Article ID : 00022942 / Last Modified : 03/01/2018

How to use the System Restore feature to restore the computer to an earlier time.

Applicable Products and Categories of This Article

The procedure to restore the computer to an earlier time using the System Restore feature varies depending on the operating system installed on the computer.

NOTE: The System Restore feature is a Microsoft® tool integrated with the Windows® operating system that will return the condition of the computer operating system, files or settings, and updates and installations to the same as they were at a defined point in time. A System Recovery will return the entire computer to the default factory settings, back to the same state as the new computer you bought.

  • System Restore: A System Restore can fix problems like damaged or missing system startup files but cannot reinstall software or recover deleted data. It also will not remove any installed software or delete any user data from the hard drive. The steps to perform a System Restore differ based on which Windows operating system is installed and are detailed below.
  • System Recovery: A System Recovery will reinstall factory installed software but will, as part of the recovery process, remove all installed software and user data from the hard drive. This means that everything is wiped out - all data, any virus infection, and any installed software. The steps to perform a System Recovery differ based on the model of computer you have. Information on how to perform a System Recovery is included with the manuals that came with your VAIO® Computer. Manuals are posted on your model support page.

Follow the appropriate link below to set up and use the System Restore feature to restore the computer to an earlier time.