Article ID : 00020840 / Last Modified : 03/23/2018

What is the difference between Reset Default or Camera Settings Reset and Factory Reset or Initialize?

Applicable Products and Categories of This Article

 


The Reset Default or Camera Settings function only resets the shooting settings of the camera to their default settings. Whereas, the Factory Reset or Initialize function resets all the settings that the Reset Default or Camera Settings function does, as well as other functions like Date or Time Setup and Wi-Fi® settings. In addition, the Factory Reset or Initialize function also deletes information stored in the camera such as registered faces, registered AF micro adjustments, file numbers, and downloaded applications.

NOTES:

  • Do not turn the camera off while resetting.
  • The camera may show a blank screen for approximately 10 seconds after performing a reset. This is a normal operation and not a malfunction on the camera.