187

3.8 based on 187 customer reviews

67
62
24
13
21
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Needs rear speakers

HT-ST5000 20 January 2018 by Fordster (USA)

I bought this in December and the sound is great is you crank it up . Need rear speakers to get the full surround sound . I hope they come up with a fix because the sound bar was not cheap and I would like to buy rear Sony speakers for it..

106

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

PLEASE PUSH A FIRMWARE UPDATE FOR REAR SPEAKERS

HT-ST5000 30 March 2018 by MJConte (USA)

I’ve read every single review on this page and 95 % of owners are begging, pleading for the same thing-REAR SPEAKER SUPPORT!!! Why aren’t you listening to your customers Sony? Giving us the same canned answer over and over “We’ll pass this along....we take your input seriously, etc., etc. is meaningless. Actions speak louder than words Sony. Push a firmware update and make this sound bar truly top of the line. Why wouldn’t you want to sell more surround speakers to pair with this sound bar?? Even if you don’t care about your customers, you have to care about revenue.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

83

0

187 Customer Reviews

0

Great sound bar!

HTST5000 20 February 2020 by fajardo23 (USA)

I bought this soley was a replacement to my previous soundbar and to reduce the amount of speakers in my apartment, but was it worth the money? YES ABSOLUTELY!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great replacement for components based home theatr

HT-ST5000//MSP1 18 February 2020 by babychin (Singapore)

From components based home theatre with AVR, speakers and cables running all over your living room, I replaced all of them with another competitor’s wifi based wireless speakers. Alas, these speakers did not have the “impact” when you watch movies as its bass was only so-so. Jo support for Atmos & DTS. After one year, I replaced it with Sony. Boy, just realised the bass I was missing! Could do better with add-on surround speakers to enhance the rear-fill.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Slightly above average

HTST5000 09 February 2020 by finfan (USA)

Had an older Definitive Technology Sound Bar, wanted Atmos and some other features that my current sounder was lacking. The Definitive seems to have better quality speakers and overall higher quality system, but the Sony looks nicer and the Atmos is pretty amazing. The sound Quality is good but not sure its worth the price tag compared to the Definitive Soundbar.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Voice or vocal is soft

HT-ST5000//MSP1 29 January 2020 by enquirelim (Singapore)

Is there a way to adjust the Center channel for louder voice or vocal

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony 7.1.2 Soundbar Thunders!

HT-ST5000//MSP1 21 January 2020 by Chia Chia Chia (Singapore)

Love it! Enjoying it! Solid Sub Woofer! Family favourite mode is the 3D Sound selection.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

No worth your hard earned money

HTST5000 20 January 2020 by rvdp (USA)

If it is ATMOS (or 5.1 for that matter) you are looking for, please do not buy this product. if it works, it sounds great and the Subwoofer is awesome (I will have to give them that)... but when it warms up, the front firing drivers of the soundbar start to distort.. Please see/hear the attached video. I am not the only person who is having this issue and Sony is unwilling to provide me with proper support (Other than me shipping it to a 3rd party repair center at the other side of the country) This is a inherent flaw with the device.. I suspect related to a firmware update.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

3

1

0

Brilliant Soundbar

HT-ST5000//MSP1 18 January 2020 by dbak (Singapore)

Absolutely brilliant Soundbar that handles multiple formats with ease. Wireless streaming, hi def music, Dolby Atmos. Comes with wireless subwoofer for ease of placement.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Subwoofer occasionally cracking sound

HT-ST5000//MSP1 08 January 2020 by Simon lyc (Singapore)

Subwoofer occasionally produce cracking sound otherwise this is an excellent product from a soundbar I ever heard thus far. Hopefully there will be a firmware update in near future to eliminate the subwoofer issue.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Worst Sound bar we bought!

HT-ST5000 31 December 2019 by Lopez Family (USA)

We are Sony customers through and through, from our TV's, xperia phones, playstations, and sound bars. So when Sony said that they were coming out with a sound bar that made the movie watching experience better we were all over it. After only a short time from purchase, we started experiencing some crackling sounds from the sub woofer. Every time we did, we would call Sony or best buy and they would give us trouble shooting tips and they would work for a short time but than the crackling would return. We finally took the sound bar into Best Buy and after they could not find the issue, let us trade it in for the same sound bar (thinking it was just that sound bar). We had the new speaker for about a couple weeks before we had the same issue. Frustrated we called Sony and they had us send the speaker in (costing us $65 in shipping costs) for repairs. It took about a month and we received our speaker and thought it was over. But no later than a couple days was that pesky sub woofer crackling sound was back. We have to do all the trouble shooting again and now they want us to send it back in again to check for issues. ENOUGH!!!! we are so done with this entire mess!!!! We are just going to keep sending it back to Best Buy until they deem it "junked out" and trade it for a different speaker, probably not a Sony. After all the run around and about a year of this back and forth we are just tired. Sony cannot admit that the speaker that was put out has issues and anything can cause interference even though it is only a couple feet away from the bar itself. Just disappointed with the speaker and the run around that we have been given throughout this process. I understand having to check everything but when a customer pays that much money for a product and we still can't get the help we need or quality we paid for. We are willing to pay the difference to get a better product but it has been so difficult to just get a working soundbar to enjoy the movies that we purchase. From the sound of it my husband is just tired of what Sony has done and has put out. The image of Sony that he held so high has now been tarnished. He used to call Samsung "Sam-sucks" but it is looking like he is ready to go to the darkside and purchase one due to this whole experience.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

Overpriced, poorly defined sound and NO support

HT-ST5000 24 December 2019 by XISBURGER (USA)

I was HYPED after reading all the amazing reviews the product got in SEVERAL websites. It is extremely clear now that ALL of them where totally paid to praise the bar. No serious reviewer would agree that this is a premium quality HIFI soundbar. Mids are distorted and shallow no matter the volume. All sound scenes sound extremely artificial. You either get something that feels to be coming out from an cheap ear but but pushed by 800w of power or just a massive BOOM from the subwoofer. At least, the sub woofer and overall volumes deliver. But if the sound is distorted, out of pitch, from the get go, what us is it? Not happy at all. Shame on me for missing the return windows on this one. I own the product for a year now. Also, web functionalities are not helpful. Nothing connects. I wrote to Sony support asking for help several times only the get the same poor untrained and unhelpful response of a copy and past from the troubleshoot web page and asking me to call them if the problem was not solved. CALL? THERE IS A REASON I AM WRITING for Gods sake. I don't have time to be on a call during working hours as I am also WORKING. No updated firmware in a year, old chromecast version, no support from other streaming services. It's a joke for a flagship product. Anyhow. Do not recommend the product. Will not buy a Sony sound bar again.(although I like my TV) Get a Yamaha or Sennheiser AMBEO Instead.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

1

0

Sounds great! Needs rear speakers

HT-ST5000 22 December 2019 by Kyleg25 (USA)

I've had this for a few weeks now, love the sound but the fact it doesn't have rear speakers is probably going to lead me in just selling them and going with someone else. If there's no rear speaker support their only as good as the cheap ones. At this price point I expect the most features. Your cheaper ones have this option so it really made my purchase feel like a bad mistake.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

excellent sound bar

HT-ST5000 13 December 2019 by Harry529 (USA)

I want to know , what speaker setting is best for large rooms? I have did set the ceiling height and distance . Just want to know the figure settings for all the speaker in sound bar .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

5

0

It's ok.

HTST5000 08 December 2019 by Smith00 (USA)

We moved to a smaller living room with a fireplace and needed something that could go on the mantel. I've tried adjusting the height setting, but I'm not getting what I should out of the price I paid for it when it comes to atmos and surround sound. We're military, so we'll move again in a few years, this will end up in the bedroom next. Probably a better spot for it. As for the quality: Mid's are shallow if there at all. Wireless sub frequently has interference despite trying all the frequency options, sounds like a loose wire. The bar itself is pretty good for its size when it comes to separation and filling a room.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Great Projector

HTST5000 06 December 2019 by CarlGable20 (USA)

This projector was great unfortunately a burglar stole it but I will definitely recommend it to someone else

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Wireless Problem With Sub-Woofer

HT-ST5000 05 December 2019 by Occam (USA)

Having issue with interference with wireless sub-woofer. 2nd unit with same issue. Sony CT-260 works fine in 'same' application. My SWAG is 'shielding' missing that is present in CT-260, or new component not shielded. https://us.community.sony.com/s/question/0D50B00004IL27gSAD/htst5000-stutteringpopping-noise-from-subwoofer?language=en_US&t=1575562998295&searchQuery=

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Best Sounding Soundbar

HT-ST5000 03 December 2019 by Tdizzle67 (USA)

I have had the HT-ST5000 for a little over 10 months and I continue to be amazed by how good this sound bar is. I recently made some configuration changes to the HT-ST5000 and all I can say is Wow! I found the best setting for me is once you dial in the distance, height and DB adjustments. Turn off the sound field option and let the effects from the source take over. IMHO this will give you the best listening experience. Also make sure you enable DTS. I watched Hacksaw Ridge and Blade Runner 2049 and was absolutely amazed by the sound. Dolby Atmos is amazing with this setup. Also please understand that mileage will very based on your room. Would the HT-ST5000 be a total kick-butt SB with rear speakers yes, but don't let that lack of rears stop you. Voices are clear, explosions and effects are realistic and 3 dimensional. If you are in the market for a SB please go get the HT-ST5000, you will not be disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Drivers are buzzing after 1 year

HT-ST5000 29 November 2019 by Jack007shaken (USA)

This sound bar was great the first 11 months or so of ownership, but then right before the warranty expired the speakers started buzzing. I had to pack it up and send in for warranty repair but they could not duplicate the issue. The first night I received the sound bar back it still buzzed after playing a movie. After playing content on level 30 to 35, like a blu Ray movie, vocals begin to develop a buzz distortion. Tapping on the driver temporarily fixes the issue but it comes back. Now the sound bar is barely out of warranty and I can’t enjoy movies.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

This bar really is easy to use

HT-ST5000 27 October 2019 by 2mike6 (United Kingdom)

I’m still getting used to all the features but delighted so far, set up was easy including the bluetooth connections. I have seen reviews moaning about the woofer unit mine works well and can be adjusted to play music of all genre just as they sound in reality. Pleased with purchase despite the price tag it IS WORTH IT !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Product is a lemon - not sure what to do

HT-ST5000 13 October 2019 by V Mendi (USA)

We purchased our Sound Bar from Magnolia at Best Buy less than a year ago, and the speaker randomly shuts off, there is a popping noise while the speaker is on, recently the speaker has been sending out a high pitch screeching noise, and now it has fully stopped working. When we called Best Buy to try and exchange the product, they directed us to Sony's "warranty" service since we've had the product for a while. For $1500, we expected this sound bar at LEAST a year, but it has not even done that.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Spectacular

HTST5000 03 October 2019 by Mgobugsy (USA)

Spectacular. Couldn't be happier. Replaced two outstanding Polk fronts, center, and surrounds.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Humming

HT-ST5000 16 September 2019 by bruce95 (USA)

Is it normal to hear a humming noise while sitting close to the subwoofer?

Design

Good

0

1

0

Dope sound

HTST5000 12 September 2019 by CarlGable (USA)

this has the best sound from a soundbar that I ever heard

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Sound Bar

HT-ST5000 07 September 2019 by Henry L (USA)

I bought this Sound Bar to pair with the XBR85X850F TV. The sound is great but the it takes about 2-3 seconds to switch from one Input to another. The biggest complaint I have on this Sound bar is that the unit comes with out wall mounting bracket/hardware.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb Sound

HT-ST5000 05 September 2019 by BenLLLLLL (United Kingdom)

I have had this for a couple of years and the sound is amazing. It really ramps up the movie experience as Dolby Atmos and DTS X fill the room with sound and helps create the atmosphere of the image on screen. Only downside is connectivity hiccups when changing devices. I have Sky Q, Sony 4K Bluray and PS4 connected and sometimes takes a while for the sound bar to register which device is playing. Not a major issue but a little annoying.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Great products

HTST5000 06 August 2019 by Gokuss17 (USA)

I bought this but lately I been having trouble with the subwoofer.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Best but far from perfect

HT-ST5000 28 July 2019 by Viktorf3 (USA)

This is definitely one of the best sound bars on the market. Features and sound are very good. Despite the enhanced voice control, voices still not great a low level. I wouldn’t recommend it because it doesn’t support rear speakers which I wasn’t aware of at the time of purchase. I would not have purchased it if I knew that. I expected more from Sony but won’t assume or trust Sony again.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

2

0

My sound bar sounded great until...

HT-ST5000 24 July 2019 by Chrisl113 (USA)

The reviews are right about the sub sounding great. The soundbar is impressive, considering it’s a soundbar. People expecting this to replace a full set of separates will be disappointed. Rear speakers would be nice. My unfortunate problem is that after running for a few hours the bar gets a distorted sound in the main speakers, (not the center, or up firing speakers). My tv runs a lot sometimes because my kids watch Netflix a lot. At first, I thought the sound was a Netflix problem, because if you research sound problems from Netflix you’ll find a lot of ppl having problems. So I just suffered through it thinking it was software related. Unfortunately for me, the problem first presented itself at the end of the first year (within warranty period). A few months later, I was watching a 4K blu ray. (My only connected components are the Sony 4K player, this Sony soundbar, and a 75” Sony tv. The soundtrack from the 4K Blu-ray still had the distorted sound, which pointed me towards the actual soundbar. After contacting Sony, they said since it was now out of the 1 yr warranty, there was nothing they could do. After making my case to them, they agreed to send it to the authorized Sony repair company in New York. After they had the bar for a week, they couldn’t replicate the issue... this was very frustrating. So they sent it back, and sure enough, the problem persisted. It got to the point where I just disconnected the soundbar and just started using the tv speakers. Last week I finally mustered up the time to troubleshoot, to make sure it’s the sound bar and not the tv, or 4K player, or a connection. So I plugged the bar into another tv, with no other connections, and sure enough it still has the distorted sound. The sound is similar to the distortion of a vinyl record. I feel it gets worse with time on, like the amplifier gets hot or something, and it’s especially noticeable on louder scenes. But even voice dialogue has the distorted sound. It’s bad enough to where my wife started to complain about it, and that’s really saying something. At this point I’m really frustrated and don’t know what to do, I spent almost $5k on an all Sony setup, hoping that same brand products work better together. This $1500 sound bar has really let me down, and I just want it to get fixed, because it really does have some of the best sound you can get when it doesn’t have the distorted sound. I’m hoping someone from Sony can help! (The video I’m attaching is an example, and almost sounds like a bad cell phone sound, but is 100% the soundbar distortion)

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

9

1

0

Amazing Sound - Especially with Netflix

HTST5000 15 July 2019 by SD Werewolf (USA)

We bought the HT-ST5000 roughly a month ago with a new Sony 75" 950G TV. I must say, the sound bar is awesome with our Apple TV but it seriously shines when used with the Netflix mode on the 950G. The sound is spectacular. This TV/Soundbar combo is the best AV purchase we've ever made.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

sucks

HT-ST5000 12 July 2019 by ronnie 71 (USA)

Dont waste your money on this sound bar, such a disappointment!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

15

0

Great Sound but missing full Surround Sound

HT-ST5000 12 July 2019 by jim993 (USA)

This is a great soundbar. The audio quality is excellent but the Dolby Atmos is lacking full effect. As others have stated, Please add support for rear speakers(like HT-Z9F) to give Full surround experience.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

1

0

Excellent Sound but Have Wifi-Interference

HT-ST5000//MSP1 07 July 2019 by Patclay (Singapore)

I bought this set in June 2019. It sounded great when I first connected, however after 15 mins, I could hear intermittent “pop” sound from the subwoofer. I tried to shut down and turned the soundbar on and off a few times but the “pop” sound was still audible. In the end I called Sony to bring the set back for repair. Days later Sony replied the fault was due to interference from my home wifi device, and Sony suggested I shift my subwoofer to different locations in my home to identify the best placement. I found the reply ridiculous because almost all household are equipped with wifi devices nowadays, and being a set that is in the market for less than 3 years old, the R&D of Sony should have anticipated this problem. Nevertheless I tried putting my subwoofer as far I could at a corner of the living room, and for this one week, the “pop” sound issue did not surface, and I hope to keep it this way. Apart from the “pop” issue, the ST5000 is actually a superb soundbar with powerful bass and clear midrange audio. I mostly listen to vocal music and I was amazed how engaging the sound is by playing music contents from YouTube. I was using the manual settings to set the distance between the soundbar and subwoofer to my sofa for optimal listening experience, and I am quite satisfied with the performance. I would recommend if you do not have the luxury or space of adding a surround speakers at the back of your sitting position. If there are no wifi interference issues, then this would be one of the best soundbar to get,m.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The Sound is Awesome

HTST5000 03 July 2019 by BenDiesel (USA)

This is the sound that I was looking for this is great with my Projector or my television from Sony I am extremely pleased with my decision at first I was skeptical because it was expensive but I am glad I purchased two of these

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Looks good and feel good

HT-ST5000//MSP1 28 June 2019 by LauTer (Singapore)

I tried a few different brands with about the same price range and finally decided on Sony as it looks pleasing aesthetically and sound quality is very good too.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Surround Sound without tear channels.

HTST5000 19 June 2019 by Tator78 (USA)

Clear and loud when it is wanted. Night mode is good for when the kids are in bed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Excellent Sound

HT-ST5000 08 June 2019 by Oyodin (United Kingdom)

This soundbar has excellent sound and clarity but let down by not being able to add rear Sony speakers which it desperately needs when cheaper soundbars in the Sony range can! I did not realise this at the time of purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

19

3

0

Could have, should have, would have!

HT-ST5000 23 May 2019 by LDDC7080 (United Kingdom)

I have owned my sound bar for nearly 2 years. I jumped onto the band wagon of wanting this 3d sound or atmos as its called. from my point of view getting the effect to stand out is difficult and i needed to boost the top firing speakers upto maximum level to hear it. a positive of the soundbar however is the dialogue. my experience of surround sound systems has always been that the dialogue can be washed away by the effects coming from the Front and back stereo speakers. not in this case. the clarity of the voices are very clear there is also an option to boost it like the top firing speakers. the effects can be a little bit underwhelming, but this is a soundbar and its never going to portray something behind you without a speaker there. The sub unit is very impressive(when it works) the unit has 2 drivers in the cabinet a forward facing speaker 8" i think and a oval shaped down facing one. the bass is room shaking if you wish and very powerful. one tip i have found from owning the soundbar and if you can i would advise you to do the same is to have the unit at your eye level and obviously the TV above it. it makes the sound feel much wider because the unit is over 1m wide getting something to put it on may be a challenge, but i used my dining room sideboard which was of the right height and wide enough to fit the unit on. it really makes a difference. The last point is no option of rear speakers! Sony now sell a unit that is capable of this, why do they not make a software fix so that users of the HT-ST5000 can also add the option rear speakers? a shame if you ask me. If i had my time again i think i would have taken my £1500 and purchased a group of separates but only hindsight is twenty-twenty

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

16

0

0

WOW DISSAPOINTED

HT-ST5000 07 May 2019 by Roygjr (USA)

PURCHASED THIS SOUND BAR TO REPLACE A TRADITIONAL HOME THEATER SYSTEM. BASED ON PUBLISHED INFO AND THE PROMISE OF IMMERSIVE ATMOS EXPERIENCE I WAS EXCITED TO ADD THIS TO MY HOME. IAM TOTALLY DISSAPOINTED IN THE LACK OF THEATHER SOUND, SURROUND SOUND EFFECT, OR SO CALLED DOLBY ATMOS EXPERIENCE. BASICALLY THIS IS A REALLY NICE EXTERNAL SPEAKER...…..DOES NOT PERFORM AS ADVERTISED. PROMISES MADE BY SONY AND THE RETAILER JUST DONT LIVE UP TO THE HYPE. HONESTLY FEEL MISLEAD BY WHAT THIS CAN DO. FOR THE COST I TRUELY EXPECTED MORE! DISSATIFIED TO SAY THE LEAST.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

7

0

0

Awesome Sound Bar! Great features

HTST5000 28 April 2019 by Wolfman Jack (USA)

Bought this a month ago and I’m so happy with the purchase. I can now game/hear movies/ hear music to my Bose Q35 Blue tooth headphones via the sound bar...I live in an apartment and can now truly enjoy all types of media quietly without bothering others around me. Sound is beautiful and sound thru the sound bar is amazing. Great Purchase and highly recommend

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great Soundbar

HT-ST5000//MSP1 28 April 2019  (Singapore)

Great Sound,get hot if use after 1 hour, turns on and off the system is slow,I hope next firmware update auto sound,wireless surround to add rear surround speakers like ZR5

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Video upscaling, non existent Dolby ATMOS

HT-ST5000 24 April 2019 by Nickname Goes Here (United Kingdom)

The audio visual aspect of this speaker is very good - read other reviews for specifics. I want to point out however that the Dolby ATMOS from this sound bar is non existent. There is zero 3D sound and any claim that you will hear sounds above you (bouncing off the ceiling) is pure marketing. The rest of what is provided in this package is very good - I have no regrets purchasing it, I just wish I'd know how effective the ATMOS was before buying as I would have opted for a multi speaker option instead.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

6

0

Best soundbar(incomplete) with missing rear!!

HT-ST5000 17 April 2019 by Tauhid (USA)

I have been using this over 2 months. I am very please with the quality when it plays Music. I bought a Dolby Atmos soundbar to watch movies and have immersive experience. Without the rear speakers, it seems to be missing, incomplete. While watching a movie, there are so many times I would feel for a need of rear speakers. I would have given these 5 starts with the rear wireless speakers. It's an expensive soundbar, I would have expected more or it to be complete.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

0

0

Has Sound Issues

HT-ST5000 14 April 2019 by Jimmer001 (United Kingdom)

I bought this December 2018 and it is fantastic sounding soundbar.........but and this has to be software related it will not play DTS or DTX sound without part through a film just randomly start playing a very loud continuous tone. Unfortunately this means half my 4k bluray collection is unplayable i have tried factory resets as recommended by the Sony Community but nothing works...frustrating for such a high priced product i have seen others on YouTube and here with the same issue so it's not just me.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

Unhappy

HTST5000 04 April 2019 by upset32 (USA)

Left speaker bad after a few months horrible solution to repair.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

2

0

Great soundbar sad remote

HT-ST5000 29 March 2019 by RI Mike (USA)

First I want to say I have only had the bar a couple days. The sound is amazing and I can't wait to keep playing with it and dialing it in. BUT IR Remote. Serious? Even my cable box isn't IR anymore

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A Well Thought Out Product!

HT-ST5000//MSP1 26 March 2019 by SeismicVerse10 (Singapore)

I am not a big fan when it comes to sound bars. After listening to several premium and not so premium soundbars, I think Sony has managed to pull it off with HT-ST5000. Depending on the content and soundbar placement where your tv should not block your up firing atmos speakers, the frontal atmos effect is convincing, exciting at times. Ready Player One, the chapter 2 race scene is a great example of this! Front speaker effects are clear and detailed! Sheer Seismic power of the subwoofer, not a boombox though, articulates precisely to the requirement of the sound recording. Very agile and versatile indeed. Having said that, future iterations could improve the mid range bass of the coaxial drivers and add 4 or 5 hdmi inputs. There is still room for improvement in the TV audio and musical stereo. Dialogue and vocal should sound louder where I feel is a little to the soft side even though u can increase 2 notches up. Options to tune left, centre and right speakers would be wonderful! I would definitely welcome the addition of treble/bass tuning options in the next firmware update which I hope happens soon with the option to add rear atmos/normal surround speakers just like the Sony Z9F. The last missing piece/link to this already fantastic product is definitely the option to add rear channels which I believe Sony will be able to do so very soon. This soundbar is the perfect solution for home theater enthusiasts who just dun have the space or room size for a dedicated full range discrete Atmos or DTS X system for now.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

0

HT-ST5000. Needs Rear Speakers

HT-ST5000 11 March 2019 by not applicable2 (USA)

I purchased HT-ST5000 a month ago. The front speakers are heads and shoulders in power above the BOSE 300 and lifestyle 650 which I replaced. The setup was very easy (almost plug and play) compared to the effort to get BOSE to work. Love the HT-ST5000 bluetooth transmitter for my BOSE head set. No need for an external transmitter anymore The Atmos/DTS seems to be just a lot of hype, not effective. The HT-ST5000 requires rear speakers to make it an excellent system. Was hard pressed to give a four star (good) rating without the rear speakers, but the sound coming out of the HT-ST5000, base module, and features are very good. Rear speakers would make HT-ST5000 excellent to exceptional. Sony get on it and please provide rear speakers.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

36

1

0

Has Issues

HT-ST5000 10 March 2019 by Tk426 (United Kingdom)

It’s a bit of a beast and when I got it I was impressed off the bat, it feels the room with a great immersive sound. The wireless sub was easy to setup and had been a solid performer. Sadly my disappointment started when the unit started emitting a high pitch sound randomly when watching movies, in the example attached 40mins into LoTR this happened, it’s not just this film and always at different times. I’ve replaced cables and my Blu-ray player. Now I dread having anyone over to watch a film

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

Top sound bar

HT-ST5000 01 March 2019 by nirrom (United Kingdom)

I bought this soundbar after reading reviews about it and i must say that it is every bit as good as reviews suggest. The only downside is the price is very expensive but if you can afford it buy with confidance

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Good product

HT-ST5000 01 March 2019 by Pete3460 (United Kingdom)

Bought this item 2 weeks ago. For the price, i am not impressed

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

6

0

Great sound

HT-ST5000//MSP1 26 February 2019 by Martin64 (Singapore)

I brought it one month ago and the performance is excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound, poor quality.

HT-ST5000 23 February 2019 by Cnazy (USA)

The sound is amazing when it works. Perfect unit for a smaller room and love the sound. I've had mine for almost a year and I just had it sent in for repairs. The left speakers went out. Had lots of static and weird buzzing coming from that side. For the price I would of expected better quality. This should of lasted me a few years without any issues. Instead it needed repairs in under a year.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Rear wireless speaker is must

HT-ST5000 18 February 2019 by sanju8421 (USA)

True 7.1 is missing, perhaps I couldn't even feel 2.1 sound clearly. Hopeless

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

31

2

0

Amazing sound quality & sound solution for my us.

HT-ST5000 17 February 2019 by Abhijeet (USA)

We purchased our HT-ST5000 system from Magnolia Best Buy and I have to say the sales representative did a great job at identifying our needs and recommend Sony HT-ST5000. Purchased (PX exchange) and returned a Sonos Play 5 which did not fulfill my requirements and before buying the soundbar. Will recommend going to Best Buy Magnolia or any similar store where a sales representative can identify your needs and offer you the best solution. I always believed that 7.1 or 5.1 speaker will clutter my rooms with speakers or wires but this speaker delivers even better sound quality with only 2 equipment- A soundbar and a sub-woofer.I have been to movie theaters with Dolby Atmos but the experience I had at home was jaw dropping. I could never image speakers and sound system of such high quality. Pros : + 1 sound bar system solution. + No wires or cables. + Control everything from your laptop or mobile device. My wife and I can even play songs from our bedroom. My wife loves this feature with Spotify connect. + Built in Chrome cast helps save our cellphone battery compared to Bluetooth. We observed, you can experiment for yourself. + Elegant and love brush metal finish. + Magnetic cover flap helps customize the speaker and match your room decor. + Comes with sub-woofer. + I personally have never experienced such high quality sound anywhere, not even in movie theaters. + Future ATMOS technology. + Easy setup and installation. + Favorite part is that room does not look cluttered. + LCD display on the soundbar tells you the input- Bluettoth, TV, HDMI 1 etc. + Sound does not hurt ears unlike some other speakers at high volume. Remains crystal clear and you can fell high, mid and lows. Amazed. + Absolutely recommend everyone. Areas of improvement : - Price- was hesitant to purchase (average middle class family) at first but am convinced to keep this speaker for what it offers. - Requires 4k TV for ATMOS movies. On the contrary you can stream from your cellphone ATMOS content.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Needs rear speaker support

HT-ST5000 12 February 2019 by keith438 (USA)

I've had this soundbar for 1 year now. This replaced a full 5.1 setup. The sound is very good, but like everyone else says, this definitely needs rear speakers and this system will be great. I would be more than willing to purchase them from Sony. Please make this happen so I don't have to sell this unit and buy a whole new system.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

39

0

0

Need Rear Speaker

HT-ST5000 12 February 2019 by tcatl123 (USA)

Great sound system. However, it does need rear speaker for it to be perfect. For the price, I do not follow why Sony wouldn't make it available.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

32

0

0

Mediocre at Best!

HT-ST5000 11 February 2019 by RJSK (USA)

Ok sound quality but not worth the money, I am extremely disappointed!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

7

0

0

Great product, Great sound!!!!!!!

HT-ST5000 03 February 2019 by Jblake (USA)

I Purchased this two weeks ago and it’s a great product for the money!!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Speakers Sound Distorted

HT-ST5000 25 January 2019 by JacobC1234 (USA)

I just received this product today and I began to notice that while hooked up to my phone via bluetooth there was a noticeable buzzing/distorted sound coming from either the speakers or subwoofer. I thought it was just the music I was playing so I tried a netflix movie and I still got the same distorted sounds. After doing a little research I noticed other customers have had the same issue. I'm sending mine back tomorrow, I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

8

6

0

Nice product, but ...

HTST5000 21 January 2019 by Pauljw (USA)

Great immersive and full sound. You will get DTS-X and Dolby Atmos, but it won't reach behind, nor is it true Atmos sound above. It''t tricky. As noted, the souns is immersive and will pop your ears from side-to side and full, meaning, it's like sitting in a bubble and enjoyable. The system sould have rear speakers. Note to Sony. Listen to what customers want before releasing a product. You'll blow away the competition if you do. I have found the wireless link between sub-woofer and main unit to be iffy. Sometimes it connects and sometimes it doesn't. For the price this connection should be a no brainer. But sorry to say it doesn't always connect. Another missed opportunity is the display screen. I don't care what assurances the engineers give that it works, customers want to see the words "Dolby Atmos" or "DTS-X" showing when the signal us derected. These observations are not meant to take away from the impressive sound, but simply to point out that this sound system can and should be improved

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Distortion/buzzing speakers after a year

HT-ST5000 15 January 2019 by Baker77 (USA)

Center channel speaker is starting to buzz/distort on certain vocal frequencies. Not the quality level I'd expect from a product at this MSRP. Was decent enough up until now, but since it's out of warranty I think money would have been better spent on a component system. Atmos effect is good with the right content. Rear surround support would have been nice. Overall a disappointment mostly due to the short lifespan.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great product loved it so much bought another

HT-ST5000 12 January 2019 by JagR61 (United Kingdom)

I liked it so much decided not to put speakers in the ceiling when re-doing house, purchased additional hi-res speakers and hid them behind curtain palmets in each room. wired through Ethernet and got electrician to add electrical socket behind curtain pelmets. Sounds great when grouping speakers using google products.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Simple

HT-ST5000 28 December 2018 by swatts1 (USA)

As stated in almost every review... needs the ability to support rear speakers ie. 9.1.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

26

0

0

Much more than a soundbar!!!

HTST5000 26 December 2018 by Paulius2112 (USA)

Unrivaled sound quality. Completely fills very large room with thunderous and excellent Quality Music, and makes a complete surround sound system without the use of a receiver. Many cutting-edge Edge Technologies and services built in.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

LOVE IT!! KILLER SOUNDS

HTST5000 22 December 2018 by Lockman (USA)

Bought this system based on a recommendation from store employee. It has lived up to their recommendation

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

It’s the real thing

HTST5000 22 December 2018 by Jamc04 (USA)

I’m very happy now l feel full of sound to enjoy the fine quality

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent sounding system

HTST5000 12 December 2018 by Steveb17 (USA)

This system goes in the elite category. Great 3D surround sound!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound

HTST5000 11 December 2018 by Smdame (USA)

Didn’t,t think I would ever replace my Denon receiver and definitive technology pro cinema 600 speaker system both where pretty high end with great sound but wife got tired of wires and could not figure out how to use it. Listened to this sound bar at Best Buy was so impressed bought it on the spot movies sound amazing Dolby atoms works well bass is great not to boomy music is not quite as good but not bad. only negative is that you can’t connect to internet to use online music like receiver could only Bluetooth from phone or tablet

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Sony ST5000 Atmos soundbar

HT-ST5000//MSP1 10 December 2018  (Singapore)

The soundbar produces sound that is clear and accurate. Very good for movies as well as music. The biggest flaw is the subwoofer. Connection to the main soundbar is very bad. The subwoofer has severe popping and cracking sound and Sony does not have solutions to fix this connection issue. None of the recommendations from Sony works.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very clean sounding

HTST5000 03 December 2018 by 555f (USA)

Wish there was an option for rear speakers You really need a good acoustical room to take full advantage of the sound bar With atmose.however a really awesome sounding sound bar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Good staff!

HT-ST5000 02 December 2018 by Sailor77 (USA)

Excellent sound- high, mids and lows are reproduced properly. Was a slight issue of loosing conectivity between sub and bar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Best Soundbar I have ever heard!

HTST5000 28 November 2018 by RoyMK (USA)

I have had this soundbar for over a year now and I am still loving it as if I first bought it. Especially now with both firmware updates it has received. First firmware updated enabled Dolby Vision pass-through and other services, second firmware update enabled eARC and other features. This soundbar packs a punch with its top of the line sub-woofer and will literally shake up my entire studio. I love every second of it and dust it regularly, looks classy, works flawlessly. I have it connected to my macbook pro, and it enables LCM 7.1.2 which is another huge bonus. I am very proud of my purchase and you will be too!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Wow

HT-ST5000 26 November 2018 by Johnny A (United Kingdom)

Awesome sound! Earth shattering immersive when used with Ultra HD 4K TV & Blu-ray player

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1