Article ID : 00024016 / Last Modified : 11/22/2016

How to restore the computer to an earlier time using the System Restore feature.

Applicable Products and Categories of This Article

Follow this procedure to use the System Restore feature.

IMPORTANT:

  • This procedure must be performed while logged in as Administrator or to an account with Administrator rights.
  • The System Restore procedure will restore the Registry and other settings back to the date and time selected. No data will be lost. Saved documents and e-mail will not be affected by performing a System Restore.
  • Any hardware or software that has been installed after the date of the restore point will need to be reinstalled.
  • 200MB of free hard drive space is required to perform a system restore.

NOTES:

  • If the operating system will not start in Normal Mode, restart the computer in Safe Mode.
  • If the operating system will not start in Normal Mode or Safe Mode, restart the computer in Safe Mode using the Command Prompt. At the Command Prompt, type C:\Windows\System32\Restore\Rstrui.exe and then on the keyboard, press the ENTER key to start the System Restore.
  • If the mouse is not available, use the TAB key, or ARROW keys to make the selection.
  1. Click the Start button, point to All Programs, point to Accessories, point to System Tools, and then click System Restore.

    NOTE: If System Restore is not listed in the System Tools menu, click the Start button and then click Help and Support.

  2. Under Pick a task, click System Restore.
  3. In the System Restore window, click the Next button.

    NOTE: If other users are logged onto the computer, a System Restore dialog box will appear. Click the OK button to continue.

  4. Under 1. On this calendar..., click the Less Than (<) symbol or Greater Than (<) symbol to select a month.
  5. Under 2. On this list..., click the Less Than (<) symbol or Greater Than (<) symbol to select a day and then click the restore point time.

    NOTE: If no days are displayed verify System Restore is enabled .

  6. Click the Next button.
  7. In the Confirm Restore Point Selection window, click the Next button.

    NOTE: The operating system will be restored to the date and time selected and the computer will restart.