Article ID : 00196927 / Last Modified : 07/26/2018

Connect Your Alpha Camera to a Mobile Device to Record GPS Information

Applicable Products and Categories of This Article

IMPORTANT: This article applies only to specific products and/or operating systems. Check the Applicable Products and Categories section of this article before starting these steps.

The Location Information Linkage feature of your α (Alpha) camera saves your location data on your images from a Bluetooth® connected mobile device.

Getting Started

  1. On your mobile device, install the PlayMemories Mobile™ app.
    • If your mobile device has an older version of PlayMemories Mobile, update the app to the latest version.
  2. Copy an image to your mobile device using the Send to Smartphone feature of the PlayMemories Mobile app.
  3. Turn on the Bluetooth setting of your mobile device.
    • Check your device manual for model-specific information.
    • Don't connect the camera on Settings menu of the mobile device.
  4. On the camera, change the Pwr Save Start Time setting.

Set up the Location Information Linkage Feature

Pair your camera to the mobile device. 

  1. On the camera, set the Bluetooth Function to On.

  2. Set the camera to Pairing mode.

  3. On your mobile device, launch the PlayMemories Mobile app.
  4. Select Location Information Linkage.

    Location Info Linkage

  5. Select Set the camera.

    Set the camera

  6. Under Paired Camera, select your camera model.
    • A check mark appears on the left side of the camera model.

      Select your camera model

  7. When Allow connection to the device? is displayed, select OK.

    Pairing mode 2

  8. On the camera, turn on Location Info Link.

  9. Half-press the shutter button to enter shooting mode.
    • On the mobile device, Connected with the camera appears under the camera model.

      Connected with camera

    • The Connected icon Connectedappears on the camera screen.

      Connected camera screen

  10. Take a photo.
  11. Press the playback button to display the image. The location information is shown on the image data overlay.

    Photo with GPS data

Location Information Linkage is Lost

The Disconnected icon Disconnectedappears when the Location Information Linkage is lost:

No location information

  • Location Information Linkage may not work when:
    • The camera enters power save mode.
    • The mobile device shuts off or goes to sleep mode.
    • The Bluetooth function of the camera or mobile device is turned off.
    • The camera or mobile device is moved beyond the Bluetooth range
    • The connected mobile device is unable to provide location information.

Reconnect the camera.

Camera Still Can't Reconnect

Delete the camera's pairing information.

  1. On the mobile device, select Change the camera.
  2. Select your camera model.
  3. Tap on the three dots to open the options.

    Open options.

  4. Select Delete Pairing Information.
  5. Select OK.
  6. Repeat the camera pairing procedure.