The press releases on this website are provided for historical reference purposes only.
Please note that certain information may have changed since the date of release.

June 28, 2011

Executive Appointments

Tokyo, Japan - Sony Corporation announced the appointment of members to its Board of Directors following approval at the 94th Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders that took place today, along with the company's Chairman of the Board, Chairmen and Members of the Nominating, Compensation and Audit Committees, Representative Corporate Executive Officers and Corporate Executive Officers appointed at a Meeting of the Board of Directors held after the above mentioned General Meeting of Shareholders.

‹Members of the Board› (*Outside Director)
The Board Members are as follows. One new Board Member has been selected (**).

Howard Stringer Representative Corporate Executive Officer, Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and President
Ryoji Chubachi Representative Corporate Executive Officer, Vice Chairman
Yotaro Kobayashi (*) Former Chairman of the Board, Fuji Xerox Co., Ltd.
Yoshiaki Yamauchi (*) Former Director, Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc.
Peter Bonfield (*) Chairman of the Board, NXP Semiconductors N.V.
Fujio Cho (*) Chairman of the Board, Toyota Motor Corporation
Ryuji Yasuda (*) Professor, Graduate School of International Corporate Strategy, Hitotsubashi University
Yukako Uchinaga (*) Director and Executive Vice President, Benesse Holdings, Inc.
  Chairman of the Board, Chief Executive Officer and President, Berlitz Corporation
Mitsuaki Yahagi (*) Chairman of the Board, The Japan Research Institute, Limited
Tsun-Yan Hsieh (*) Chairman, LinHart Group
Roland A. Hernandez (*) Retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Telemundo Group, Inc.
Kanemitsu Anraku (*) Director, Mizuho Financial Group, Inc.
Yorihiko Kojima (*) Chairman of the Board, Mitsubishi Corporation
Osamu Nagayama (*) Chairman of the Board, President and Chief Executive Officer,
  Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd.
Yuichiro Anzai (*)(**) Executive Academic Advisor for Keio University
  Professor, Faculty of Science and Technology, Keio University
  • (*)An Outside Director who satisfies the requirements under Item 15, Article 2 of the Companies Act of Japan

‹Chairman of the Board›

Chairman of the Board Yotaro Kobayashi

‹Chair and Members of the Committees›

Nominating Committee
Chair Yotaro Kobayashi
Members Peter Bonfield, Fujio Cho, Roland A. Hernandez
Yorihiko Kojima, Yuichiro Anzai , Howard Stringer, Ryoji Chubachi
Compensation Committee
Chair Ryuji Yasuda
Members Tsun-Yan Hsieh, Osamu Nagayama
Audit Committee
Chair Yoshiaki Yamauchi
Members Mitsuaki Yahagi, Kanemitsu Anraku

‹Corporate Executive Officers›

Representative Corporate Executive Officers (* concurrent with Director)
Howard Stringer* Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and President
Ryoji Chubachi*

Vice Chairman
Officer in charge of Product Quality & Safety and Environmental Affairs

Kazuo Hirai

Executive Deputy President
Officer in charge of Consumer Products & Services businesses,
Common Software Platform, Global Sales and Marketing Platform, and Creative Center

Corporate Executive Officers
Hiroshi Yoshioka Executive Deputy President
Officer in charge of Professional, Device & Solutions businesses
Keiji Kimura Executive Vice President
Officer in charge of Intellectual Property and the Disc Manufacturing business
Nicole Seligman Executive Vice President
General Counsel
Masaru Kato Executive Vice President
Chief Financial Officer
Page Top