagine in terms of connectivity. It connects with a click of a button and works very well. I was impressed with technology and simplicity. Also, having Bluetooth connection on board will allow you to connect any devices like your phone or tablet and stream directly to your soundbar. 2 HDMI In and Out connections, Infra red pot (cable provided). If you have a Sony TV the ARC-TV HDMI connection will be extremely useful, as it totally integrates with your TV and works like a dream. Cinema & Virtual Engine Sound: Yes, this sound bar is at it's best for watching Movies, Netflix content or Amazon Prime, and a great companion for your Sony Bluray player. I was impressed that standing above soundbar I could hear a direct vertical sound. This system kind of replicate rear sound speakers and create virtual sound stage. The bass is great and punchy and dialogues pretty clear too - very good sound! Yes, vertical sound engine is impressive and kind of work, but not as good as dedicated vertical Atmos speakers would be. Sure, you would actually need 5 to 7 speakers to archive that. So, you get a great product for a reasonable price and Vertical Virtual Atmos sound - All-In-One. it's a great attempt from Sony and I'm impressed. Music: It's average for music, definitely not as great as for cinema, but good sound quality overall. I would suggest not to use Immersive AE feature for music and set-up auto sound. I found the sound quality much better when you let it tune itself... Practicality: It's great for smaller living spaces. It definitely will safe some space for you and provide ultimate cinema experience. Don't expect it to be on a level of High-End cinema, but it will impress you! Pros: Compact & Practical Design Great Build Quality Dolby ATMOS & DTS:X Immersive AE & Vertical Surround engine Wireless Subwoofer & Bluetooth Connectivity Cons: No dedicated Atmos height and surround speakers No Google Assistant or Amazon Alexa support

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

16

18

0

Great performer

HT-G700 17 August 2020 by Skelly (United Kingdom)

From the moment I opened the packaging and unpacked the contents, It was easy to see that just from the initial look and feel that the HT-G700 it is a quality, premium product. It is a much higher quality than I was expecting and is a significant improvement compared against my existing, but slightly old Sony Sound Bar. It also compares very favourable to a number of the brands I have looked at in the past, some of which are significantly more expensive than the HT-G700. The unit was unpacked and installed in under 15 minutes using the “Startup Guide”. My initial set-up is connecting the HT-G700 to a Sony HDR TV using a premium quality HDMI cable and another premium cable connecting directly to a Sony UHD BlueRay player. The optical connector provided is not used. (Its disappointing that HDMI cables are still not provided in the box) The HT-G700 is positioned on a TV stand and not wall mounted. This positioning did interfere with the TV remote control operation but initiating the Sound Bar IR Repeater function rectified this easily. When switched on, I was immediately impressed with the significant improvement in the sound quality comparing to my current, older Sony Sound Bar. The sound from a TV signal is improved out of all recognition. The clarity, separation and bass is really impressive. Adjusting the sound effects using the pre-sets on the remote and changing the sub volume gives even more impressive results. The “voice” button really works and makes any dialogue based programme much easier to hear. Activating the Immersive AE function transforms the sound even more, giving you a wrap around experience with far more clarity and definition. It is a highlight of the system and really does showcase the advances in the technology. The Bluetooth connectivity works well and connecting the HT-G700 to an iPhone was easy and quick. The sound quality from either my audio streaming service or my own music collection both give very impressive results either at background music level or wound up to almost full. But, press the Music sound field and the result is a significantly change to the output of sound-bar giving you a fully immersive concert like delivery. A really impressive feature for music lovers. So far so good, the Sound Bar performance from the TV is extremely impressive, but then I played a Dolby Atmos UHD BlueRay (Mission Impossible Fallout) from my Sony UHD BlueRay player connected directly via the second HDMI connector, and was just blown away by the performance of the HT-G700. The Sound Bar just came to life. Suddenly you are totally immersed in the most impressive wrap around sound giving a real cinema like experience, which from a compact 3.1 system is just amazing. The sound was such that you really did think you had multiple speakers placed around the room and the ceiling. In addition, the impressive sub handled everything that I tried with only a little distortion at max volume. Equally, the Sound Bar also handled everything I tried and is really impressive at both low and high volumes. In conclusion, highlights include premium build quality, overall general performance, remarkably impressive UHD BlueRay Dolby Atmos performance and the price. I have a couple of minor criticisms which are the remote control included just feels a bit disappointing as it’s not quite the same premium build quality, the technically biased instruction manual is quite difficult to understand if you don’t have a technical background and, finally, the lack of HDMI cables.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

8

7

0

Big sound, big piece of kit

HT-G700 16 August 2020 by Duncan (United Kingdom)

I was sceptical if the HT-G700 could improve the experience of watching and listening to TV as I own a Sony Bravia KD-55AF9 which has the best sound I have ever heard from a flat screen TV. However I was wrong as it does improve it. Firstly, the box is quite large once you open it you are greeted with a large sub-woofer, the sound bar, remote control, and relevant wiring (no HDMI cable supplied) The first picture you can see is with the sound-bar in front of my tv cabinet as it is too big to fit in. Also, as my TV has almost no edge putting it in front of the TV blocks the lower 7 centimetres of the screen. You can put it behind the screen, but this does affect the projection of sound from the bar. The sub-woofer is also large but can be positioned behind the cabinet with no reduction in the bass effect. I would suggest checking the dimensions before purchase to ensure it will fit. You can feel by the weight the quality of both components that they are going to be good and the external finish is very high. Set up is simple enough with the sub-woofer automatically connecting to the sound bar. You have four basic settings of sound effect, standard, auto sound, music, and cinema. All give different and distinctive sounds and the difference is very discernible. Then you have a button called voice which enhances the sounds of speaking superbly. Even with the bass bin turned up to a high level this setting allows the speech to be heard with superb clarity. My biggest criticism of other system I have owned is that the voice level is always quite poor compared to other sounds The immersive AE again enhances the sound and is extremely pronounced in action movies. It does give a small feeling of true surround sound but does not give the full effect of having separate speakers behind where you sit. Having said that the sound quality is brilliant. The separate sub- woofer control is a nice touch so if you love your bass turn it up to full and if not, you can select the level. If you turn it up to full you may wish to warn your neighbours first though as the bass is tremendous !! The night button enhances clear sound at low volume, but I could not tell the difference significantly. The remote control is small and does what it needs to do and is simple enough to understand for an amateur like me. If you are lucky to have a TV with quality sound like I have then this will enhance your viewing and listening experience by around 30-40% I would say. However, if you have a cheaper TV with the normal poor quality speakers this will enhance your experience by 100% it is that good. I would definitely recommend it to anybody but just be aware what a big piece of kit this is before buying it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

3

9

0

Fabulous Sound Bar

HT-G700 16 August 2020 by Graham35 (United Kingdom)

This sound bar is a quality piece of equipment both in design, build and also the sounds that it reproduces. When unboxing, it was great to see that everything I needed for my set up was included (cables / batteries etc) to get you up and running straight away. The sound bar and sub woofer units are beautifully designed and would compliment any set up. I was a bit disappointed with the remote unit that was supplied, although very well laid out and functional I felt it was a bit "plasticky" and didn't match the quality and the feel of the sound bar or the sub woofer units. The instructions were really simple to understand with easy set up guides included. All the connection ports were well and easily identified on the sound bar and I was set up in no time. Again using the easy to follow instructions switching on and running through the various features of the new sound bar was really straightforward. This sound bar has a number of sound effects built in dependant upon what type of program you are watching e.g Music, cinema etc and that make a subtle but effective difference to the sound output that really does compliment the viewing experience. In terms of the sound features the Immersive AE is in my opinion by far the best feature. With this switched on the room is filled with even more quality sound from different angles, giving you that real cinematic experience. The all round quality of the sound that is produced by this sound bar is excellent, but the clarity of the voice and dialogue that comes through really is crystal clear, genuinely the best I have heard. The sound bar has lots of features that enable it to integrate seamlessly with your audio /visual system. I connected it to a bluetooth player and streamed music from the music player to the sound bar. I did this literally in seconds with the sound bar being found and connected straight away. This sound bar is a fantastic addition to my entertainment system, with easy set up and use. The quality of the sound is superb for any type of viewing, for me the cinematic experience using the immersive surround experience together with the clarity of the voice dialog is second to none. Overall a really great sound system which I look forward to using for a long time to come and would have no hesitation in recommending to a friend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

6

10

0

Superb Sound Quality

HT-G700 16 August 2020 by Mark26 (United Kingdom)

It was so easy to set up this Sony Soundbar and Subwoofer. Within 5 minutes of opening the box and checking the instructions, I had it connected to my TV and was exploring the sound options. The Soundbar immediately linked wirelessly to the Subwoofer. It is well built and looks, sleek and smart in my living room. Most importantly, it brings my TV to life as with the Immersive Audio Enhancement it feels as if you are right in the action as the clear sound engulfs you. With sound options to suit different types of TV programmes and films it covers everything I need; and when I'm not watching TV, it's now my speaker of choice for playing music via it's bluetooth connection. Superb sound quality and so easy to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

7

18

0

A must have addition to any home entertainment.

HT-G700 15 August 2020 by Rocky (United Kingdom)

A 100% improvement to my viewing pleasure; the HT-G700 takes you to another world. Review of Sony HT-G700 soundbar Disclaimer: The Sony Corporation is not paying me for this review, nor is it influencing my opinion. Reviewed over a ten-day period. The range covered: poetry, speeches, old films with limited special effects, modern films with loud soundtracks, classical music, popular music, TV soaps, TV films news broadcasts, DVDs played from a DVD player, Dolby Atmos demo videos, 4K and 8K demos. My TV is not 4K or 8K so I could not benefit from the Immersive Audio function, but this did not lessen my pleasure of the Dolby soundtracks. I am testing the soundbar with a Panasonic TV; this confirms that the HT-G700 will enhance any TV output, so don’t panic if you have another make of TV, this soundbar will work seamlessly with it Concept: TV sets are very thin therefore the speakers in them are very thin, so they are unable to produce the quality of sound to match the quality of the picture. The remedy is to install a soundbar; but which one? Read on. Unboxing Full marks to Sony for all their packaging to be recyclable. The soundbar weighs about half a stone. Inspection showed that is is a premium product. Well made and balanced with a mat black finish which will not clash with any other equipment. The join between the case and the mesh is uniform, all edges and corners are smooth, showing good design and manufacture. The S/W is a black affair weighing just over a stone. Careful handling is needed due to its weight and all edges and corners being very sharp. Set up Forget the Sony picture; it was most likely taken in a studio setting and probably does not equate to any domestic setup. The picture is misleading by not showing the supply cable which the (S/W) requires, also the S/W will not fit flush to the wall as the supply cable goes in the back and requires at least six inches of clearance so as not to damage the connection. The soundbar goes in front of and below the TV. The S/W position is not critical, so can be positioned to suit your seating arrangement and furniture layout. I placed my S/W centrally in front of the TV and soundbar. Bear in mind that in a normal speaker, the subwoofer is in the same cabinet and underneath the mid-range and treble cone. Take into account the type of floor; mine is floorboards covered with underlay and carpet. Underneath my S/W will be solid joists and spaces between the joists. To mitigate vibration between the S/W and the floor, I have fitted sound damping feet; these also allow a small space beneath the S/W to allow it to disseminate sound from all its surfaces. At full blast, the S/W cabinet vibrates only slightly, proving that the speaker cones are well-damped, but also showing the benefit of sound damping feet. Connections are: HDMI cable (not supplied) and an optical cable (supplied) between the bar and the TV and a voltage supply to the rear of the S/W. The optical cable is like a piece of spring steel and has a mind of its own. Match the optical cable plug by the curved surface on the cable and socket, do not just do it by trial and error and risk damaging the plug or socket. I fitted a high-quality HDMI cable and joined a film streaming supplier so as to test as many films as I could. Match sound to picture The essential requirement for a soundbar is that the sound and picture are precisely coordinated; the HT-G700 achieves this perfectly. The speaker arrangement ensures you experience the pleasure of surround sound. Films I have played all types of films, as that is probably when the HT-G700 will be most often used to its best advantage. The HT-G700 uplifts all my DVD’s when playing them from my DVD player. Old films with limited special effects (e.g.: Casablanca) have their dialogue improved by the crystal clear central speaker Music videos I have tested the HT-G700 with all aspects of music, so I included opera. My opinion of opera was that it is music for people who don’t like music. I’m glad I did play some opera, as it has changed my opinion dramatically, I have become a fan of some of it (but not all). The arias from Madam Butterfly, the Flower Duet from Lakme, and Nessun Dorma, are all worth a listen. Makes no difference who the orchestra or singers are; they are all totally professional. The songs all mostly sung in Italian, but do not be tempted to use subtitles; the music is superb, but the lyrics are laughable. Old recordings of popular songs are played to today’s standards and probably sound better than they did when played back on record players in use years ago. Overall sound quality is excellent. Voice Male voice: Richard Burton gives a perfect demonstration of the HT-G700’s ability to bring out the best of the spoken word. Play a clip of him giving his ‘To be or not to be’ monologue; and as Henry the Fifth giving his Saint Crispin day speech (apologies to any French reader). Female voice: The ultimate female voice is anything by Tara Fitzgerald. She and the HT-G700 complement each other beautifully and bring out the best in both. Sound effects I played all of the demo pieces available: thunder and lightning, a walk in the forest, surf, or jet planes taking off, the reproduction is totally realistic. A film with Dolby Atmos has a terrific soundtrack, so be ready with the remote control to raise the sound when there is dialogue and lower it again to suit the sound effects output. Remote control The remote control is a slim device, well laid out with clear engraving. It pays to test all the different choices when playing anything on the TV. Additional benefit My wife’s idea of compensating for her diminished hearing is to play everything loud, causing me a great deal of discomfort. The HT-G700 makes it possible to hear the sound at much lower levels thanks to its crystal clear central voice and surround sound, thereby improving marital harmony. Minor quibbles: Misleading picture, the instruction book could be bigger, the text is very small None of these quibbles affect the performance of HT-G700. Summary A treat for the ears, and a great addition to the viewing pleasure; a must-have for anyone wanting to improve their home entertainment. If I have influenced anyone to buy this, then I have done them a great service.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

8

14

0

very good sound

HT-G700 13 August 2020 by mazda (United Kingdom)

Positives: From opening the box, to final setup was so easy, virtually plug and play, it’s that easy. The sound from the soundbar is detailed and gives the impression of a very large soundstage, whilst giving a very good Atmos surround sound experience. The sound quality is very good, bright, but not harsh, transition from soundbar to subwoofer is seamless, and provides a full and powerful sound. The subwoofer is very easy to setup and like the soundbar plug and play. The sound from the subwoofer is powerful and controlled, producing deep controlled bass lines. Watching action movies is so good, with huge detailed sound, almost like being there. Negative: none Overall: Very impressed with the build quality, and sound, brilliant, well done Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

9

0

Great Sound and Simple Operation

HT-G700 12 August 2020 by Craigy1631 (United Kingdom)

Soundbar and subwoofer arrived in a well protected box and packing. For me the first proof point of any new tech is my ability to get it up and running without reference to any user manuals. Pleased to say that two power cables and one hdmi connector later and the soundbar was up and running. The supplied optical cable would have done the job but my preference is hdmi. Bluetooth TV connection is also a useful option. My intention is to use for both TV and music so next up was Bluetooth mobile phone connection. Again this worked first time and I really liked the way the soundbar display showed the make/model of my phone to avoid confusion. Streaming my favourite tunes in HD greatly exceeded expectations as soundbars often struggle with music quality. 50% volume filled a medium sized room with clarity and depth. If required the different speakers and sub can be adjusted independently but I have to say the default options sound right to me. The difference between the TV native speakers and the new soundbar is remarkable. For me the speech clarity on basic programming is exceptionally good. The volume can be adjusted using the soundbar or TV remote for flexibility. With Dolby blockbusters the surround sound comes into its own. The multichannel recordings are well handled and deliver a really engaging atmosphere. At present I have limited access to Dolby Atmos content however what I have gives a noticeablely wider soudstage which I was skeptical would be the case. Overall this is a high quality soundbar which will significantly enhance your listening for both TV and music. While not an issue for me both the bar and sub are aesthetically pleasing if using in your main living room.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

11

0

Great

HT-G700 10 August 2020 by Krejzi_manki (USA)

For gaming and movies GREAT, for music: not so great, it sounds the same as every other "cheaper" soundbar.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

SONY ONLY

HTG700 02 August 2020 by Allstr2love (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently bought a NEW Sony XBR65X900H TV. I've done my due diligence and research and decided to get the Sony because I wanted a tv with ATSC 3.0 ready to go.Upon purchase of my new tv, I come to find out it's not compatible with my existing soundbar that had. I was looking already to upgrade my soundbar too when I bought my tv. So I went with an ATMOS soundbar. My tv works with sony only products.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Great sound

HT-G700 31 July 2020 by MarvelManiac (USA)

Had it for two weeks, bass is great for my apartment, the sound really fills the room and feels like you are really immersed when watching a movie. Watching Marvel movies are awesome! Maybe doesn’t have the best “surround sound” but good enough for me as I do not have enough room for extra speakers in my living room. Definitely a better upgrade over my LG C9 Tv speakers! Definitely recommend you getting this especially for this price I think It’s a great sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2