9

4.1 based on 9 customer reviews

4
4
0
0
1
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

11 Customer Reviews

0

Sony NW-A55L

16GB 22 November 2019 by Steyr57 (United Kingdom)

This is a nice touch screen compact player that fits into the palm of your hand, it feels nice with its rounded profile and metal case. Setting up the unit is easy and relatively straight forward, and pairing with other Bluetooth units worked very well using NFC or manually searching, also wired headphones worked perfectly. Transferring and editing music content is done through the Sony Music Center App and worked flawlessly. The interface appears a little daunting on first use as there is a lot going on, but becomes a lot easier with use. There are numerous configurations for sound output so you should be able to setup the unit to suit your own preference, I particularly like the Vinyl Processor setting giving a smooth pleasant effect using FLAC encoding. This is the L model and does not have the radio facility a big disappointment for me but you can download Podcasts. The other thing I do not like is the Sony WM-PORT this should be changed for a more modern plug, the consumer requires manufacturers to make connections more interchangeable. Overall I like the unit you can obtain high quality sound, plenty of storage with the addition of a microSD card up to 2TB, and the unit feels a quality product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Amazing Hi Resolution Sound

16GB 19 November 2019 by Keithy59 (United Kingdom)

My first impressions were how small this little player is. It was slightly heavier than I expected but on inspection it is a quality peice of kit built in a lovely aluminum case with nice firm buttons on the side. Lovely OLED display although a little small but to be honest it's the sound that I'm interested in. I downloaded some Hi Res music in FLAC format. I first tried playing this through my Sony MDR 1000X Headphones and this was amazing. Next I tried playing through my Sony SRS X9 Bluetooth speaker and I have never heard such clarity through Bluetooth. It sounded like a concert hall. Wow! I normally use Hi Res through my smartphone and I thought this was good but this walkman is on another level. Amazing for the money. The start up is a little slow but that's only a small thing. Well worth the few second wait. Battery life of six hours is great for long flight. Smartphones are brilliant and can do most things for most people these days but often don't offer a phone jack which this walkman does and offers versatility and choice and fits easily in a pocket which smartphones don't as there often too big. Overall if you want top end sound this is definitely a step beyond any smartphone and worth spending the money for dedicated music enthusiasts. Very happy with this walkman.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Great little player, would be happier with USB

32GB with headphone 24 June 2019 by Simon B (Singapore)

Great sounding little player , although i would prefer usb-c given sony singapore refuses to stock spares for the walkman range...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Awesome

16GB 28 December 2018 by SOL1982 (Singapore)

Audio Quality is awesome. But playlist support could be improved. Like supporting extra file names. Now I have to rename some old names and the playlist.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

5

0

Great walkman but need to improve

32GB with headphone 24 December 2018 by Limcs2000 (Singapore)

Pro-this device have vey nice sound quality -simple control panel Con- battery life very short - cannot play mp4 -charging not using USB C -charging is slow -expensive

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

9

24

0

Great mp3 but database loading a bit slow

16GB 14 December 2018 by Eriko (Singapore)

Happy to have this new features mp3, sound very clear, it’s reduce all the noise. However every time click off on button, device take time to load due to database loading. Suggest look into this and improve the efficiency of the machine. Thanks.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

14

2

0

Features and sound quality was great.

16GB 22 November 2018 by Riposte (Singapore)

Overall features and sound quality was really good. Battery life was pretty remarkable. However, it lacks album shuffle and it would be good to have it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

1

0

great player

16GB 21 November 2018 by CS Cheong (Singapore)

menu controls are easy and simplet to navigate. great sound. all in all, a great player.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

NW-A55/NM E

16GB 29 October 2018 by raysam (Singapore)

Very disappointed with this product. The radio needs the headphone wire as antenna. I use a wireless headphone, the radio cannot work. The set don't have treble and bass control.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

5

56

0

It's awesome!!!

16GB 25 October 2018  (Singapore)

I bought it by the next day it was released. It's fantastic even in a normal headphones songs are perfect!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

1

0

NW-A55 Green

16GB 25 October 2018 by Griggsy (Singapore)

Fantastic little music player, I know most of us like to listen to our music on our phones now but i have a big collection of Flac and DSD files which i think are best listened to on a device like this. Very easy to use, simple to transfer files from my PC to the inbuilt storage and additional Micro SD card. No issues navigating, Hi-Res files are under a separate tab. I have only had the device for a couple of weeks, I also purchased the WH-000XM3 headphones which sound great when paired together, I will explore the rest of the features as I continue to use it. My only gripe is the lack of a bumper and screen protector available locally, well there isn't any in the Official Sony shops in Singapore. The Sony Staff I spoke to did not have any idea as to when these would be available. My next purchase was going to be the FDR-X3000R, but seeing as GoPro have just released the Hero 7 I am hoping there will be a significant upgrade to the Sony cam, so I will wait a while.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

1