Article ID : 00024036 / Last Modified : 12/20/2010

How to remove a user account.

Applicable Products and Categories of This Article

Follow this procedure to remove a user account.

WARNING: There is a risk of data loss. If an account is deleted with the Deleting files option, all Cookies, Favorites, My Documents, Desktop files, and other user specific data will be deleted.

IMPORTANT: This procedure must be performed while logged in as Administrator or to an account with Administrator rights.

NOTE: If only one user account was created on the system, and this account needs to be deleted, create a new account in Safe Mode, log in under the newly created user account, then delete the desired user account.

  1. Click the Start button, and then click Control Panel .
  2. In the Control Panel window, under Pick a category , double-click the User Accounts icon.
  3. In the User Accounts window, click to select the desired user account to delete.
  4. Click the Delete the account button.
  5. Click the Keep files or Delete Files button.
  6. Click the Delete user account button.

    IMPORTANT: The Guest account cannot be deleted from the user account information. The Guest account can only be set to on or off.