Article ID : 00142549 / Last Modified : 02/11/2016

Unregister Device Service FAQ for Sony Android TVs.

Applicable Products and Categories of This Article

What is the Unregister Device service?

Unregister Device service is a simple way to remove Sony® Essentials content account relationships from your device, and also removes the device from the Sony Essentials account.

How to use the Device Unregister service?

  1. On the supplied remote control, press the HOME button.
  2. Under Featured Apps, select Sony Select.
  3. Select More apps.
  4. Scroll to the right and select Unregister Device app.
  5. Select Unregister.
  6. Select Yes to disassociate your device from Sony Essentials.

Which content account relationships are cleared from my device when I run Unregister Device service?

Third party content accounts which are associated to your Sony Essentials account.

Which content account relationships are not cleared from my device when I run Device Unregister Service?

Other third party content accounts that are not associated with your Sony Essentials account, and which may have allowed you to create an account, or login to an existing account by entering your username and password directly into the device application.

How do I remove all other third party account associations from my device which were not removed by using the Device Unregister Service?

Perform a factory data reset to remove all remaining third party account associations which were not removed by Unregister Device service. Note that some content providers may use different policies to manage accounts and devices.

NOTE: Some providers may automatically restore the removed account when the device next attempts to access the service. If you have previously subscribed to any premium services, Sony recommends that you visit each provider’s account management site to confirm that the device has been permanently removed from their accounts.

To do a Factory data reset on your Android TV™, follow the steps below:

  1. On the supplied remote control, press the HOME button.
  2. Under Settings, select Settings.
  3. Under the TV category, select Storage & reset.
  4. Select Factory data reset.
  5. Select Erase everything.

Is there a way to remove only certain account associations from the device rather than all?

By visiting Sony Entertainment Network™ or Sony Essentials, you can manage add or remove devices as well as manage content services. For other third part account applications, you will need to visit the provider’s account management site to manage devices. Additionally some content applications allow you log out from the device using the remote control.

I unregistered my device by using the Unregister Device application, how do I reconnect it to my account again or connect it to a new account?

The answer will vary slightly, depending on your device and country, as well as the network service you are selecting. When selecting a network service which requires registration, you will be prompted to enter a User Name and Password using the supplied remote control, or you will be prompted with an Activation or Registration Code, and instructions to log in and enter the code into your Sony Entertainment Network account or your Sony Essentials account.