54

4.3 based on 54 customer reviews

32
14
5
0
3
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best all-in-one soundbar on the market!

HT-X8500 17 September 2019 by Mahir007 (United Kingdom)

I bought this soundbar about a month ago now and have been loving it ever since! I specifically got it as I wanted an upgrade over my old compact one with a soundbar that had more features (e.g. Dolby Atmos) and crucially, had full 4K HDR pass-through. This one ticked all the boxes, so I decided to buy it and I'm very glad I did. It has very pronounced & detailed bass (a suprise considering) and overall, great/clear sound quality that's a joy to experience. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a great, fully featured, soundbar but is short on space and wants the benefits of an all-in-one unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great all rounder but a little disappointed

HT-X8500 30 May 2019 by Kingeman7 (United Kingdom)

My initial thoughts of this were great when it first arrived, easy to set up. I liked how it came with an hdmi output plus optical cable, however for convenience I feel a normal 3.5mm jack should have been added as well. I value music a lot as I have a pair of MDR-1RNC Noise Cancelling Headphones, which I use mostly everyday. First thing I did was hook up my music from my phone using the bluetooth on the soundbar. I started to play songs with lows that worked well for the built in subwoofer and sounded great. However this kinda was short lived when I moved onto normal midrange to high tracks where the lows didn’t tie into the track at all, at times, which was a let down. I have been using this for a week now and and I tried all the settings from using it on cinema, sports, news and game. The subwoofer works well with the surround sound and veertical sound especially when watching movies. I would say the surround sound system is not the best I’ve had but it does well to fill the room. However, though you do really hear the lows needed to provide that added suspense. One of the options I do really like is the “night” option as It does what it says, basically takes that normal base and smoothens the sound a bit. This worked well with the news and sports options.Moving onto the game option which I was torn to half about because on one half the subwoofers do a really good job in providing that in game feeling if you are playing a first person shooter for example. But, on the other side when you are playing a game like Halo with the added tracks it has while in gameplay, you do really here the discrepancy if your into the sound stuff like me. Lastly to add, the finish of the bar is high quality, it’s something that isn’t going to break suddenly if you drop it, not that I have. My overall opinion is that, for the normal consumer who has a normal home cinema or just want’s to add a soundbar to their TV, this is the sound bar for them. This is more tailored to everything but music but don’t let this deter you as overall it does a good job just not for the ones who know more about sound and stuff. All I’m saying is that don’t expect it to be at the level of Bose if you already have their products, this sound bar is a more of an all-rounder.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

4

0

54 Customer Reviews

0

Money Worth sound bar

HT-X8500//M SP1 20 February 2020 by billythl60 (Singapore)

For an entry level sound bar, it performs better than my expectation. It is suitable for a small living or bedroom.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great sound!!

HT-X8500//M SP1 17 February 2020 by Randhir (Singapore)

The product is very good. Sound is very clear and gives a good feeling when I am watching my favourite shows!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound, Easy Setup

HTX8500 02 February 2020 by snowinjuly (USA)

Product has great sound and is very easy to set up. Mounted to the wall easily and connected to my Sony Bravia TV right away via Bluetooth. This is a major upgrade in sound compared to the TV speakers and looks great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

HT8500

HT-X8500 28 January 2020 by nicky177 (United Kingdom)

excellent soundbar very good features,great sound nice design

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great features! Dolby Atmos All in one Soundbar

HT-X8500 26 January 2020 by Max03 (United Kingdom)

All in one sound is amazing, options of sound effect from remote and bass options too. I will recommend using an 4K HDMI instead of optical cable as the pass through isn't supported at all rates via optical. Dolby Atmos and Vertical sound is speechless! What I don't like is: not fully compatible with AG8 model, sound bar menu not displayed on TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

The mid range SB produces great music.

HT-X8500//M SP1 19 January 2020 by maverick 2020 (Singapore)

The vertical engine of this SB make listening to music a great past-time.The HT-X8500 SB pump out great music as compared to similar range SB, raising the dynamic range of the songs to the next level. The HT-X8500 is hooked up to the Sony 8000G TV and played back songs from my Samseng HP. Negative side is not able/ unable to use the ATmos sound engine.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

High tech specs

HT-X8500//M SP1 18 January 2020 by G Raj (Singapore)

The specs are impressive with dolby atmos, DTS:X and vertical surround for a reasonable price. The subwoofer incorporated in the bar saves space but at the expense of midrange and vocal quality. Movie setting may cause dialogue to be muffled, better to use standard setting

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Batteries!

HT-X8500 15 January 2020 by William the conker (United Kingdom)

Simple set up. Great sound. Couldn't work out why the remote wasn't working with the supplied Sony batteries. Swopped them out and all good. You don't expect supplied batteries to be stone dead!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

EASY TO SET UP

HT-X8500 12 January 2020 by MIKESCO (United Kingdom)

ONLY JUST GOT THIS VIRTUALLY A PLUG AND PLAY SET UP. WOULD RECOMMEND HDMI AS OPPOSED TO SUPPLIED OPTICAL LEAD. SO FAR IMPRESSED WITH SOUND

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Mr

HT-X8500 09 January 2020 by GEOFFGB (United Kingdom)

excellent addition to my new sony tv which I registered thru Domestic and General on 7th January 2020

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Nice bass sound

HT-X8500//M SP1 08 January 2020 by bevenoon (Singapore)

Nice design and easily installed. Sound mode auto change to suit different sound effect

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Sound Bar

HT-X8500//M SP1 08 January 2020 by kirbytan (Singapore)

I brought this about 2 months ago and my wife really happy with the atmos feature.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent

HT-X8500//M SP1 08 January 2020 by Clubmatt65 (Singapore)

Excellent sound bar. Easy to use n easy to connect to tv n hp

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

E, Exellent buy

HT-X8500 06 January 2020 by Lucky boy (United Kingdom)

Brilliant soundbar far exceeded my expectations in e ery way

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Just what I was looking for. Excellent quality in

HTX8500 30 December 2019 by 452Mary (USA)

Got this 2 days ago. Was a bit sceptical when Sony rep at electronics store said my tv and cable box would work as soon as connected. He was totally right. Didn't have to do anythink except connect 1 cable and plug into power.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-X8500 30 November 2019 by TV favourite (United Kingdom)

Looks stylish in front of my Sony TV. Good sound on TV channels and also for music and films. Easy to use and is synced with TV automatically. Very pleased with my purchase!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Overall Addition!!!

HTX8500 26 November 2019 by Bob In Towson (USA)

Hard to find item but well worth the search!!! Walmart has a display item and online item but they say they are not available. Ebay is best bet...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic sound

HT-X8500 16 November 2019 by Dazu7 (United Kingdom)

Bought three weeks ago and no regrets, easy to set up and the sound is amazing,

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

bad

HTX8500 12 November 2019 by gsk4 (USA)

I just bought the sound bar a few days later humming sound out of speaker and a couple days later sound just quit took it back to store and got a different sound bar it is still a sony this one works great

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

4

0

Looks very nice and fits perfectly in front of my

HT-X8500 05 November 2019 by Drewbear (United Kingdom)

Have had it for a month or so and up to now i am very happy with it, looks good and sounds good. Had a few setup problems but Sony soon sorted it out for me with one short phone call.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Excellent quality and features

HT-X8500 02 November 2019 by michaelcassel01 (United Kingdom)

Bought with Sony XG90 49”. Easy setup and sync well with TV and SkyQ. Sound quality is very good and more than adequate for medium sized rooms. Easy controller. Enhances TV sound and viewing experience. Highly recommended!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good bit of kit

HT-X8500 28 October 2019 by Dickymint (United Kingdom)

Wish I’d gone for the htxf9000 as this is more compatible with my Sony 65” android tv. Didn’t know at time but would have worked better with theatre system built into tv.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Simple and effective

HT-X8500 28 October 2019 by Zebra999 (United Kingdom)

This was recommended by a Sony 'expert' in store and he was absolutely bang-on our requirements. Very easy to set up and works very well. Still haven't used all the pre-set sound options but quick tests suggest will do all it promises

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

A Good Soundbar

HT-X8500 27 October 2019 by Nicb (United Kingdom)

I bought this about a month ago and use with my 4K TV the sound is excellent and watching football with Dolby Atmos takes it to a new level

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

GREAT FEATURES

HT-X8500 14 October 2019 by buffysaint (United Kingdom)

VARIOUS WAYS TO CONNECT TO YOUR TV, LOTS OF DIFFERENT SOUND CHOICES. I HAVE MINE ATTACHED UNDR MY TV VIA A SOUNDBAR MOUNT. MY ONLY ISSUE IS IT WOULD BE NICE TO HAVE AN ONSCREEN MENU

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

50

0

Soundbar

HT-X8500 14 October 2019 by dappadons (United Kingdom)

Good Sound, easy to operate, very pleased with purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

39

0

great audio atmos

HT-X8500//M SP1 30 September 2019  (Singapore)

I brought it together with the Sony 55"/8500 model as it is a matching pair for the sound bar. great picture and sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Neat compact unit

HT-X8500 29 September 2019 by Mike43 (United Kingdom)

A must for wall mounted TV, pleased with the sound from all sources.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

10

0

right size for my sony 43" tv

HT-X8500 23 September 2019 by josh 177 (United Kingdom)

Tidy design and well built. Sounds ok, vertical surround average. Easy to connect and set up but sadly only had it three weeks when power transformer blew up had to take it back for refund this may be a one off !

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best all-in-one soundbar on the market!

HT-X8500 17 September 2019 by Mahir007 (United Kingdom)

I bought this soundbar about a month ago now and have been loving it ever since! I specifically got it as I wanted an upgrade over my old compact one with a soundbar that had more features (e.g. Dolby Atmos) and crucially, had full 4K HDR pass-through. This one ticked all the boxes, so I decided to buy it and I'm very glad I did. It has very pronounced & detailed bass (a suprise considering) and overall, great/clear sound quality that's a joy to experience. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a great, fully featured, soundbar but is short on space and wants the benefits of an all-in-one unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

one speaker

HT-X8500 14 September 2019 by mreeee (United Kingdom)

very good sound worth the money just what i needed

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Very disappointing purchase

HT-X8500//M SP1 04 September 2019 by Johnypg (Singapore)

I bought it 2 weeks ago and it failed after less than 2 weeks. This is definitely a very bad experience considering I was deciding between Pioneer, Samsung, LG and Sony. I chose Sony because of this so-called new feature, Virtual Surround System. Incidentally, it's this feature that failed me!! Once I activated this feature, there was continue distortion noises coming from the speakers! Now my 2 weeks old soundbar is with Sony Service Centre!! I've 75% to get it right but I've chosen a wrong product!!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

2

0

Very good value for money

HT-X8500 01 September 2019 by Frankie 540 (United Kingdom)

I purchased the compact soundbar last month was surprised with the overall clarity and detail.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Surround sound great

HT-X8500 17 August 2019 by Ted65 (United Kingdom)

Sound is great, Dolby atmos is fantastic feels that you actually there in the movie, would highly recommend compliments my Sony Bravia Tv

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Poor sound

HT-X8500//M SP1 11 August 2019 by Cclim (Singapore)

The sound is so poor when watching movie. Actors voice sound muffle.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

3

0

Small and Powerful

HT-X8500//M SP1 01 August 2019 by VAIO Z (Singapore)

I have bought this soundbar primarily to eliminate the need to place a woofer separately. With its integration, i save a lot of space and looks need in my home. I am pleased with the audio and hope it can last me for years. Thanks Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good value for money

HT-X8500//M SP1 27 July 2019 by keep (Singapore)

I bought the HT-X8500 becoz i do not want to have too many wirings on my TV console as the sound bar is all-in-one w/o subwoofer and i'm loving it. Strongly recommend those minimalist who likes to have a clean look to get this.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to set up with great sound

HT-X8500 26 July 2019 by Kaiser 1 (United Kingdom)

Had this a few weeks. Was easy to set up and gives very good sound especially with the vertical effect. Price also good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Sounds really fab

HT-X8500 24 July 2019 by Barby22 (United Kingdom)

Only recently bought this sound bar , sounds great

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Features that I needed at an excellent value

HT-X8500//M SP1 13 July 2019 by DC74 (Singapore)

Bought in June 2019 after some reading and watching reviews on web and YouTube. Decided to go with it as it has all the features I needed at the right price point and that was enough for how I wanted to set up my TV and media box with this soundbar. Furthermore with the ARC and the HDMI in I was able to control the TV, soundbar and my Nvidia mediabox using only my TV remote including on/off, volume and selections. The only thing I didn’t like so far is the non-display of the volume level.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Voice Clarity

HT-X8500//M SP1 12 July 2019 by IrisC (Singapore)

I bought this less than a month ago. I've tested it playing all sorts of genre from opera, heavy-bass rock musics, classical etc. I found that voices from the musics are not as clear as I expected it to be compared to my Bose SoundTouch Wireless Speaker.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

great product

HT-X8500 26 June 2019 by jeff graham (United Kingdom)

I am a little hard of hearing and this sound bar is great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb Quality Product

HT-X8500 25 June 2019 by Yack2 (United Kingdom)

I bought this 2 weeks ago from Sony Centre Belfast. I am really happy with the performance and look of the soundbar. I have never had a soundbar before so in itself this is a massive difference to my viewing experience. The different settings give a great edge to your experience, bass and sheer powerful sound from this soundbar are fantastic. My only issue is that you cannot see what input you are on without standing in front of the bar. Wall mounted with built in subwoofer adds to sleek look with no subwoofer gathering dust on the floor. A must buy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Soundbar with Dolby Atmos at an affordable price

HT-X8500//M SP1 23 June 2019 by ralph79 (Singapore)

It takes up little space and the sound is great. Happy with the purchase.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Small but powerful

HT-X8500//M SP1 23 June 2019 by Md_E1 (Singapore)

The built in subwoofer save alot space and the sound of the speaker is powerful too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good but!

HT-X8500 21 June 2019 by None but (United Kingdom)

The sound bar gives very good all around sound effects.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Good quality for single soundbar.

HT-X8500//M SP1 19 June 2019 by HS04 (Singapore)

I bought about 3 weeks ago.. Within my expectation for soundbar. Good enough for a four-room HDB living room.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Ok..great features but I've heard better sound

HT-X8500 15 June 2019 by Jfghhfv (United Kingdom)

Had this a good few weeks now. Lack of display is hard work trying to see what light sequence comes on and what that combination of lights means is very tiresome, performance is nothing more than ok though the features are good with earc etc

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

0

Great Soundbar

HT-X8500//M SP1 15 June 2019 by Swplow (Singapore)

I bought this soundbar in late May 2019 and I am happy with it so far. Its sound need some better used to but everything else works great.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

Awesome - pretty darn good!

HT-X8500 07 June 2019 by ALLP (United Kingdom)

Easy connectivity and set up with Sony TV. Subtle, unobtrusive and sleek design - complements TV. Sounds great on auto setting but for the more refined the sound options are well placed. Bluetooth connectivity to multiple devices is a breeze & is most convenient.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great all rounder but a little disappointed

HT-X8500 30 May 2019 by Kingeman7 (United Kingdom)

My initial thoughts of this were great when it first arrived, easy to set up. I liked how it came with an hdmi output plus optical cable, however for convenience I feel a normal 3.5mm jack should have been added as well. I value music a lot as I have a pair of MDR-1RNC Noise Cancelling Headphones, which I use mostly everyday. First thing I did was hook up my music from my phone using the bluetooth on the soundbar. I started to play songs with lows that worked well for the built in subwoofer and sounded great. However this kinda was short lived when I moved onto normal midrange to high tracks where the lows didn’t tie into the track at all, at times, which was a let down. I have been using this for a week now and and I tried all the settings from using it on cinema, sports, news and game. The subwoofer works well with the surround sound and veertical sound especially when watching movies. I would say the surround sound system is not the best I’ve had but it does well to fill the room. However, though you do really hear the lows needed to provide that added suspense. One of the options I do really like is the “night” option as It does what it says, basically takes that normal base and smoothens the sound a bit. This worked well with the news and sports options.Moving onto the game option which I was torn to half about because on one half the subwoofers do a really good job in providing that in game feeling if you are playing a first person shooter for example. But, on the other side when you are playing a game like Halo with the added tracks it has while in gameplay, you do really here the discrepancy if your into the sound stuff like me. Lastly to add, the finish of the bar is high quality, it’s something that isn’t going to break suddenly if you drop it, not that I have. My overall opinion is that, for the normal consumer who has a normal home cinema or just want’s to add a soundbar to their TV, this is the sound bar for them. This is more tailored to everything but music but don’t let this deter you as overall it does a good job just not for the ones who know more about sound and stuff. All I’m saying is that don’t expect it to be at the level of Bose if you already have their products, this sound bar is a more of an all-rounder.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

4

0

0

Solid, Powerful, Consistent

HT-X8500 27 May 2019 by Southy72 (United Kingdom)

Exceptionally easy to set-up, probably no longer than 10 minutes if that. Quite heavy, and fairly chunky, so maybe some room for improvement on the design side of things, however when it comes to sound, this delivers, both in ambience and power. Bass is very evident, and power is right there from the start. Would dearly love to have a bigger room from which to test this, I can imagine the cinema sound is superb. Price-wise I think this would appeal if it were maybe £50-£75 cheaper, but this is Sony, so high-spec goods come at a premium. Recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Phenomenal sound, once you have figured it out

HT-X8500 27 May 2019 by SouthamptonG (United Kingdom)

The soundbar arrived and I couldn’t wait to get it installed as we love a movie and with the Dolby Atmos and Vertical Surround features, we were excited to take it to another level. The instructions were really easy to follow and I chose to feed it through our SkyQ box. Once I figured out that I had to turn the sound bar on first, we were away and watched BlacKkKlansman to try it out. The sound (especially in the vertical surround mode) is phenomenal and the built-in bass is really effective. It really is a huge step up from the built-in speakers in my non-Sony television. The only issues I have are that I have to stand up to see what mode it is in as the lights are at the back of the top of the unit (I would have incorporated a small flip-up lcd screen so you can see clearly what mode you are using) and sometimes, when pausing, rewinding and forwarding on Sky, there is a delay in the sound catching up. Sound-wise, I can’t fault it (it’s great for listening to music from my phone too) but for someone who doesn’t have much tech knowledge, it may be difficult to set up and figure out. Now we are used to it’s features, it is a great product and would recommend it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

0