Article ID : 00009716 / Last Modified : 08/25/2016

How to undo a previous System Restore operation.

Applicable Products and Categories of This Article

IMPORTANT: This article applies only to specific products and/or operating systems. Check the Applicable Products and Categories section of this article before starting these steps.

Follow these steps to undo a previous System Restore operation.

IMPORTANT:

  • This procedure must be performed while logged in as Administrator or to an account with Administrator rights.
  • The System Restore procedure will restore the Registry and other settings back to the date and time selected. No data will be lost. Saved documents and e-mail will not be affected by performing a System Restore.
  • Any hardware or software that has been installed after the date of the restore point will need to be reinstalled.
  • 200MB of free hard drive space is required to perform a system restore.

NOTES:

  • If the operating system will not start in Normal Mode, restart the computer in Safe Mode .
  • If the operating system will not start in Normal Mode or Safe Mode, restart the computer in Safe Mode using the Command Prompt. At the Command Prompt, type C:\Windows\System32\Rstrui.exe and then on the keyboard, press the ENTER key to start the System Restore feature.
  • If the mouse is not available, use the TAB key, or ARROW keys to highlight options, and the Enter key make the selection.
  1. Click the Start button, click All Programs, click Accessories, click System Tools, and then click System Restore.

    NOTES:

    • If prompted for an administrator password or a User Account Control prompt is displayed, type the appropriate password, click Continue or click Yes.
    • If System Restore is not listed in the System Tools menu, click the Start button and in the Search programs and files field, type System Restore.
  2. In the System Restore window, click to select Undo System Restore.

    NOTE: If you wish to undo a System Restore operation other than the most recent one, follow this procedure:

    1. In the System Restore window, click to select Choose a different restore point.
    2. In the Restore your computer to the state it was in before the selected event window, click to select the Restore Operation you wish to undo.
  3. In the Confirm your restore point window, click the Finish button.

    NOTE: The operating system will undo the selected restore operation and the computer will restart.