Search button in the site


The press releases on this website are provided for historical reference purposes only.
Please note that certain information may have changed since the date of release.

May 13, 2014

Selection of Board Member Candidates

Tokyo, Japan - At the meeting of the Nominating Committee held on May 13, 2014, Sony Corporation named candidates for election to the position of Member of the Board. The selections are subject to the approval at the Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders to be held on June 19, 2014.

Members of the Board

Kazuo Hirai
Representative Corporate Executive Officer, President and CEO
Kenichiro Yoshida(**)
Representative Corporate Executive Officer, EVP and CFO
Kanemitsu Anraku(*)
Director, Mizuho Financial Group, Inc.
Osamu Nagayama(*)
Representative Director, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer,
Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd.
Takaaki Nimura(*)
Certified Public Accountant
Eikoh Harada(*)
Chairman, Director,
McDonald's Holdings Company (Japan), Ltd.
McDonald's Company (Japan), Ltd
Joichi Ito(*)
Director, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Media Lab
Tim Schaaff
Retired President, Sony Network Entertainment International LLC
Independent Startup Advisor
Kazuo Matsunaga(*)(**)
Retired Vice-Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry
Koichi Miyata(*)(**)
President, Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc.
John V. Roos(*)(**)
Former United States Ambassador to Japan
Eriko Sakurai(*)(**)
Chairman and CEO, Dow Corning Toray Co., Ltd
  • (*)An Outside Director who satisfies the requirements under Item 15, Article 2 of the Companies Act of Japan
  • (**)A new candidate for Member of the Board

Members of the Board scheduled to retire

Masaru Kato
Vice Chairman
Peter Bonfield
Chairman of the Board, NXP Semiconductors N.V.
Ryuji Yasuda
Professor, Graduate School of International Corporate Strategy,
Hitotsubashi University
Yukako Uchinaga
President & CEO, Globalization Research Institute Co.,Ltd
Mitsuaki Yahagi
Special Advisor, The Japan Research Institute, Ltd.
Yorihiko Kojima
Chairman of the Board, Mitsubishi Corporation
Page Top