Article ID : 00015764 / Last Modified : 08/16/2015

I have forgotten the pattern, PIN or password needed to unlock the tablet.

Applicable Products and Categories of This Article

IMPORTANT: If you have changed the lock screen settings to require a PIN or password but cannot remember the correct PIN or password needed to unlock the tablet, the only option will be to perform an External Data Reset procedure. The steps to perform an External Data Reset procedure are detailed after the pattern reset procedure below.

  1. On the locked desktop screen, if you have changed the lock screen settings to require a pattern but cannot remember that pattern, try to enter the correct pattern five more times, or until the You have incorrectly drawn your unlock pattern 5 times prompt appears.
  2. At the You have incorrectly drawn your unlock pattern 5 times prompt, tap OK. Image
  3. Tap the Forgot pattern button. Image
  4. In the Account unlock screen, use the on-screen keyboard to enter your Google account information and then tap Sign in. Image

    NOTE:  If you know your Google account User name but cannot remember your Google account password, you can reset your Google account password by using a computer, browsing to the Google website and click the Can't access your account link. Image

  5. In the Draw an unlock pattern screen, draw a new pattern to regain access to the tablet.

Follow these steps to perform an External Data Reset procedure.

IMPORTANT: An External Data Reset procedure will reset the tablet to the condition it was in when it was first purchased. Unfortunately, because all other reset options have been exhausted, all of the data and setting on the tablet will be erased.

  1. Press and hold the Power button. Image
  2. At the Power off prompt, tap OK. Image

    IMPORTANT: The tablet cannot be asleep and successfully perform this operation. It must be completely off.

  3. With the tablet completely off, press and hold the Volume Up (+) button, and while continuing to hold that button, press and hold the Power for several seconds. Image
  4. Once the Sony logo appears, let go of both buttons. Image
  5. In the Android system recovery screen, use the Volume Down (-) button to highlight the Reset to factory settings option. Image
  6. Quickly press the Power button.
  7. In the Reset to factory settings: Confirm reset screen, use the Volume Down (-) button to highlight the Yes -- delete all user data option. Image
  8. Quickly press the Power button.

The tablet will restart and you will be prompted to perform the initial out of the box setup .